News and Media

Working Together to Protect Children from Cyberbullying

The Canadian Centre for Child Protection Hosts Gathering that includes Prime Minister, Top Experts in the Field and Families of Victims of Cyberbullying

May 10, 2013
For Immediate Release

WINNIPEG, MB: Today the Canadian Centre for Child Protection held a roundtable discussion to address the crisis of cyberbullying that is impacting youth across this nation. In attendance were the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, Prime Minister of Canada; Vic Toews, Minister of Public Safety; Joyce Bateman, Member of Parliament for Winnipeg South Centre; leading experts in the field of cyberbullying and the online sexual exploitation of children and teens; and families whose children were victimized by this form of online aggression. The overwhelming consensus was, that in this age of rapidly changing technology, never before in history has there been a more critical time to come together and work towards ways of addressing the issue of the online victimization of children and youth at the hands of their own peers.

“Over the past year we have witnessed both the complexity of the issue of cyberbullying and the tragedy that can result,” said Lianna McDonald, Executive Director, Canadian Centre for Child Protection. “Cyberbullying has impacted the lives of so many Canadian families. Now is the time to come together to make sure that our children are not alone when dealing with these difficult issues. We are honoured to have the Prime Minister take the time today to meet with our agencies and families on this important issue.”

The roundtable follows the April 21 launch of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection’s online resource,, designed to help Canadian youth who have been negatively impacted by the creation and distribution of sexual pictures/videos online. Mrs. Laureen Harper supported the launch which brought together Canadian musicians and politicians on the Twittersphere to spread the important message that #youtharenotalone., created with the support of Bell, provides teens with helpful information such as: how to stop the spread of sexual images online; how to go about seeking the support of a safe adult; how to manage peers, family and school environments; and how to cope with the harassment that may be occurring both online and offline.

Today’s discussion brought together key players in the fight against cyberbullying including the Government of Canada and experts from the Canadian Centre for Child Protection, Kids Help Phone, PrevNet, and the Respect Group. They were also joined by families who have sadly lost their children due to the impacts of cyberbullying.

“It is hoped that as concerned parents, adults and educators, we can work towards building a safer on-line community for this generation and the future ones to come,” said Carol Todd, mother of Amanda Todd. “Our children are precious and we cannot afford to lose them to behaviours and actions that are preventable. It is imperative for everyone to work together and bring about the changes needed to make the difference.”

“Rehtaeh was failed by the school system, legal system, and the health system,” said the Parsons and Canning families, parents of Rehteah Parsons. “We are happy to be able to work with the Canadian Centre for Child Protection. They have made it a priority to ensure changes are made so that another child does not fall through the same cracks in the system. We are also very pleased to be here with the Prime Minister discussing this important issue.”

“I would like to see the support needed for the children that are victimized,” said Pam Murchison, mother of Jenna Bowers-Bryanton. “Technology, and society have created this, and we have to own it, recognize it and fix it.”

“We need to open up the discussion of our youth and their safety online which we have done today,” said Joanne Landolt, aunt of Kimberly Proctor. “Youths need to understand that they can't hide behind the computer, many times saying things they never would in person. Their postings are available 24/7, have a lasting impression and has a huge impact on lives. I'm honoured to be here today taking part in this discussion with these wonderful families and with the Prime Minister.”

“Our hope is that from this roundtable we can create positive change, as we work together, learn from one another, and make sure the tragic circumstances these families have had to face with the loss of a loved one, are never felt by another family,” said McDonald. “We are all responsible for the protection of children, and we must come together in creative ways to reach them, oftentimes in the space where they may be struggling with relationships with peers such as social media, and let them know they are not alone.”


If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

204-801-2979 (Cell)

Actualités et communiqués

Cause commune pour protéger les enfants contre la cyberintimidation

Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance réunit le premier ministre, de grands spécialistes du domaine de la cyberintimidation et des familles de victimes

10 mai 2013
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

WINNIPEG (MANITOBA) : Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance a tenu aujourd’hui une table ronde en réaction à la crise de la cyberintimidation qui frappe les jeunes partout au pays. Y ont pris part le très honorable Stephen Harper, premier ministre du Canada; Vic Toews, ministre de la Sécurité publique; Joyce Bateman, députée de Winnipeg-Centre-Sud; de grands spécialistes du domaine de la cyberintimidation et de l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants et des adolescents sur Internet; ainsi que des familles d’enfants victimes de cette forme de cybermaltraitance. Il était clair pour tout le monde que, en cette ère de foisonnement technologique, il n’a jamais été si important de travailler en synergie pour lutter contre la cybermaltraitance des jeunes par les jeunes.

« Depuis un an, nous constatons à la fois la complexité du problème de la cyberintimidation et les tragédies qui peuvent en découler, observe Lianna McDonald, directrice générale du Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance. La cyberintimidation bouleverse tant de familles canadiennes. À présent, il faut faire cause commune pour que nos enfants ne soient pas à laissés à eux-mêmes face à des situations aussi difficiles. C’est un honneur pour nous que le premier ministre prenne le temps aujourd’hui de rencontrer nos organismes dans cet important dossier ainsi que des familles de victimes. »

La table ronde d’aujourd’hui fait suite au lancement, le 21 avril, du site AidezMoiSVP.ca, que le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance a mis en ligne pour aider les jeunes canadiens touchés par la création et la diffusion d’images à caractère sexuel sur Internet. Mme Laureen Harper s’est associée au lancement aux côtés des artistes et des politiciens canadiens qui ont fait cause commune dans la twittosphère pour dire aux jeunes qu’ils ne sont jamais seuls (#jeunesjamaisseuls). Créé avec le soutien de Bell, le site AidezMoiSVP.ca explique aux ados comment faire cesser la propagation d’images à caractère sexuel sur Internet, comment s’y prendre pour obtenir l’aide d’un adulte de confiance, comment s’en sortir face aux autres jeunes, à leur famille et à l’école, et comment contrer le harcèlement qu’ils subissent peut-être sur Internet et dans la vraie vie.

Cette table ronde a réuni de grands acteurs de la lutte contre la cyberintimidation, dont le gouvernement du Canada et des experts du Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance, de Jeunesse, J’écoute, de PrevNet et du Respect Group. Des familles éprouvées par la perte d’un enfant à cause de la cyberintimidation étaient également présentes.

« On espère que les parents, les adultes et les enseignants s’uniront dans le même souci de faire d’Internet un espace plus sécuritaire pour les jeunes d’aujourd’hui et de demain, souhaite Carol Todd, mère d’Amanda Todd. Nos enfants sont précieux et l’on ne peut se permettre de les perdre à cause de comportements et de gestes que l’on aurait pu prévenir. Il est impératif de travailler tous ensemble et d’amener les changements nécessaires pour améliorer les choses. »

« Rehtaeh a été laissée pour compte par le système scolaire, le système judiciaire et le système de santé, déclarent les familles Parsons et Canning, parents de Rehteah Parsons. Nous sommes ravis de pouvoir travailler avec le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance. Cet organisme met tout en œuvre pour faire changer les choses afin qu’aucun autre enfant ne soit victime des lacunes du système. Nous sommes aussi enchantés d’être ici avec le premier ministre pour discuter de cet important dossier. »

« J’aimerais qu’on apporte aux enfants victimes l’aide dont ils ont besoin, demande Pam Murchison, mère de Jenna Bowers-Bryanton. C’est la technologie et la société qui ont causé le problème, et c’est à nous de le reconnaître et d’y remédier. »

« Il faut ouvrir le dialogue sur la sécurité de nos jeunes sur Internet et c’est ce que nous avons fait aujourd’hui, souligne Joanne Landolt, tante de Kimberly Proctor. Il faut faire comprendre aux jeunes qu’ils ne peuvent se cacher derrière un ordinateur pour dire des choses qu’ils ne diraient jamais en personne. Ces propos sont affichés en permanence sur Internet, ont un effet durable et bouleversent des vies. C’est un honneur pour moi d’être ici aujourd’hui et de participer à cette table ronde en compagnie de ces merveilleuses familles et du premier ministre. »

« Nous espérons que cette table ronde nous permettra d’amener des changements positifs à force de travailler ensemble, d’apprendre les uns des autres et de faire en sorte qu’aucune autre famille ne soit confrontée aux circonstances tragiques qui ont endeuillé ces familles, ajoute Mme McDonald. Protéger les enfants, c’est notre devoir à tous, et nous devons trouver ensemble des façons originales de les joindre, surtout là où ils ont parfois maille à partir avec leurs pairs, comme dans les médias sociaux, et leur dire qu’ils ne sont jamais seuls. »

-30-

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca