Initiative to Support Child Sexual Abuse Survivors

Auch auf Deutsch

Survivors’ Survey: Results and Recommendations

  • Message for Survivors

    If you are a survivor of child sexual abuse, please know that our team is working hard to make positive change happen for you and for future generations of survivors.

    We believe change is coming.

    It is important that we share with the public the reality of what we are seeing and hearing from survivors, and what we are learning through our research and technical solutions.

    If you feel reading this information and our report might be difficult for you, or if you find yourself feeling distressed after reading it, we encourage you to reach out to supports in your community. This could include personal supports (family and friends) or professional supports (therapists, psychologists, psychiatrists, counselling and crisis response agencies). The online exploitation and abuse of children is a growing problem and we are invested in finding solutions that will prevent this crime and provide protection and support to those impacted by it.

    If you would like to speak to us about your experience, or if you have questions about this survey, email us here.

Survivors’ Survey: Results

In September 2017, the Canadian Centre released results from our International Survivors’ Survey for now-adult survivors whose child sexual abuse was recorded and/or distributed online, with recommendations to address this horrific crime. Responses from 150 survivors from around the world have contributed valuable information about their experiences.

Some of the results include:

  • Almost 70% of the survivors worried about being recognized by someone because of the recording of their child sexual abuse – 30 respondents reported being identified by a person who had seen their child sexual abuse imagery.
  • 58% of respondents reported having had more than one person abusing them – 82% of the primary offenders involved in multiple offender scenarios were parents or extended family members of the child.
  • 56% of the survivors indicated that the abuse began before the age of four, and 87% were 11 years of age or younger. 42% were abused for more than 10 years.
  • At least 74 respondents (nearly 50%) were survivors of organized sexual abuse (abuse that involves children being subjected to sexual abuse by multiple offenders).
  • 67% of the survivors were threatened with physical harm including being told they would die or be killed.
  • 85% of the survivors anticipated needing ongoing/future therapy.

What we learned from survivors:

  • 1. Recording the sexual abuse of a child has a significant, lifelong impact on the victim.

    The fact that images/videos of a child’s sexual abuse were created at all, as well as the fact that they may still be possessed by the abuser and be publicly available for others to access, has an enormously negative impact on the individual. The impact can persist into adulthood and may significantly reduce the ability of an individual to cope with day to day stressors, maintain healthy relationships, and reach their full potential in educational and occupational pursuits.

    Nearly 70% of respondents indicated that they worry constantly about being recognized by someone who has seen images of their abuse (n=103). Thirty respondents (30%) reported being identified by a person who had viewed the child sexual abuse imagery.

  • 2. Most victims were abused from a young age, by a family member, and for some continuing into adulthood.
    • For 56% of the survivors, the abuse began between age 0–4, and 53% of those respondents indicated that the abuse continued into adulthood.
    • 58% of survivors reported having been abused by more than one person – some by multiple family members.
    • 50% of the survivors abused by one person indicated that the abuser was a parent or extended family member, while 82% of the survivors who were abused by multiple offenders indicated that the primary abuser was a parent or extended family member.
    • 36% of survivors indicated that the sexual abuse continued into adulthood (18+).
  • 3. We should not rely on disclosure alone to stop child sexual abuse.

    There are a multitude of reasons why a child may not talk about the sexual abuse that is happening to them, the most prominent arising out of the power imbalance between the offender and the victim. Survivors reported that threats or physical abuse were commonly used thus serving to silence victims and maintain their compliance.

    While many survivors did tell someone about the abuse at some point, many did not do so while the abuse was still happening or until they were adults. Even more concerning, for those who did disclose their experiences as a child and while the abuse was still happening, the abuse did not always stop. Survivors reported that sometimes this was because what they were saying was not believed or because their abuser was able to manipulate perceptions, but sometimes it was because the persons who should have protected them once told, did not.

  • 4. Many survivors reported multiple offenders and/or multiple children involved in their sexual abuse.

    The Internet has provided an opportunity for offenders to connect and work together in an organized fashion to commit more and more extreme sex acts against children. The depraved and pervasive nature of the sexual abuse reported by many of the respondents was shocking. For example, 58% of survivors were abused by more than one offender, and 49% of survivors appeared to have been victims of ‘organized abuse’.

  • 5. The unique needs of survivors of child sexual abuse imagery are not being adequately addressed.

    Existing support services are not meeting the specialized needs of survivors. Not only is the victimization experienced by this population unique and complex, but the impacts of the abusive experience are long lasting and often lifelong. From what we have learned, not only do these survivors have incredible difficulty finding and financing the supports they need, but they require different levels and types of support at specific points in their development through adulthood. Short-term and generic trauma counseling will not lead these survivors to an adequate place of recovery.

Recommendations for change:

The survey results underscore the urgent need for the international community to take immediate action and implement the following recommendations:

Reduce the availability of both new and existing child sexual abuse images and videos on the public internet. Consideration should be given to adopting Project Arachnid as the global platform for quickly detecting and issuing notices to hosting providers that have an obligation to then immediately remove the material.

Improve education and training on the issue of child sexual abuse among professionals to empower them to recognize and respond appropriately. Those in a position to uncover abuse must better understand the dynamics of different abuse situations, the complex process of disclosure, and the role of technology in facilitating child sexual abuse.

Strengthen the coordination and communication between all systems and entities that intersect with victims of child sexual abuse and online exploitation. This includes, but is not limited to, child welfare, schools, hotlines, therapists, police, industry, child-serving organizations, and advocacy centres.

Develop comprehensive systems and remedies to properly recognize the rights and unique needs of victims whose abuse was recorded. This includes accessible, knowledgeable therapists and attainable mechanisms for receiving financial compensation. Survivors must also be provided with the opportunity to have their voices heard within the criminal justice system (e.g., victim impact statements).

The survey continues to be available and we encourage other survivors to participate in this important initiative.

Initiative de soutien aux survivantes et survivants d’abus pédosexuels

Auch auf Deutsch

Enquête auprès des survivantes et survivants : Résultats et recommandations

  • Message aux survivantes et survivants

    Si vous êtes une survivante ou un survivant d’abus pédosexuel, sachez que notre équipe met tout en œuvre pour susciter des changements positifs pour vous et pour les prochaines générations de survivantes et survivants.

    Nous pensons que les choses sont en voie de changer.

    Il est important que nous présentions au public la réalité de ce que nous observons et de ce que les survivantes et survivants nous disent ainsi que ce que nos recherches et nos solutions techniques nous permettent d’apprendre.

    Si vous pensez que la lecture des présentes informations et de notre rapport puisse vous être pénible ou si cette lecture vous a bouleversé, nous vous encourageons à chercher de l’aide autour de vous. Vous pourriez vous adresser à votre entourage (famille et amis) ou à des professionnels (thérapeutes, psychologues, psychiatres, services de counseling et d’intervention d’urgence). L’exploitation sexuelle des enfants sur Internet est un fléau grandissant et nous nous employons à trouver des solutions pour prévenir ce crime et offrir de la protection et du soutien aux victimes.

    Si vous aimeriez nous parler à propos de votre expérience ou si vous avez des questions à propos de cette enquête, écrivez-nous.

Enquête auprès des survivantes et survivants : Résultats

En septembre 2017, le CCPE a dévoilé les résultats de son Enquête internationale auprès des survivantes et survivants (aujourd’hui adultes) d’abus pédosexuels qui ont été enregistrés ou diffusés sur Internet. Ces résultats s’accompagnent de recommandations pour lutter contre ce crime horrible. Cent cinquante survivantes et survivants de nombreux pays ont fourni, par leurs réponses, de précieux détails sur leurs expériences.

Voici les faits saillants des résultats :

  • Près de 70 % des survivantes et survivants craignent de se faire reconnaître par quelqu’un qui aurait vu les images des abus pédosexuels qu’ils ont subis – 30 répondants déclarent avoir été identifiés par quelqu’un qui avait vu les images des abus pédosexuels qu’ils ont subis.
  • 58 % des répondants déclarent avoir été abusés par plusieurs personnes – 82 % des abuseurs primaires impliqués dans les cas d’abus par plusieurs personnes étaient des parents de l’enfant ou des membres de sa famille élargie.
  • 56 % des survivantes et survivants ont indiqué que les abus ont commencé avant l’âge de 4 ans et 87 % étaient âgés de 11 ans ou moins. 42 % ont été abusés pendant plus de 10 ans.
  • Au moins 74 répondants (presque 50 %) ont été victimes d’abus sexuels organisés (abus sexuels commis sur des enfants par plusieurs abuseurs).
  • 67 % des survivantes et survivants ont reçu des menaces de violence physique; certains ont été menacés de mort.
  • 85 % des survivantes et survivants pensent avoir besoin d’aller en thérapie ou de se faire suivre.

Ce que les survivantes et survivants nous ont appris :

  • 1. L’enregistrement d’un abus pédosexuel a un impact considérable et permanent sur la victime.

    L’existence même de photos/vidéos d’un abus pédosexuel ainsi que le fait que l’abuseur puisse toujours les avoir en sa possession et qu’elles puissent toujours être accessibles au public a un impact énormément négatif sur la victime. Cet impact peut perdurer encore à l’âge adulte et affaiblir considérablement la capacité d’un individu à faire face aux stress du quotidien, à maintenir des relations saines et à se réaliser pleinement sans sa vie scolaire et professionnelle.

    Près de 70 % des répondants disent être constamment habités par la crainte de se faire reconnaître par quelqu’un qui a vu des images de leur abus (n=103). Trente répondants (30 %) déclarent avoir été identifiés par une personne qui a vu des images des abus pédosexuels qu’ils ont subis.

  • 2. La plupart des victimes ont été abusées en bas âge et par un membre de la famille, et certaines ont continué de se faire abuser à l’âge adulte.
    • 56 % des survivantes et survivants ont indiqué que les abus ont commencé avant l’âge de 4 ans, et de ce nombre, 53 % disent qu’ils se sont poursuivis à l’âge adulte.
    • 58 % des survivantes et survivants ont déclaré avoir été abusés par plus d’une personne, parfois par plusieurs membres de leur famille.
    • 50 % des survivantes et survivants d’abus commis par une seule personne ont indiqué que l’abuseur était un de leurs parents ou un membre de leur famille élargie, tandis que 82 % des survivantes et survivants d’abus commis par plusieurs personnes ont indiqué que l’abuseur primaire était un de leurs parents ou un membre de la famille élargie.
    • 36 % des survivantes et survivants rapportent que les abus se sont poursuivis à l’âge adulte (18+).
  • 3. On ne peut pas s’en remettre seulement aux dévoilements pour contrer les abus pédosexuels.

    Un enfant en situation d’abus pédosexuel peut avoir plusieurs raisons de ne pas avoir envie d’en parler, à commencer par le déséquilibre des forces entre l’abuseur et la victime. Les survivantes et les survivants rapportent que leurs abuseurs avaient souvent recours aux menaces ou à la violence physique pour les tenir au silence et les maintenir dans l’obéissance.

    Plusieurs survivantes et survivants ont fini par dévoiler leur abus à quelqu’un, mais beaucoup ont gardé le silence pendant les faits ou jusqu’à l’âge adulte. Pire encore, les dévoilements par les enfants pendant les faits n’avaient pas toujours pour effet de faire cesser les abus. Parfois, disent les survivantes et les survivants, c’était parce qu’on ne les croyait pas ou parce que leur abuseur arrivait à manipuler les perceptions, mais dans certains cas, c’était parce que les individus qui auraient dû les protéger en apprenant ce qui se passait ne l’ont pas fait.

  • 4. De nombreux survivants et survivantes rapportent que plusieurs abuseurs et/ou enfants étaient impliqués dans leur expérience d’abus.

    Internet permet aux abuseurs de se mettre en contact et de s’organiser pour commettre des actes sexuels de plus en plus extrêmes contre des enfants. Les abus sexuels rapportés par de nombreux répondants choquent par leur caractère dégradant et oppressant. Par exemple, 58 % des survivantes et survivants ont été abusés par plusieurs personnes, et 49 % semblent avoir été victimes d’« abus organisés ».

  • 5. Les besoins particuliers des survivantes et survivants d’abus pédosexuels avec prise d’images sont mal desservis.

    Les services de soutien existants ne répondent pas aux besoins particuliers des survivantes et survivants. En plus du caractère particulier et complexe de ce crime, les personnes qui en sont victimes en gardent des séquelles durables et souvent permanentes. Nous avons appris que ces survivantes et survivants ont énormément de difficulté à trouver et à se payer le soutien dont ils ont besoin et qu’en plus, ils nécessitent différents niveaux et types de soutien à des moments précis de leur développement jusqu’à l’âge adulte. Les thérapies génériques de courte durée ne permettront pas à ces survivantes et survivants de se remettre adéquatement.

Recommandations :

Les résultats de l’enquête appellent de toute urgence la communauté internationale à prendre des mesures immédiates et à mettre en œuvre les recommandations suivantes :

Réduire la disponibilité des photos et des vidéos d’abus pédosexuels dans l’espace public d’Internet, autant les nouvelles images que les images existantes. Il y aurait lieu d’envisager l’adoption de Projet Arachnid comme plateforme mondiale pour détecter rapidement les images et aviser les hébergeurs, qui se verront aussitôt dans l’obligation de les retirer immédiatement.

Améliorer la sensibilisation et la formation des professionnels en matière d’abus pédosexuels pour qu’ils soient en mesure de déceler les situations d’abus et d’y réagir adéquatement. Les personnes susceptibles de découvrir des situations d’abus doivent mieux comprendre les dynamiques des diverses situations d’abus, le processus complexe du dévoilement et le rôle des technologies dans la commission des abus pédosexuels.

Renforcer la coordination et la communication entre tous les systèmes et entités qui interviennent auprès des enfants victimes d’abus sexuels et d’exploitation en ligne. On pense ici entres autres aux services de protection de l’enfance, aux écoles, aux centrales de signalement, aux thérapeutes, aux forces policières, au secteur privé, aux organismes de services à l’enfance et aux centres d’appui aux enfants.

Élaborer des solutions globales pour reconnaître adéquatement les droits et les besoins particuliers des victimes d’abus avec prise d’images. L’accès à des thérapeutes disponibles et compétents et à des moyens d’obtenir une indemnisation financière fait partie des solutions. Les survivantes et survivants doivent aussi avoir la possibilité de faire entendre leur voix dans le système de justice pénale (p. ex. déclarations des victimes).

Le questionnaire de l’enquête reste ouvert et nous encourageons d’autres survivantes et survivants à participer à cette importante initiative.