News and Media

New Tools to Help Keep Kids Safe Online

Canadian Centre Provides Valuable Resources for Teachers and Parents on Safer Internet Day

February 4, 2013
For Immediate Release

WINNIPEG, MB: This Safer Internet Day, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection reminds parents and educators why it is important to stay informed on how to keep children and youth safe online. Recognizing that many parents are feeling overwhelmed trying to keep their kids safe in today’s digital world, the Canadian Centre has developed new Internet safety resources. Information addressing healthy relationships and appropriate boundaries, online luring, as well as the growing issue of sexting, is included in the Canadian Centre’s educational activities, brochures, online resources, and e-parenting safety sheets for parents of teens.

“One of our Government’s top priorities has been to keep our streets safe while making our communities better places to live, work, and raise our families,” said Minister Toews. “This excellent initiative from the Canadian Centre for Child Protection will assist in creating awareness about cybercrime among parents while going a long way to ensuring that our children remain safe and protected from those who wish them harm.”

“We know that parents are seeking advice and information on how to address the growing challenges of raising children in a digital world. As children age, the risks they face become more complex and difficult to manage,” says Lianna McDonald, Executive Director, Canadian Centre for Child Protection. “We know that for parents and teachers it can be hard to even know where to begin and this is why we want to make sure Canadians know about our important educational resources.”

“With support from police, provincial and territorial governments, and the private sector, the Canadian Centre will be distributing over a million Internet safety resources to schools across Canada free-of-charge. In addition, the Centre will be issuing new e-parenting safety sheets (www.protectchildren.ca/saferinternetday) addressing issues and concerns parents may be facing right now with regard to their adolescent’s online safety.

The Canadian Centre also encourages parents and teachers alike to visit The Door That’s Not Locked website (www.thedoorthatsnotlocked.ca) , a comprehensive resource with age-specific Internet safety information. This includes material about the online activities that are popular with children and youth of different age groups, the potential risks children and youth face when using certain technologies, as well as ways to talk to children about the difference between healthy and unhealthy relationships.

The Canadian Centre for Child Protection operates Cybertip.ca, Canada’s national tipline to report the online sexual exploitation of children. Cybertip.ca is supported by lead partners that include the Government of Canada, Bell, TELUS, Shaw, MTS Allstream and Rogers.

-30-

For more information please contact us via:

  • Telephone: (204) 945-5735
  • Toll-Free: (800) 532-9135
  • Send Email

Actualités et communiqués

Nouveaux outils pour la sécurité des enfants sur Internet

Le Centre canadien propose des ressources utiles pour le personnel enseignant et les parents à l’occasion de la Journée de la sécurité sur Internet

4 février 2013
Pour diffusion immédiate

WINNIPEG (MANITOBA) : En cette Journée de la sécurité sur Internet, le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance rappelle aux parents et au personnel enseignant qu’il est important de se tenir au courant des mesures à prendre pour assurer la sécurité des jeunes internautes. Conscient que les parents peinent souvent à vouloir assurer la sécurité de leurs enfants dans le monde numérique d’aujourd’hui, le Centre canadien a créé de nouvelles ressources sur la sécurité internet. Des sujets comme les relations saines, l’établissement de limites appropriées, le leurre par Internet et le problème grandissant du sexting sont traités dans les activités éducatives, les brochures, les ressources en ligne et les fiches de prévention sur le cyberparentage que le Centre canadien propose aux parents d’adolescents.

« L’une des grandes priorités de notre gouvernement, rappelle le ministre Toews, est d’assurer la sécurité dans nos rues et de faire de nos collectivités de meilleurs endroits où vivre, travailler et élever nos familles. Cette excellente initiative du Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance permettra de sensibiliser les parents à la cybercriminalité et contribuera beaucoup à faire en sorte que nos enfants restent en sécurité et à l’abri de ceux qui leur veulent du mal. »

« Les parents sont à la recherche de conseils et d’information sur la tâche de plus en plus ardue qui leur revient d’élever des enfants à l’ère du numérique. À mesure que les enfants grandissent, les risques auxquels ils sont exposés se font plus complexes et difficiles à gérer, explique Lianna McDonald, directrice générale du Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance. Les parents et le personnel enseignant ont parfois du mal à savoir par où commencer, et c’est pourquoi nous voulons que les Canadiennes et les Canadiens connaissent l’existence de nos précieuses ressources éducatives. »

Grâce au soutien de la police, des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et du secteur privé, le Centre canadien distribuera gratuitement plus d’un million de documents sur la sécurité internet aux écoles d’un bout à l’autre du Canada. De plus, le Centre dévoilera de nouvelles fiches de prévention sur le cyberparentage (www.protegeonsnosenfants.ca/saferinternetday) pour aider les parents à réagir à des situations problématiques auxquelles ils sont peut-être déjà confrontés relativement à la sécurité de leur adolescent sur Internet.

Le Centre canadien encourage aussi les parents et le personnel enseignant à visiter le site Une porte grande ouverte (www.uneportegrandeouverte.ca) : un site de référence sur la sécurité des jeunes internautes. On y trouve de l’information âge par âge sur les activités internet favorites des enfants et des adolescents, les risques associés à certaines technologies et des pistes pour expliquer aux enfants comment faire la différence entre une relation saine et une relation malsaine.

Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance administre Cyberaide.ca : la centrale canadienne de signalement des cas d’exploitation sexuelle d’enfants sur Internet. Cyberaide.ca bénéficie du soutien de partenaires importants, dont le gouvernement du Canada, Bell, TELUS, Shaw, MTS Allstream et Rogers.

-30-

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca