News and Media

First survey of Québec parents on Internet use by children aged 3 to 12:

Marie-Vincent Foundation encourages parents to better supervise their children’s Web surfing!

Montréal, December 13, 2011
— The Marie-Vincent Foundation, which raises funds to support child victims of maltreatment in Québec, in co-operation with the national organization Cybertip.ca, announced today the results of the first survey of Québec parents on Internet use by children aged 3 to 12.

The survey findings, announced at a news conference attended by representatives of the various police forces, confirm that as early as age 3, children have access to a wide variety of electronic devices: desktop and laptop computers, video game consoles, iPods and MP3 players, webcams, smartphones with Internet access, and more. And their use obviously increases with age.

This survey also demonstrates that three in four children aged 3 to 12 go online and that one in two interacts with other people on the Internet, either via social networks, chatting or online gaming. In addition, the survey reveals that 80% of parents believe the Internet can be a dangerous source for the sexual exploitation of children. And nearly 50% of parents surveyed say they do not talk with their children about the possible dangers of Web surfing — this when one in 10 young people has already been in contact with someone he or she doesn’t know.

Just a few days before the start of the Holidays, Lucie Joyal, Executive Director of the Marie-Vincent Foundation, is calling on parents to be vigilant, stressing that “three in four parents do not use parental control software.”

For her part, Signy Arnason, Director of Cybertip.ca, added: “It is important that parents talk regularly with their children about Internet safety. It’s as important as telling them to look both ways before crossing the street or attaching their safety belt in the car. These days, children are always accessible on the Web and it’s all the more important to give them safety guidelines in order to reduce their exposure to risks.”

And Jean Saint-Onge, Chair of the Board of the Marie-Vince Foundation, noted: “This survey, the first ever conducted in Québec on parents’ perceptions of Internet use by children aged 3 to 12, is among the many prevention and awareness-raising activities the Foundation supports. It represents an initial inquiry into an issue that remains little documented in Québec — even though it is an everyday reality — and it inspires us to push our quest for information even further.”

The Service de police de la Ville de Montréal, the Sûreté du Québec, the RCMP, the Centre jeunesse de Montréal – Institut universitaire, and the Canadian Centre for Child Protection are all supporting the efforts of the Marie-Vincent Foundation and Cybertip.ca to raise the awareness of parents of the hazards of children’s unsupervised Web browsing.


Methodology
The telephone survey, an initiative of the Marie-Vincent Foundation, was conducted in Québec from June 22 to July 10, 2011, among 1,000 parents of children aged 3 to 12, using a simple random sampling method of Québec-wide telephone numbers. Its margin of error is + 3.1%. It was funded by Bell Canada and conducted by CEFRIO (Centre francophone de recherche en informatisation des organisations).


About Cybertip.ca
Cybertip.ca, Canada's national tipline for reporting the online sexual exploitation of children, is owned and operated by the Canadian Centre for Child Protection, one of the country’s main charitable organizations dedicated to the personal safety of all children. Since launching nationally in 2002, Cybertip.ca has received more than 53,000 child sexual exploitation reports from Canada.


About the Marie-Vincent Foundation
Since 1975, the Marie-Vincent Foundation has helped meet the needs of Québec children aged 12 and under who are victims of maltreatement. It raises funds to support prevention, education and intervention programs for young victims and their families. For many years, the Marie-Vincent Foundation has worked to raise public awareness of the devastating consequences of abuse in the lives of its young victims. In 2005, the Foundation created the Centre d’expertise Marie-Vincent, which offers under one roof all the specialized services that child victims of sexual abuse and their families may need.

-30-

Source: Marie-Vincent Foundation
marie-vincent.org

Information:
Pierre Tessier
Communications Infrarouge
Pierre.tessier@cominfrarouge.com
514 233-1636

René Morin
Cybertip.ca
r.morin@protegeonsnosenfants.ca
819 230-5624

Actualités et communiqués

Premier sondage auprès de parents québécois sur l’utilisation d’Internet par les enfants de 3 à 12 ans :

La Fondation Marie-Vincent invite les parents à mieux encadrer l’usage que font leurs enfants d’Internet!

Montréal, le 13 décembre 2011
|La Fondation Marie-Vincent, qui recueille des fonds pour soutenir les enfants victimes de maltraitance au Québec, a dévoilé aujourd’hui, en collaboration avec Cyberaide.ca, les résultats du premier sondage auprès de parents québécois sur l’utilisation d’Internet par les enfants de 3 à 12 ans.

Les résultats du sondage, présentés lors d’une conférence de presse en présence des différents corps policiers, confirment que dès l’âge de trois ans les enfants ont à leur disposition une grande variété d’appareils : ordinateurs de table/portables, consoles de jeux vidéo, iPod/MP3, Webcam, cellulaires avec Internet, etc. L’usage croît évidemment avec l’âge.

Ce sondage nous indique aussi que 3 enfants sur 4, âgés de 3 à 12 ans, utilisent Internet et que 1 enfant sur 2 interagit avec d’autres personnes sur Internet, que ce soit dans les réseaux sociaux, des séances de clavardage ou des jeux en ligne.

Ce sondage nous apprend également que 80 % des parents estiment qu’Internet peut être une source de danger en matière d’exploitation sexuelle des enfants. Par ailleurs, près de 50 % des parents ne parlent pas des dangers possibles de l’utilisation d’Internet avec leurs enfants (alors que 1 jeune sur 10 a déjà été en contact avec des inconnus).

À quelques jours du congé des Fêtes, Lucie Joyal, directrice générale de la Fondation Marie-Vincent, appelle à la vigilance des parents, soulignant « que trois parents sur quatre n’utilisent pas de logiciel de contrôle parental ».

« Il est important que les parents parlent régulièrement de sécurité internet avec leurs enfants, ajoute Signy Arnason, directrice de Cyberaide.ca. C’est aussi important que de leur dire de regarder des deux côtés avant de traverser la rue ou d’attacher leur ceinture de sécurité. De nos jours, les enfants sont accessibles en tout temps sur Internet, et c’est d’autant plus important de leur donner des consignes de sécurité pour réduire les risques auxquels ils sont exposés. »

« Ce sondage, le premier jamais réalisé au Québec sur la perception des parents de l’utilisation d’Internet par les enfants âgés de 3 à 12 ans, s’inscrit dans la foulée des activités de prévention et de sensibilisation soutenues par la Fondation. Il constitue un premier coup de sonde sur une problématique encore peu documentée au Québec, et pourtant d’actualité, ce qui nous incite à poursuivre encore plus loin notre quête d’information », souligne Me Jean Saint-Onge, président du conseil d’administration de la Fondation Marie-Vincent.

Le Service de police de la Ville de Montréal, la Sûreté du Québec, la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, le Centre jeunesse de Montréal – Institut universitaire et le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance participent aux efforts de la Fondation Marie-Vincent et de Cyberaide.ca pour sensibiliser les parents aux risques que présente l’usage non supervisé d’Internet par les enfants.


Méthodologie
Initiative de la Fondation Marie-Vincent, le sondage téléphonique a été réalisé au Québec du 22 juin au 10 juillet 2011 auprès de 1000 parents d’enfants âgés de 3 à 12 ans, à partir d’un échantillonnage aléatoire simple de numéros de téléphone à l’échelle du Québec. Sa marge d’erreur est de + 3,1 %. Il a été financé par Bell Canada et réalisé par le CEFRIO.


À propos de Cyberaide.ca
Cyberaide.ca fait fonction de centrale canadienne de signalement des cas d’exploitation sexuelle d’enfants sur Internet et relève du Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance, l’un des principaux organismes caritatifs pour enfants au Canada voué à la sécurité personnelle de tous les enfants. Depuis son déploiement à l’échelle nationale en 2002, Cyberaide.ca a reçu plus de 53 000 signalements venant du Canada.


À propos de la Fondation Marie-Vincent
La Fondation Marie-Vincent contribue depuis 1975 à combler les besoins des enfants québécois de 12 ans et moins victimes de maltraitance. Elle recueille des fonds afin de soutenir des activités de prévention, d’éducation et d’aide aux jeunes victimes ainsi qu’à leurs proches. Depuis plusieurs années, la Fondation Marie-Vincent invite le public à prendre conscience de l’impact dévastateur de la maltraitance dans la vie des jeunes enfants qui en sont victimes. En 2005, la Fondation Marie-Vincent a créé le Centre d’expertise Marie-Vincent, qui offre sous un même toit tous les services spécialisés dont les enfants victimes d’agression sexuelle et leur famille peuvent avoir besoin.

-30-

Source : Fondation Marie-Vincent
marie-vincent.org

Renseignements :
Pierre Tessier
Communications Infrarouge
Pierre.tessier@cominfrarouge.com
514 233-1636

René Morin
Cyberaide.ca
r.morin@protegeonsnosenfants.ca
(819) 230-5624