News and Media

New Internet Safety Website marks Safer Internet Day

For Immediate Release
February 8, 2010

WINNIPEG, MB - Canadian parents will receive a new tool to help keep their children safer on the Internet today with the national launch of The Door that's not Locked ( This unique, one-stop-shop for Internet safety information will provide parents, teachers and anyone else interested in keeping kids safe online with the tools and resources they need to do so. The Door that's not Locked refers to safety concerns regarding the unlocked door of the Internet. In time for Safer Internet Day on February 9th 2010, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection has partnered with the Government of Canada to help families understand the good, bad, and ugly about the web.

"Safer Internet Day reminds us of the importance in combating on-line victimization, especially when it involves our children," said Public Safety Minister, Vic Toews. "The Government of Canada remains committed to the global fight against the sexual exploitation of children on the Internet. We will continue to work with our valued partners such as the Canadian Centre for Child Protection and support the work of the RCMP's National Child Exploitation Coordination Centre, who is making valuable progress to target those who prey on children online."

In a recent survey conducted by the Canadian Centre for Child Protection, 75% of parents were concerned about their children's online safety. 88% of parents said they had no particular website that they went to for Internet safety education. The survey identified that parents would like a credible, reliable, easy-to-navigate, age-specific website to find answers to their Internet safety questions.

"The Internet has become an indispensible part of our children's lives, so it's vital that adults take steps to ensure their kids are safe while online. While many parents are quick to lock the front door of their home, they allow their kids to experience the unsupervised, open door of the Internet," said Lianna McDonald, Executive Director of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection. "Whether it is contact with people who have harmful intentions, or content that is inappropriate for children, the Internet can pose real risk to kids. The Door that's not Locked is designed to help open the door to parents, teachers and anyone else who is dedicated to helping keep kids safe online."

While the Canadian Centre will be releasing a new study on online luring later this year, to date, has forwarded 540 reports classified as luring to law enforcement. "Our luring reports reveal that offenders use a variety of tactics such as flattery, threats, persistence, and exposure to sexually explicit material to make children comply with their requests. Whether it is requesting inappropriate pictures, having sexual conversations, or attempting to meet in person, these individuals use whatever means necessary to have the child comply," added McDonald. "As persistent as these individuals are with children, parents have to be even more persistent in teaching their kids to understand the risks and how to be safe."

"As a partner under the National Strategy for the Protection of Children from Sexual Exploitation on the Internet, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection is a leader in the development of awareness and educational products," said RCMP Sgt. Lana Prosper, with the National Child Exploitation Coordination Centre. "The fight against child sexual exploitation is a priority for local, national, and international police agencies. Internet safety resources such as the one launched today are a key component in our ability to help keep our children safe."

The Door that's not Locked website was created based on the results of a nationwide parent survey and provides Canadians with the information they have been seeking. It provides Canadians with comprehensive information about what their kids are doing online, the risks associated with those activities and provides important tips and strategies to help keep their kids safe.

In addition to the new website, the Canadian Centre will distribute three million age-specific Safety and the Internet brochures to schools across Canada. McDonald extended her thanks to the Government of Canada as well as to Bell, Honeywell, Shaw and TELUS for their ongoing support, which plays a significant role in the Canadian Centre's ability to carry out important initiatives such as The Door that's not Locked.

Click here to view the PSA.


If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

204-801-2979 (Cell)



Interesting Online Statistics:

According to a recent report from the Pew Research Centre (Social Media & Mobile Internet Use among Teens and Young Adults, February 2010):

  • 93 per cent of teens aged 12-17 now go online.
  • Nearly two thirds, or 63 per cent of kids in this age group go online every day.
  • A full 36 per cent of 12-17 year-olds go online several times a day.
  • Teen use of social networking sites has risen significantly: 73 per cent of wired teens now use such sites, compared to just over half of online teens (55 per cent) that used them in November 2006.
  • 31 per cent of online teens are getting health, diet or physical fitness information from the Internet.
  • 17 per cent of teens use the Internet to gather information about health topics that are hard to discuss with others such as sexual health topics and drug use.
  • Nearly seven in ten, or 69 per cent of teens aged 12-17 have a computer.

Safer Internet Day

Safer Internet Day takes place each year in February to promote safer and more responsible use of online technology and mobile phones, especially amongst children and young people across the world. This year it will take place on February 9th.

Since the first year in 2004, participation in this event has been steadily growing, with an increase in general awareness, stronger involvement of relevant stakeholders in the field of internet safety and a high level of media interest. In 2009 more than 120 organizations in 56 countries took part in Safer Internet Day celebrations, organizing local, national and international events ranging from safety sessions in schools and competitions for young people to public meetings and conferences.

Actualités et communiqués

UNE PORTE GRANDE OUVERTE
Un nouveau site sur la sécurité en ligne pour la Journée de la sécurité sur Internet

Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 8 février 2010

WINNIPEG (MANITOBA) - Les parents canadiens auront dès aujourd'hui un outil de plus pour veiller à la protection de leurs enfants sur Internet, avec le lancement national du site Une porte grande ouverte (www.uneportegrandeouverte.ca). Unique en son genre, ce guichet unique d'information sur la sécurité en ligne s'adresse aux parents, au personnel enseignant et à toute personne soucieuse de la sécurité des enfants sur Internet. Par son nom même, le site Une porte grande ouverte évoque les dangers qui guettent les internautes insouciants. À la veille de la Journée de la sécurité sur Internet, le 9 février 2010, le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance s'associe au gouvernement du Canada pour aider les familles à comprendre les bons, les mauvais et les pires aspects du Web.

« La Journée de la sécurité sur Internet nous rappelle l'importance de combattre la cybermaltraitance, surtout lorsque ce sont nos enfants qui sont touchés, déclare le ministre de la Sécurité publique, Vic Toews. Le gouvernement du Canada demeure bien engagé dans la lutte internationale contre l'exploitation sexuelle des enfants sur Internet. Nous allons continuer de travailler avec nos précieux partenaires, dont le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance, et de soutenir les efforts du Centre national de coordination de la GRC contre l'exploitation des enfants, qui dépiste de plus en plus efficacement les pédoprédateurs sur Internet. »

Un récent sondage réalisé par le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance indique que 75 % des parents s'inquiètent de la sécurité de leurs enfants sur Internet. De plus, 88 % des parents sondés ont déclaré ne pas consulter un site en particulier pour se renseigner sur la sécurité en ligne. Le sondage révèle que les parents étaient favorables à la création d'un site crédible, fiable et convivial qui répondrait à leurs questions sur la sécurité en ligne des enfants de différents groupes d'âge.

« Internet occupe désormais une place importante dans la vie de nos enfants, observe Lianna McDonald, directrice générale du Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance; il est donc essentiel que les adultes prennent des mesures pour assurer la protection de leurs enfants sur Internet. Bien des parents s'empressent de verrouiller la porte d'entrée de leur maison, mais ils laissent la porte d'Internet grande ouverte à leurs enfants sans aucune surveillance. Internet fait peser de véritables risques sur les enfants, qui peuvent communiquer avec des personnes mal intentionnées ou tomber sur du contenu inapproprié pour leur âge. Le site Une porte grande ouverte ouvrira la porte aux parents, aux enseignants et à toute personne soucieuse de protéger les enfants sur Internet. »

Plus tard cette année, le Centre canadien publiera une étude sur le leurre d'enfants par Internet, mais déjà, Cyberaide.ca a renvoyé à ce jour 540 signalements de leurre aux corps policiers. « Les signalements de leurre que nous recevons montrent que les pédoprédateurs utilisent toutes sortes de moyens comme les compliments, les menaces, la persévérance et la présentation de matériel pornographique pour amener les enfants à se soumettre à leurs demandes. Demandes de photos inappropriées, dialogues sexuels, propositions de rendez-vous : ces individus mettent tout en œuvre pour obtenir la soumission d'un enfant, ajoute Mme McDonald. Comme ils sont persévérants avec les enfants, les parents doivent s'efforcer avec encore plus de persévérance de sensibiliser leurs enfants aux dangers et à la sécurité en ligne. »

« Comme partenaire de la Stratégie nationale pour la protection des enfants contre l'exploitation sexuelle sur Internet, le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance est un grand producteur de matériel de sensibilisation et d'éducation, observe la sergente Lana Prosper, du Centre national de coordination de la GRC contre l'exploitation des enfants. La lutte contre l'exploitation sexuelle des enfants est une priorité pour les instances policières locales, nationales et internationales. Les ressources sur la sécurité en ligne comme le site lancé aujourd'hui nous aident beaucoup à veiller sur la sécurité de nos enfants. »

Le site Une porte grande ouverte a été créé dans la foulée des résultats d'un sondage pancanadien auprès des parents. Il offre aux parents de l'information sur les activités de leurs jeunes internautes et les risques associés à ces activités ainsi que de précieux conseils pour protéger la sécurité de leurs enfants.

En plus du nouveau site internet, le Centre canadien distribuera dans le réseau scolaire canadien trois millions de brochures d'information sur la sécurité en ligne pour différents groupes d'âge. Mme McDonald tient à remercier le gouvernement du Canada ainsi que Bell, Honeywell, Shaw et TELUS pour leur soutien indéfectible, qui compte pour beaucoup dans la capacité du Centre canadien de réaliser des initiatives importantes comme la campagne Une porte grande ouverte.

Cliquez pour voir le message d'intérêt public.

-30-

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca

NOTES EXPLICATIVES :

Statistiques intéressantes :
Selon une récente enquête du Pew Research Centre (Social Media & Mobile Internet Use among Teens and Young Adults, February 2010) :

  • 93 % des ados de 12-17 ans utilisent Internet.
  • Près des deux tiers (63 %) des jeunes de ce groupe d'âge vont sur Internet tous les jours.
  • Pas moins de 36 % des 12-17 ans vont sur Internet plusieurs fois par jour.
  • Les sites de socialisation sont de plus en plus populaires auprès des ados : 73 % des internautes adolescents les fréquentent à présent. En novembre 2006, seulement la moitié des ados (55 %) fréquentaient de tels sites.
  • 31 % des internautes adolescents consultent Internet pour se renseigner sur la santé, l'alimentation et le conditionnement physique.
  • 17 % des ados consultent Internet pour se renseigner sur des sujets difficiles à discuter, comme la santé sexuelle et la toxicomanie.
  • Chez les ados de 12 à 17 ans, près de 7 sur 10 (69 %) ont un ordinateur.

La Journée de la sécurité sur Internet
Soulignée chaque année en février, la Journée de la sécurité sur Internet vise à promouvoir une utilisation prudente et responsable d'Internet et du téléphone cellulaire, en particulier auprès des jeunes du monde entier. En 2010, cette journée sera soulignée le 9 février. La popularité croissante de la Journée de la sécurité sur Internet depuis la première édition, en 2004, se manifeste par une sensibilisation accrue du public à la sécurité en ligne, une hausse de la participation des acteurs stratégiques du domaine et une plus grande attention de la part des médias. En 2009, plus de 120 organismes dans 56 pays se sont associés à la Journée de la sécurité sur Internet en organisant des activités locales, nationales et internationales : ateliers scolaires, concours pour les jeunes, conférences publiques, etc.