News and Media

WHAT'S YOUR INTERNET SAFETY IQ?

For Immediate Release
February 8, 2011

Parents and teachers encouraged to learn more about what lies behind the unlocked door

WINNIPEG, MB. -- The Canadian Centre for Child Protection reminds parents, educators and everyone else with children in their lives why it's important to educate themselves on how to keep kids safe online. The days where children spend the majority of their free time outdoors are behind us. Today's reality is that kids are spending a great deal of their time online.

According to recent statistics published by the Pew Research Centre, 93% of teens aged 12-17 are now on the Internet, 89% of them go online from home and 77% of them go online from school. Since most children's online activity happens at home or at school, parents and teachers are positioned to teach kids about safer Internet practices.

"Internet use has become universal within schools and the homes of Canadian families," said Public Safety Minister Vic Toews. "Our government continues to help fight child exploitation of all kinds, which must include strengthening our efforts together as the risks continue to evolve. I encourage parents to take a responsible interest in their childrens' online activities to ensure they're aware of the risks posed by online activities."

While the Internet opens doors leading to a world of great information, communication and entertainment, it can also be a direct path to danger for children. "The online world is their primary world for communicating and self-expression, and regardless of their age, no child is immune to online dangers," said Lianna McDonald, Executive Director of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection.

"Parents and educators play a vital role in helping keep kids safe when they are using the Internet. Learning and keeping informed about the latest technology and the online places that children visit is as important as keeping watch as they play outside," said Det. Sgt. Kim Scanlan, with the Toronto Police Services Child Exploitation Unit.

Safer Internet Day marks the beginning of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection's annual initiative to help parents and teachers instill safer Internet practices among children in Canada. Recognizing that many parents are overwhelmed trying to keep their kids safe in today's world of technology, the Canadian Centre has created The Door That's Not Locked (thedoorthatsnotlocked.ca) -- a comprehensive Internet safety website. It features age-specific information on what kids are doing online, the risks associated with those activities, and age-appropriate tips and strategies to help keep kids safe.

The Door that's Not Locked is designed to be a one-stop-shop for parents and educators. The website provides Canadians with easy-to-access material, including information on the newest online trends and nearly 20 new downloadable information sheets on topics such as: Healthy and Unhealthy Friendships and Internet Safety, Personal Boundaries, How to Monitor your Child's Online Activities, The Vulnerability of Adolescents, and age-specific Internet Safety Tool Sheets for Parents.

"Every day children enter through the unlocked door that is the Internet, unequipped to deal with what they may find on the other side. Too often we hear stories about how a child has been lured by an online predator or who has made rash decisions they've come to regret. These stories are preventable," said McDonald. "As adults, we all have a responsibility to protect children. I encourage anyone who has a child in their life to visit The Door that's Not Locked."

The Door that's Not Locked was made possible through the support of the Government of Canada, Telus, Bell, Shaw and Honeywell. The support of these partners also allows the Canadian Centre for Child Protection to distribute nearly half a million The Door that's Not Locked Internet Safety brochures to schools and parents across Canada.

-30-

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Phone:
204-945-8074
204-801-2979 (Cell)

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

Actualités et communiqués

QUEL EST VOTRE QI EN MATIÈRE DE SÉCURITÉ INTERNET?

8 février 2011

Parents et enseignants sont encouragés à se renseigner davantage sur ce qui se trouve de l'autre côté de la porte grande ouverte

WINNIPEG (MANITOBA) -- Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance rappelle aux parents, au personnel enseignant ainsi qu'à toutes les personnes qui ont des enfants dans leur vie pourquoi il est important de savoir assurer la sécurité des enfants sur Internet. Les enfants ne passent plus la majeure partie de leurs temps libres à jouer dehors. De nos jours, c'est sur Internet que les enfants occupent une bonne partie de leur temps.

Selon une étude récente du Pew Research Centre, 93 % des ados de 12 à 17 ans sont sur Internet, 89 % vont sur Internet à la maison et 77 % d'entre eux vont sur Internet à l'école. Étant donné que les enfants utilisent Internet surtout à la maison ou à l'école, les parents et le personnel enseignant sont bien placés pour apprendre aux enfants à se comporter prudemment sur Internet. Les portes d'Internet s'ouvrent sur un monde merveilleux d'information, de communication et de divertissement, mais elles peuvent aussi être une voie d'accès direct au danger pour les enfants.

« L'utilisation d'Internet s'est démocratisée dans les écoles et les foyers de tout le Canada, déclare le ministre de la Sécurité publique, Vic Toews. Notre gouvernement continue de contribuer à la lutte contre l'exploitation des enfants sous toutes ses formes, et pour y arriver, nous devons collaborer encore plus étroitement tous ensemble, car les risques évoluent continuellement. J'encourage les parents à jouer un rôle responsable vis-à-vis des activités de leurs enfants sur Internet et à s'assurer qu'ils sont conscients des risques d'Internet. »

« Internet est leur principal outil de communication et d'expression, souligne Lianna McDonald, directrice générale du Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance, et aucun enfant quel que soit son âge n'est à l'abri des dangers d'Internet. »

« Les parents et le personnel enseignant ont un rôle essentiel à jouer en ce qui a trait à la sécurité des enfants sur Internet. Suivre l'évolution de la technologie et savoir où vont les enfants sur Internet, c'est aussi important que de les surveiller lorsqu'ils jouent dehors,» note la sergente-détective Kim Scanlan de la brigade de lutte contre l'exploitation des enfants de la Police de Toronto.

La Journée de la sécurité sur Internet marque le début de la campagne annuelle du Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance pour aider les parents et le personnel enseignant à inculquer le sens de la prudence sur Internet aux enfants du Canada. Conscient que les parents ne parviennent pas à assurer la sécurité de leurs enfants dans ce monde de technologie, le Centre canadien a créé le site Une porte grande ouverte (uneportegrandeouverte.ca) : une mine d'information sur la sécurité internet. On y trouve de l'information sur les activités des jeunes internautes à différents âges et les risques associés à ces activités ainsi que des conseils par âge pour assurer la sécurité des enfants.

Le site Une porte grande ouverte se veut un guichet unique d'information pour les parents et le personnel enseignant. Il offre à la population canadienne des ressources faciles à consulter, notamment de l'information sur les dernières tendances d'Internet et près de 20 nouvelles fiches d'information téléchargeables sur une foule de sujets : Les amitiés saines et malsaines, La sécurité internet, Les limites personnelles, Comment surveiller les activités de votre enfant sur Internet, La vulnérabilité des adolescents, ainsi que des Fiches ressources sur la sécurité internet pour les parents d'enfants de différents âges.

« Les enfants franchissent tous les jours cette porte grande ouverte qu'est Internet sans avoir les outils nécessaires pour faire face aux situations qu'ils pourraient rencontrer de l'autre côté. Nous entendons trop souvent parler d'enfants qui se sont fait piéger par un cyberprédateur ou qui ont pris des décisions irréfléchies qu'ils ont fini par regretter, observe Mme McDonald. Comme adultes, nous avons tous le devoir de protéger les enfants. J'invite toutes les personnes qui ont un enfant dans leur vie à visiter le site Une porte grande ouverte. »

Le site Une porte grande ouverte a été produit grâce au soutien du gouvernement du Canada et de Telus, Bell, Shaw et Honeywell. Le soutien de ces partenaires permet aussi au Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance de distribuer près d'un demi-million de brochures Une porte grande ouverte sur la sécurité internet aux écoles et aux parents de tout le Canada.

-30-

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca