News and Media

KEEPING ONLINE GAMES FUN AND SAFE

October 19, 2010
For Immediate Release

New website launched to teach children online safety strategies

WINNIPEG, MB -- The Canadian Centre for Child Protection, in partnership with Shaw Communications Inc. launched a new website today which will help parents and educators teach kids about online safety. The Zoe and Molly Online website (zoeandmolly.ca) features a variety of resources and interactive activities designed to help teach kids how stay safe when playing online games, and to help educate them about the risks associated with sharing personal information and photos online.

The launch of the Zoe and Molly Online site comes on the heels of new survey results which indicate that while 77 per cent of Canadian children between the ages of six and 17 play online games, only five percent of parent gamers surveyed believed their kids were accessing online games (Entertainment Software Association of Canada survey results, released September 2010).

"The Internet presents a number of risks to children, so it's extremely important that parents are aware of what their kids are doing online, aware of the risks associated, and of the safety strategies they can teach their kids to help make their online adventures safer ones," said Lianna McDonald, Executive Director of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection. "Being in an online environment is no different than going to a park or to the mall -- there are safety strategies that apply and it's the responsibility of adults to ensure that children know about them."

The Zoe and Molly Online story helps reinforce the safety strategy "If asked to share and your parents aren't aware, say NO!" Research has shown that offenders can use information children provide online to manipulate and possibly exploit a child. Through the Zoe and Molly Online program, kids can learn about the risks and how to stay safe in a fun, interactive way.

"As a family run company, Shaw takes great responsibility in ensuring we take steps to help keep Canada's children safe on the Internet. The Zoe and Molly Online program is a great tool for parents and educators alike, and we are so proud to partner with the Canadian Centre to get this important resource into their hands," said Brad Shaw, Executive Vice-President of Shaw Communications Inc.

With support from Shaw, the Canadian Centre is also distributing a new Zoe and Molly Online Grade 4 teacher kit and 112,500 copies of a Zoe and Molly Online comic book to 4,500 schools across Western Canada. The new teacher kit includes a lesson plan, an online safety poster for the classroom, and a letter and at-home activity instructions that can photocopied and sent home to parents.

-30-

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Phone:
204-945-8074
204-801-2979 (Cell)

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

Actualités et communiqués

SÉCURITÉ ET JEUX EN LIGNE

19 octobre 2010
Pour diffusion immédiate

Un nouveau site internet apprend des règles de sécurité internet aux enfants

WINNIPEG (MANITOBA) -- Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance, en partenariat avec Shaw Communications inc., lance un site internet qui aidera les parents et le personnel enseignant à éduquer les enfants à la sécurité internet. Le site internet CyberJulie (cyberjulie.ca) offre toutes sortes de ressources et d'activités interactives pour apprendre aux enfants les règles de sécurité applicables aux jeux en ligne et les sensibiliser aux risques du partage de renseignements personnels et de photos sur Internet.

Le lancement de CyberJulie fait écho aux résultats d'une nouvelle enquête qui révèle que 77 % des enfants canadiens de 6 à 17 ans jouent à des jeux en ligne, mais que seulement 5 % des adultes sondés pensent que leurs enfants jouent à des jeux en ligne (résultats d'une enquête de l'Association canadienne du logiciel de divertissement dévoilés en septembre 2010).

« Internet comporte de nombreux risques pour les enfants; il est donc primordial que les parents sachent ce que font leurs enfants sur Internet et connaissent les risques et les règles de sécurité à apprendre à leurs enfants pour en faire des internautes prudents, souligne Lianna McDonald, directrice générale du Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance. Dans Internet, c'est comme dans un parc ou un centre commercial : il y a des règles de sécurité à appliquer, et les adultes ont le devoir de s'assurer que les enfants les connaissent. »

L'histoire de CyberJulie aide à inculquer la règle de sécurité « Si c'est personnel, c'est NON! L'enfant prudent demande à ses parents ». Des études démontrent que les renseignements qu'un enfant partage sur Internet peuvent être utilisés par un pédoprédateur pour manipuler l'enfant et éventuellement l'exploiter. Le programme CyberJulie est une manière amusante et interactive d'amener les enfants à prendre conscience des risques et à se comporter prudemment.

« En tant qu'entreprise familiale, Shaw se fait un devoir de veiller à ce que des mesures soient prises pour assurer la sécurité des enfants sur Internet. Le programme CyberJulie est un merveilleux outil pour les parents comme pour le personnel enseignant, et nous sommes extrêmement fiers de nous associer au Centre canadien pour mettre cette importante ressource entre leurs mains », souligne Brad Shaw, premier vice-président de Shaw Communications inc.

Grâce au soutien de Shaw, le Centre canadien distribue aussi, dans 4 500 écoles de l'Ouest du Canada, une nouvelle trousse CyberJulie pour le personnel enseignant de 4e année ainsi que 112 500 exemplaires de la bande dessinée CyberJulie. La nouvelle trousse de l'enseignant comporte un plan de leçon, une affiche murale sur la sécurité internet ainsi qu'une lettre aux parents et des consignes à photocopier pour une activité à faire à la maison.

-30-

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca