News and Media

What Can Parents do to Protect Teens Online?

CANADIAN CENTRE OFFERS NEW RESOURCES TO PROTECT TEENS THIS SAFER INTERNET DAY

February 11, 2014
For Immediate Release

WINNIPEG, MB: Today, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection announces new educational resources to help address growing concerns related to the online sexual exploitation of teens. The “How Can Parents Keep Teens Safe from Online Sexual Exploitation?” guide will complement a new educational kit for teachers of students in Grade 7 and 8. The kit has been created in response to emerging online risks and recent tragedies involving young people in Canada. The goal is to reduce the incidence of adolescent sexual exploitation. Lessons include information about healthy and unhealthy relationships, establishing personal boundaries, and what constitutes inappropriate adult-child interactions.

Youth are especially vulnerable to online exploitation - their search for acceptance and the perception of anonymity and privacy online can also lower inhibitions leaving them open to manipulation by others. In a recent review of Canadian case law involving the offence of online luring, over 90 % (96 of 104) of the child victims did not come forward themselves and disclose the abuse. Of the child victims who did report concerns (8), 75% of the children had already been sexually abused or exploited prior to coming forward.

“What the data points to is that young people appear to be very reluctant to come forward and tell somebody that they need help” says Lianna McDonald, Executive Director, Canadian Centre for Child Protection. “We need to do a much better job of helping kids understand when they need help, where to get that help and why it is so important to reach out to a safe adult.”

“All Canadians – and especially our youth – deserve to feel safe, whether it be in their neighbourhoods, schools, or online,” said Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada Peter MacKay. “The development of technology can bring with it many benefits, but also new threats. On International Safer Internet Day, I join in asking Canadians to increase their awareness of the dangers of cyber use, the tools available to fight against those who pose dangers online, and the proposed legislative amendments to better protect Canadians.”

“It has never been more important for Canadians to protect themselves and their families online,” said Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Steven Blaney. “Too many families across this country have experienced the devastating effects of cyberbullying, and too many families and businesses are increasingly being targeted by cyber criminals. On this Safer Internet Day, I encourage all Canadians to visit resources like GetCyberSafe.ca, Canada.ca/StopHatingOnline and protectchildren.ca to learn about how to protect themselves online.”

This Safer Internet Day, the Canadian Centre is also encouraging parents and others to sign up for Cybertip.ca Alerts – a new notification system that offers vital information to the public concerning technology trends and new resources designed to increase children’s personal safety. Visit Cybertip.ca to sign-up today!

The Canadian Centre for Child Protection operates Cybertip.ca, Canada’s national tipline to report the online sexual exploitation of children. Cybertip.ca is supported by lead partners that include the Government of Canada, Bell, TELUS, Shaw, MTS Allstream and Rogers.

-30-

BACKGROUNDER:

The Canadian Centre for Child Protection (protectchildren.ca) is a charitable organization dedicated to the personal safety of all children. Our goal is to reduce child victimization by providing programs and services to Canadians. We do this through public awareness activities, our personal safety education program (Kids in the Know), our national tipline to report online sexual abuse of children (Cybertip.ca), our program to help organizations prevent child sexual abuse (Commit to Kids), and our national missing children program (MissingKids.ca).

The Canadian Centre is committed to keeping schools and families up-to-date by providing information to promote safer use of technology. Every year, our organization sends out Internet safety resources to schools across Canada free-of-charge. In keeping with that tradition, we are sending out over 1.3 million Internet safety materials to schools across Canada this February to encourage safer Internet practices among children and youth. Resources targeting Grade 3, 4 and 6 include:

  • Parenting Tween/Teens in a Digital World booklet
  • The Door that’s Not Locked Internet Safety booklet (10-12 year olds)
  • Smartphone Safety Guide
  • Be Smart Strong and Safe Activity booklet
  • Zoe and Molly Online Comics

Parents and teachers alike are also encouraged to visit thedoorthatsnotlocked.ca – Canada’s one-stop shop for age-specific Internet safety information.

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Phone:
204-945-8074
204-801-2979 (Cell)

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

Actualités et communiqués

Comment protéger nos ados sur Internet?

LE CENTRE CANADIEN PROFITE DE LA JOURNÉE MONDIALE POUR UN INTERNET PLUS SÛR POUR DÉVOILER DE NOUVELLES RESSOURCES POUR PROTÉGER LES ADOS

11 février 2014
Pour diffusion immédiate

WINNIPEG (MANITOBA) : Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance dévoile aujourd’hui de nouvelles ressources éducatives en réponse au phénomène de plus en plus inquiétant de l’exploitation sexuelle des ados sur Internet. Un guide pour les parents intitulé Comment protéger vos ados contre l’exploitation sexuelle sur Internet s’ajoute à une nouvelle trousse pédagogique pour les enseignants de 7e et de 8e année (1re-2e secondaire). La création de cette trousse se justifie par les nouveaux dangers qui apparaissent sur Internet et les récentes tragédies qui ont coûté la vie à des jeunes Canadiens. L’objectif est de réduire l’incidence de l’exploitation sexuelle chez les adolescents. Les leçons apprennent aux élèves à distinguer les relations saines des relations malsaines, à mettre leurs limites et à identifier les interactions inappropriées entre adultes et enfants.

Les jeunes sont particulièrement vulnérables à l’exploitation sur Internet; leur besoin d’acceptation et la perception d’anonymat et d’intimité sur Internet peuvent aussi lever leurs inhibitions et les exposer à la manipulation. Une étude récente sur les infractions de leurre par Internet au Canada révèle que, dans plus de 90 % des cas (96 sur 104), l’enfant victime n’a pas brisé le silence pour dévoiler l’abus. Dans 75 % des cas (8) où l’enfant a signalé ses inquiétudes, il avait déjà été victime d’abus pédosexuel ou d’exploitation sexuelle avant de briser le silence.

« Ce que cette étude démontre, c’est que les jeunes semblent très peu enclins à briser le silence et à demander de l’aide, observe Lianna McDonald, directrice générale du Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance. Il faut faire beaucoup plus pour aider les enfants à comprendre dans quelles circonstances ils ont besoin d’aide, où trouver cette aide et pourquoi ils ont intérêt à se tourner vers un adulte de confiance. »

« Tous les Canadiens, et notamment nos jeunes, méritent de se sentir en sécurité autant dans leur quartier qu’à l’école et sur Internet, déclare Peter MacKay, ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada. L’évolution de la technologie s’accompagne de nombreux avantages, mais aussi de nouvelles menaces. En cette Journée mondiale pour un Internet plus sûr, je demande à mon tour aux Canadiens de se renseigner davantage sur les dangers du cyberespace, les ressources disponibles pour lutter contre les cyberprédateurs et les modifications législatives que nous proposons pour mieux protéger les Canadiens. »

« Il n’a jamais été plus important pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes de se protéger en ligne ainsi que leur famille, a affirmé le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, Steven Blaney. Trop de familles partout au pays ont connu les effets dévastateurs de la cyberintimidation et trop de familles et d’entreprises sont de plus en plus ciblées par les cybercriminels. En cette Journée mondiale pour un Internet plus sûr, j’encourage tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes à visiter des ressources telles que pensezcybersecurite.gc.ca, Canada.ca/Nonalacyberintimidation et protegeonsnosenfants.ca pour en apprendre davantage sur la façon de se protéger en ligne. »

En cette Journée mondiale pour un Internet plus sûr, le Centre canadien invite aussi les parents et la population à s’abonner aux Alertes Cyberaide.ca : un nouveau système de notification qui diffuse des renseignements essentiels sur les tendances qui se dessinent en matière de technologie et les nouveaux outils visant à mieux protéger les enfants. Visitez Cyberaide.ca pour vous abonner dès aujourd’hui!

Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance administre Cyberaide.ca : la centrale canadienne de signalement des cas d’exploitation sexuelle d’enfants sur Internet. Cyberaide.ca bénéficie du soutien de partenaires importants, dont le gouvernement du Canada, Bell, TELUS, Shaw, MTS Allstream et Rogers.

-30-

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca