News and Media

CHILDREN LEARN TO BE SAFE ONLINE WITH NEW INTERACTIVE TOOL

Zoe and Molly Online - an essential toolkit for parents and teachers

Calgary, Alberta (February 24, 2009) - A unique, interactive online safety program - Zoe and Molly Online - was launched today by the Canadian Centre for Child Protection, in partnership with Shaw Communications Inc, with grade 4 students at Jennie Elliott Elementary School in Calgary, Alberta. The Zoe and Molly campaign is being rolled out to almost 10,000 schools nationwide as part of the 'Be aware before you share' initiative. The launch coincides with Calgary's Online Safety Week, February 21-28.

"According to our student advisory groups, 89 percent of grade 4 students play games online and by grades 5 and 6 they're building online relationships and sending pictures," said Lianna McDonald, Executive Director of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection. "While these games can be fun and often educational, it is important that children are aware of potential risks and know strategies to protect themselves from potential danger."

The new Zoe and Molly website enables parents and educators to teach children aged 8 to 10 how to be safe when sharing personal information, pictures and videos over the Internet. Children engage through an online game allowing them to create their own avatar and complete the online comic book. The website tools work in tandem with a paper version of the Zoe and Molly comic book, which tells the story of two grade 5 girls who learn how to be safe on the Internet. Zoe and Molly comic books will be distributed to nearly 300,000 grade 4 students across Canada and to homes with children where Shaw technicians are installing internet services.

"Shaw takes great responsibility in ensuring we do our best to keep children safe on the Internet. That's why, as a founding partner of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection, we have donated $300,000 to help develop the Zoe and Molly program," said Brad Shaw, Senior Vice President of Operations for Shaw Communications Inc. "Together we are reaching out to the entire community to engage all users to patrol the Internet through Cybertip.ca and to learn how to keep it a safe place for children to learn and grow."

"In any given month, Cybertip.ca averages about 700 reports on everything from Internet luring and child abuse images to exploitive child modeling. This fact only underscores how critically important initiatives like Zoe and Molly are to the overall protection of Canadian children, and how partners like Shaw really do make a difference," added McDonald. "We urge parents to go to the website, engage their children and together take steps to make their online experience a safe one."

"Internet safety is a key issue for all educators and parents," said Rita Dickson, Principal of Jennie Elliott Elementary School. "Students are becoming tech savvy at younger ages, so it is essential that we embed online safety education strategy into our curriculum. The Calgary Board of Education consistently seeks best practice educational practice. This is the reason that we welcome the opportunity to engage our students in new and exciting ways, like the launch of Zoe and Molly online. This type of initiative will help keep our students safe as they learn and communicate online."

Visit www.zoeandmolly.ca to learn more about Zoe and Molly and to access the online game.

********************************************

The Canadian Centre for Child Protection is a charitable organization dedicated to the personal safety of all children. Our goal is to reduce child victimization by providing programs and services to Canadians. We do this through public awareness activities, our personal safety education program (Kids in the Know), our national tipline to report online sexual abuse of children (Cybertip.ca), and our program to help organizations prevent child sexual abuse (Commit to Kids).

Shaw Communications Inc. is a diversified communications company whose core business is providing broadband cable television, High-Speed Internet, Digital Phone, telecommunications services (through Shaw Business Solutions) and satellite direct-to-home services (through Star Choice). The Company serves 3.4 million customers, including over 1.6 million Internet and 670,000 residential Digital Phone customers, through a reliable and extensive network, which comprises 625,000 kilometres of fibre. Shaw is traded on the Toronto and New York stock exchanges and is included in the S&P/TSX 60 Index (TSX: SJR.B) (NYSE: SJR).

The Zoe and Molly comic is based on a real case submitted to Cybertip.ca - the Canadian Centre for Child Protection's national tipline for reporting the online sexual exploitation of children.

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Phone:
204-945-8074
204-801-2979 (Cell)

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

Actualités et communiqués

UN NOUVEL OUTIL D'ÉDUCATION À LA SÉCURITÉ EN LIGNE POUR LES ENFANTS

CyberJulie : un outil incontournable pour les parents et le personnel enseignant

Calgary, Alberta (le 24 février 2009) - Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance, en partenariat avec Shaw Communications inc., annonce le lancement de CyberJulie : un programme interactif d'éducation à la sécurité en ligne unique en son genre. Le lancement s'est déroulé en présence des élèves de 4e année de l'école élémentaire Jennie Elliott de Calgary, en Alberta. La campagne CyberJulie sera déployée dans presque 10 000 écoles à la grandeur du Canada dans le cadre d'une initiative intitulée Ne transmets rien sans réfléchir. Le lancement coïncide avec la Semaine de la sécurité en ligne à Calgary, du 21 au 28 février.

Lianna McDonald est directrice générale du Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance. « Nos groupes consultatifs d'élèves nous apprennent que 89 pour cent des élèves de 4e année jouent à des jeux en ligne et que les élèves de 5e et de 6e année développent des relations virtuelles et transmettent des photos électroniquement, explique-t-elle. Malgré le côté ludique et souvent éducatif de ces jeux, il reste important que les enfants prennent conscience des risques et sachent comment se protéger en cas de danger. »

Le nouveau site internet de CyberJulie permet aux parents et au personnel enseignant d'apprendre aux enfants de 8 à 10 ans à faire attention aux renseignements personnels, aux photos et aux vidéos qu'ils envoient sur Internet. Un jeu en ligne offre aux enfants la possibilité de se créer un avatar et de compléter la version internet de la bande dessinée CyberJulie. Le site internet fonctionne en tandem avec la version papier de cette bande dessinée qui raconte l'histoire de deux filles de 5e année qui s'initient à la prudence sur Internet. La bande dessinée CyberJulie sera distribuée à 300 000 élèves de 4e année à la grandeur du Canada ainsi que dans les foyers avec enfants où les techniciens de Shaw sont appelés à installer des services Internet.

Brad Shaw est premier vice-président à l'exploitation chez Shaw Communications inc. « Chez Shaw, souligne-t-il, nous prenons très au sérieux notre responsabilité de protéger la sécurité des enfants sur Internet. C'est pourquoi, en notre qualité de partenaire fondateur du Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance, nous avons fait don de 300 000 $ pour soutenir le développement du programme CyberJulie. Ensemble, nous prenons les devants pour inciter tous les utilisateurs à faire cause commune avec Cyberaide.ca et à voir comment faire d'Internet un lieu d'apprentissage et d'épanouissement sûr pour les enfants. »

« Cyberaide.ca reçoit en moyenne 700 signalements par mois. On nous rapporte toutes sortes d'incidents allant de la cyberprédation à la pornographie juvénile en passant par l'exploitation d'enfants mannequins. Cela ne fait que souligner la grande importance d'initiatives comme CyberJulie pour la protection des enfants au Canada, et à quel point le concours de partenaires comme Shaw pèse dans la balance, ajoute Mme McDonald. Nous exhortons les parents à visiter le site internet avec leurs enfants et à prendre avec eux des mesures pour assurer leur sécurité sur Internet. »

« La sécurité en ligne est une priorité pour tous les enseignants et les parents, observe Rita Dickson, directrice de l'école élémentaire Jennie Elliott. Les élèves deviennent technophiles en bas âge, d'où l'importance d'intégrer l'éducation à la sécurité en ligne dans nos programmes. Le Conseil scolaire de Calgary est constamment à la recherche de meilleures pratiques pédagogiques. C'est la raison pour laquelle nous nous réjouissons de pouvoir offrir à nos élèves des activités nouvelles et stimulantes, comme le lancement de CyberJulie. Ce genre d'initiative contribuera à protéger nos enfants lors de leurs apprentissages et communications en ligne. »

Cliquez www.CyberJulie.ca pour découvrir CyberJulie et accéder au jeu en ligne.

********************************************

Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance est un organisme caritatif voué à la sécurité personnelle des enfants. Notre but est de réduire la violence faite aux enfants par l'entremise de programmes et de services destinés à la population canadienne. Notre action se manifeste par nos activités de sensibilisation, notre programme d'éducation à la sécurité personnelle (Enfants avertis), notre service pancanadien de signalement d'enfants exploités sexuellement sur Internet (Cyberaide.ca) et notre programme de prévention de la maltraitance sexuelle des enfants dans les organisations (Priorité Jeunesse).

Shaw Communications inc. est une entreprise de communications diversifiée dont les activités principales consistent à offrir des services de câblodistribution à large bande, d'Internet haute vitesse, de téléphonie numérique, de télécommunications (par l'entremise de Shaw Business Solutions) et de télévision directe par satellite (par l'entremise de Star Choice) à 3,4 millions de clients, dont plus de 1,6 million d'abonnés internet et 670 000 abonnés résidentiels à la téléphonie numérique, grâce à un réseau fiable et étendu de 625 000 kilomètres de fibre. Shaw est inscrite aux bourses de Toronto et de New York et figure dans l'indice S&P/TSX 60 (TSX: SJR.B) (NYSE: SJR).

La bande dessinée CyberJulie est basée sur une histoire authentique rapportée à Cyberaide.ca : le service pancanadien de signalement d'enfants exploités sexuellement sur Internet mis en place par le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance.

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca