News and Media

BEYOND THE CRIMINAL RECORD CHECK: CAMPAIGN LAUNCHED TO HELP REDUCE THE RISK OF CHILD SEXUAL ABUSE

January 20, 2011
For Immediate Release

New Commit to Kids program to help child-serving organizations create safer environment

TORONTO, ON: The Canadian Centre for Child Protection, in partnership with the Toronto Police Service and Public Safety Canada, announced a new public awareness campaign that will run in the GTA urging child-serving organizations to adopt the Commit to Kids program. Designed for all organizations that work with children, this innovative child sexual abuse prevention program is a comprehensive risk-management approach that goes beyond criminal record checks and child abuse registry checks.

"Today's launch is another outstanding example of how our government is partnering with concerned Canadians to build stronger families and communities. We are delighted to work together with vital programs like Commit to Kids that ensure the most vulnerable in our society are protected," said Minister Toews. "Child victimization of any kind is a horrifying crime. We will continue to introduce new measures to get tough on child predators, encourage organizations to plan ahead in requesting and waiting for criminal record checks before hiring individuals who work with children and support initiatives like Commit to Kids that together strengthen public safety."

"Since the vast majority of child sexual offenders have never come in contact with a police officer, we are making it a priority to help raise awareness of what organizations should be doing to help keep kids safe," said Chief William Blair of the Toronto Police Service. "We are proud to partner with the Canadian Centre for Child Protection to promote such an invaluable child sexual abuse prevention program that will better prepare organizations to protect the children under their care."

Created by the Canadian Centre for Child Protection, the program is based on the knowledge that sex offenders seek employment and volunteer opportunities within child-serving organizations as a way to access kids. Easy to use and suitable for organizations of any size, the program provides organizations with policies, strategies and step-by-step plans for reducing the risk of child sexual abuse; and it helps organizations more quickly identify, terminate and intervene if abuse has occurred.

"Child sexual abuse happens when the opportunity exists," said Signy Arnason of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection. "If organizations aren't equipped with the knowledge and skills to identify risk, then the kids in their care will continue to be at risk. Criminal record checks and background checks are not enough. The goal of this public awareness campaign is to provide a wake-up call to all child-serving organizations that they need to raise the bar and do more to protect kids in their care."

The Commit to Kids public awareness campaign will run throughout the next month, and features billboards, digital signage and transit advertising. Information on the program is also being provided to GTA community centres and other child-serving organizations through a direct mail campaign.

The Commit to Kids program was made possible through financial support from Public Safety Canada. For more information on the child abuse prevention program, please visit www.commit2kids.ca. The Canadian Centre for Child Protection Inc. is a charitable organization dedicated to the personal safety of all children. To learn more, visit www.protectchildren.ca.

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Phone:
204-945-8074
204-801-2979 (Cell)

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

 

BACKGROUNDER: Commit to Kids

Easy to use and suitable for organizations of any size, the Commit to Kids program provides child-serving organizations with policies, strategies and step-by-step plans for reducing the risk of child sexual abuse.

Commit to Kids can help organizations:

  • Prevent child sexual abuse through increased awareness and education
  • Evaluate risks that exist
  • Teach employees/volunteers (who will then teach children) the difference between appropriate and inappropriate behaviour
  • Provide employees/volunteers with specific strategies on how to prevent abuse
  • Design programs that focus on child safety and supervision
  • Establish clear boundaries between employees/volunteers and children
  • Ensure that allegations of sexual abuse are handled in a sensitive, timely and effective manner
  • Understand their legal obligations to report child sexual abuse to a child welfare and/or law enforcement agency
  • Ensure the highest standard of practice when working with children

The Commit to Kids program includes:

  • A training kit for organizations, including information on: child sexual abuse; risk assessment and management; creating and enforcing a code of conduct for employees/volunteers; reporting disclosures of sexual abuse and addressing inappropriate behaviour; and policies on hiring, supervising, and training
  • A 30-minute training video and presentations for employees, volunteers, and parents
  • A sample child protection manual, complete with draft policies and procedures, that can easily be amended to suit the needs of individual organizations
  • A guide for parents that teaches them about the issue of child sexual abuse and helps them choose safe programs for their children
  • Supplemental tools such as reporting cards, website information, checklists and worksheets, and statistics

Actualités et communiqués

AU-DELÀ DE LA VÉRIFICATION DU CASIER JUDICIAIRE : LANCEMENT D'UNE CAMPAGNE DE PRÉVENTION DES ABUS PÉDOSEXUELS

20 janvier 2011
Pour diffusion immédiate

Le nouveau programme Priorité Jeunesse aide les organismes de services à l'enfance à créer des milieux plus sûrs

TORONTO, ON : Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance, en partenariat avec la Police de Toronto et Sécurité publique Canada, annonce le déploiement d'une campagne de sensibilisation dans le Grand Toronto enjoignant les organismes de services à l'enfance à adopter le programme Priorité Jeunesse. Destiné aux organismes qui travaillent auprès d'une clientèle d'enfants, ce programme innovateur de prévention des abus pédosexuels repose sur une approche globale de gestion des risques qui va au-delà de la vérification du casier judiciaire et du registre des mauvais traitements infligés aux enfants.

« Le lancement d'aujourd'hui est un autre bel exemple de partenariat entre notre gouvernement et des Canadiens intéressés dans le but de renforcer la sécurité de nos familles et de nos collectivités. Nous sommes ravis de travailler avec des programmes essentiels comme Priorité Jeunesse qui veillent à protéger les membres les plus vulnérables de notre société, a déclaré le ministre Toews. Quelle qu'en soit la forme, la maltraitance d'enfants est un crime effrayant. Nous entendons continuer de mettre en place de nouvelles mesures pour sévir contre les pédoprédateurs, encourager les organismes à s'y prendre d'avance pour demander et obtenir des vérifications de casier judiciaire avant d'engager des personnes qui travailleront avec des enfants et soutenir des initiatives comme Priorité Jeunesse qui renforceront la sécurité publique. »

« Étant donné que la grande majorité des délinquants pédosexuels n'ont jamais eu affaire à un agent de police, nous nous efforçons en priorité de sensibiliser les organismes aux mesures à prendre pour assurer la sécurité des enfants, explique William Blair, chef de la Police de Toronto. Nous sommes fiers de nous associer au Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance pour promouvoir un si précieux programme de prévention des abus pédosexuels qui outillera davantage les organismes pour protéger les enfants sous leur responsabilité. »

Produit par le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance, le programme repose sur le fait que les délinquants sexuels cherchent à travailler ou à faire du bénévolat au sein d'organismes de services à l'enfance afin de pouvoir côtoyer des enfants. D'usage facile et adapté aux organismes de toute taille, le programme propose des politiques, des stratégies et des plans méthodiques pour réduire les risques d'abus pédosexuels; en outre, il aide les organismes à déceler plus rapidement les situations d'abus et à agir aussitôt pour y mettre fin.

« Les abus pédosexuels se produisent lorsque les circonstances s'y prêtent, observe Signy Arnason, du Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance. Quand les organismes n'ont pas les compétences et les outils nécessaires pour identifier les risques, les enfants sous leur responsabilité demeurent vulnérables. Les vérifications de casier judiciaire et d'antécédents ne suffisent pas. Cette campagne de sensibilisation vise à alerter les organismes de services à l'enfance à la nécessité de monter la barre et de faire plus pour protéger les enfants sous leur responsabilité. »

La campagne de sensibilisation de Priorité Jeunesse sera déployée tout au long du mois prochain et recourra à des panneaux publicitaires, à l'affichage numérique et à l'affichage transport. De l'information sur le programme sera également distribuée aux centres communautaires et autres organismes de services à l'enfance du Grand Toronto par publipostage direct.

Le Programme Priorité Jeunesse a été développé grâce à l'aide financière de Sécurité publique Canada. Pour plus de détails sur ce programme de prévention des abus pédosexuels, cliquez www.prioritejeunesse.ca. Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance inc. est un organisme de bienfaisance voué à la sécurité personnelle des enfants. Pour plus de détails, cliquez www.protegeonsnosenfants.ca.

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca

 

DOCUMENT D'INFORMATION : Priorité Jeunesse

D'usage facile et adapté aux organismes de toute taille, le programme Priorité Jeunesse propose aux organismes de services à l'enfance des politiques, des stratégies et des plans méthodiques pour réduire les risques d'abus pédosexuels.

Priorité Jeunesse peut aider les organismes :

  • à prévenir les abus pédosexuels par des mesures de sensibilisation et d'éducation;
  • à évaluer les risques en présence;
  • à apprendre aux employés et aux bénévoles (qui l'apprendront ensuite aux enfants) à distinguer les comportements appropriés et inappropriés;
  • à proposer aux employés et aux bénévoles des stratégies axées spécifiquement sur la prévention des abus;
  • à concevoir des programmes axés sur la sécurité et la surveillance des enfants;
  • à établir des limites claires en ce qui a trait aux relations des membres du personnel et des bénévoles avec les enfants;
  • à veiller à ce que les allégations d'abus sexuels soient traitées avec sensibilité, diligence et efficacité;
  • à prendre conscience de leur obligation légale de signaler les abus pédosexuels à la protection de l'enfance ou à la police;
  • à se doter d'un code de conduite rigoureux en matière de services à l'enfance.

Le programme Priorité Jeunesse comporte :

  • Une trousse de formation pour les organisations comprenant de l'information sur : la maltraitance sexuelle des enfants; l'évaluation et la gestion des risques; l'élaboration et l'application d'un code de conduite pour le personnel et les bénévoles; le signalement des révélations de maltraitance sexuelle; la marche à suivre face aux comportements inappropriés; les politiques de recrutement, d'encadrement et de formation.
  • Une vidéo de formation de 30 minutes et des présentations pour le personnel, les bénévoles et les parents.
  • Un modèle complet de manuel de protection de l'enfance avec des exemples de politiques et de procédures facilement adaptables aux besoins de chaque organisation.
  • Un guide qui renseignera les parents sur le dossier de la maltraitance sexuelle des enfants et qui les aidera à choisir des programmes sûrs pour leurs enfants.
  • Des ressources complémentaires : fiches de signalement, site internet, listes de vérification, fiches d'activité et statistiques.