News and Media

Commit to Kids Program Helps Prevent Child Sexual Abuse

Recent Canadian Arrests Underscore Importance of Reporting to Cybertip.ca

November 14, 2013
For Immediate Release

WINNIPEG, MB: Today the Canadian Centre for Child Protection applauds the Toronto Police Service for the important outcomes pertaining to Project Spade. The announcement underscores the magnitude of the problem of online child sexual abuse in Canada. Reports made by the public to the Centre’s Cybertip.ca program helped identify websites that led to police agencies arresting hundreds of offenders and removing numerous children from abusive environments.

“Today’s announcement demonstrates the important role every Canadian plays in the protection of our children,” says Lianna McDonald, Executive Director, Canadian Centre for Child Protection. “One report to Cybertip.ca could help protect countless children.”

Cybertip.ca is Canada’s national tipline for reporting the online sexual exploitation of children. The tipline has received nearly 100,000 reports from the public in its 11 years of operation. In 2009, Cybertip.ca published a detailed research report regarding child sexual abuse images on websites. Of the 4,110 unique images analyzed for the study, 82.1% depicted very young, pre-pubescent children under 12 years of age. Most concerning was the severity of abuse depicted with over 35% of all images showing serious sexual assaults.

In response to the growing problem of online child pornography and the direct connection to offline child sexual abuse, the Centre developed the Commit to Kids program to reduce child sexual abuse from occurring in child-serving organizations. The program provides organizations with a step-by-step plan using a risk-management approach that is much broader than criminal record and child abuse registry checks for preventing child sexual abuse.

The arrests of individuals whose professions or volunteer work provided close contact with children highlights the importance of child-serving organizations having the necessary tools in place to reduce the likelihood that an offender will successfully gain access to and sexually abuse a child in their care. Research shows that the majority of offenders do not have a criminal record.

“Prevention is key, especially in child-serving organizations that may attract employees and volunteers looking to access and sexually offend against children,” says Detective Sgt. Kim Gross, Toronto Police Service. “Commit to Kids is an invaluable child sexual abuse prevention program that helps child-serving organizations better protect the children in their care.”

“The protection of children is all of our responsibility,” says McDonald. “We are not powerless - it is in our control. An important step toward creating safer environments for our children is for child-serving organizations to learn more about implementing the Commit to Kids child sexual abuse prevention program.”

Learn more about Commit to Kids and Cybertip.ca at: www.protectchildren.ca or www.cybertip.ca.

About the Canadian Centre for Child Protection: The goal of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection (www.protectchildren.ca) is to reduce child victimization by providing programs and services to the Canadian public. Its four national programs include Cybertip.ca (www.cybertip.ca), Canada’s tipline to report the online sexual exploitation of children; MissingKids.ca (www.missingkids.ca), a national missing children resource and response centre; Kids in the Know (www.kidsintheknow.ca), an interactive child personal safety program for children in Kindergarten to Grade Nine; and Commit to Kids (www.commit2kids.ca), a program to help child-serving organizations create safer environments for the children in their care and reduce their risk of sexual abuse.

-30-

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Phone:
204-945-8074
204-801-2979 (Cell)

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

Actualités et communiqués

Le programme Priorité Jeunesse aide à prévenir les abus pédosexuels dans les organismes

De récentes arrestations au Canada soulignent l’importance de signaler à Cyberaide.ca

14 novembre 2013
Pour diffusion immédiate

WINNIPEG (MANITOBA) : Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance félicite la Police de Toronto pour l’annonce d’aujourd’hui concernant l’opération Spade. Cette annonce met en évidence l’ampleur du problème de l’exploitation des enfants et des abus pédosexuels sur Internet au Canada. Les signalements que le public a transmis au programme Cyberaide.ca du Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance – la centrale canadienne de signalement des cas d’exploitation sexuelle d’enfants sur Internet – ont permis de repérer des sites internet qui ont aidé la police à arrêter des délinquants sexuels et à secourir de nombreux enfants en situation d’abus.

« L’annonce d’aujourd’hui témoigne du grand rôle que chaque Canadien peut jouer dans la protection de nos enfants, souligne Lianna McDonald, directrice générale du Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance. Un signalement à Cyberaide.ca peut permettre de protéger d’innombrables enfants. »

Cyberaide.ca est la centrale canadienne de signalement des cas d’exploitation sexuelle d’enfants sur Internet. Près de 100 000 signalements lui ont été envoyés par la population depuis sa création il y a 11 ans. En 2009, Cyberaide.ca a dévoilé une étude détaillée sur les images d’abus pédosexuels dans Internet. Sur les 4 110 images uniques analysées pour cette étude, 82,1 % montraient de très jeunes enfants prépubères âgés de moins de 12 ans. Le constat le plus troublant de cette étude était la gravité des abus commis : plus de 35 % des images analysées montraient des agressions sexuelles graves.

Devant la montée de la pornographie juvénile sur Internet et sa corrélation directe avec la commission d’abus pédosexuels hors d’Internet, le Centre a créé le programme Priorité Jeunesse afin de réduire l’incidence des abus pédosexuels dans les organismes de services à l’enfance. Ce programme propose aux organismes une approche méthodique basée sur la gestion des risques qui va beaucoup plus loin que la vérification du casier judiciaire et du registre de l’enfance maltraitée pour prévenir les abus pédosexuels.

L’arrestation de nombreux individus qui, par leur profession ou leurs activités bénévoles, étaient en contact étroit avec des enfants montre à quel point il est important que les organismes de services à l’enfance soient outillés pour réduire les risques qu’un délinquant sexuel réussisse à abuser d’un enfant dont ils ont la charge. Les chiffres démontrent que la majorité des délinquants sexuels n’ont pas de casier judiciaire.

« La clé, c’est la prévention, observe la sergente-détective Kim Gross de la Police de Toronto, surtout pour les organismes de services à l’enfance susceptibles d’attirer des employés et des bénévoles qui cherchent à côtoyer des enfants et à abuser sexuellement d’eux. Priorité Jeunesse est un formidable programme de prévention des abus pédosexuels qui aide les organismes de services à l’enfance à mieux protéger les enfants dont ils ont la charge. »

« La protection des enfants, c’est l’affaire de tous, rappelle Mme McDonald. Nous avons les moyens d’agir; c’est entre nos mains. Une bonne façon de renforcer la protection des enfants est d’inciter les organismes de services à l’enfance à se renseigner sur la mise en place du programme Priorité Jeunesse pour la prévention des abus pédosexuels. »

Renseignez-vous sur Priorité Jeunesse et Cyberaide.ca au www.protegeonsnosenfants.ca et au www.cyberaide.ca.

Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance : Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (www.protegeonsnosenfants.ca) a pour objectif de réduire la maltraitance des enfants en offrant des programmes et des services à la population canadienne. Ses quatre programmes nationaux sont : Cyberaide.ca (www.cyberaide.ca), la centrale canadienne de signalement des cas d’exploitation sexuelle d’enfants sur Internet; EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca (www.EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca), un centre national de ressources et d’intervention sur les enfants disparus; Enfants avertis (www.enfantsavertis.ca), un programme interactif d’éducation à la sécurité personnelle pour les enfants de la maternelle à la 9e année (3e secondaire); et Priorité Jeunesse (www.prioritejeunesse.ca), un programme qui aide les organismes de services à l’enfance à offrir un milieu sûr aux enfants dont ils ont la charge et à réduire les risques d’abus sexuel.

-30-

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca