News and Media

KEEPING CHILDREN SAFE, ONE ORGANIZATION AT A TIME

May 20, 2010
For Immediate Release

Canadian Centre for Child Protection announces a new sexual abuse prevention program for child-serving organizations across Canada

Winnipeg, MB: Today child-serving organizations across the country are safer as result of a new program aimed at preventing child sexual abuse. The first of its kind in Canada, Commit to Kids is a program to help organizations create safe environments for children. More than 10,000 child-serving organizations will be receiving a free child sexual abuse prevention program on behalf of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection in partnership with the federal government and the Province of Manitoba.

"Child-serving organizations are committed to providing safe and nurturing environments," says Lianna McDonald, Executive Director of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection. "However, because they work with children, they are vulnerable to attracting employees/volunteers who may want to access and sexually abuse children or who may have inappropriate boundaries and relationships with children. As such, organizations must become more vigilant in establishing guidelines and protocols to protect children in their care."

The Commit to Kids program provides policies, strategies and a step-by-step plan for reducing the risk of child sexual abuse, encouraging organizations to take an active, participatory role in protecting children in their care.

"Commit to Kids will help organizations reduce the likelihood that an offender will successfully gain access to and sexually abuse a child," says McDonald. "It will also help organizations to more quickly identify, terminate and intervene if abuse has occurred."

"We must keep the safety of children paramount and the Government of Canada remains committed to protecting our children," says Public Safety Minister, Vic Toews. "Our government will continue to support programs like Commit to Kids which provides Canadian child-serving organizations with comprehensive strategies and information to protect children in their care from victimization."

As part of the National Strategy for the Protection of Children from Sexual Exploitation on the Internet, Public Safety Canada partners with the Canadian Centre for Child Protection and has contributed $250,000 towards this new program which will assist child-serving organizations.

Last year the federal government announced a renewed commitment to work with partners through the National Strategy for the Protection of Children from Sexual Exploitation on the Internet. The Government of Canada is investing $71 million over five years to help ensure that the National Strategy remains the success that it is today.

Commit to Kids is easy to use, and can be implemented by organizations of any size. The program helps organizations create a child protection manual, and includes a CD with sample policies, plans, and reproducible forms that can be easily amended and used by organizations.

"Protecting our children must be the primary goal for all of us. By improving recruitment and management practices at child service organizations we are going a long way toward ensuring these are safe environments," says Gord Mackintosh, Manitoba's Minister of Family Services and Consumer Affairs. "It's no longer good enough to do a criminal record check and leave it at that."

The program is unique in that it also helps organizations identify and address inappropriate behaviour. While most organizations have policies to deal with child sexual abuse, many struggle with how to address grey areas such as misconduct and the grooming of children. Commit to Kids will help prevent abuse through this education process.

"The Commit to Kids program demonstrates the importance of child safety education in the community," says Bruce MacDonald, President and CEO of Big Sisters Big Brothers of Canada. "Our national association supports all like-minded organizations that encompass child safety as a key priority in training materials, community education programs, and outreach efforts."

"We take the safety of the children enrolled in our programs seriously," says Diana Rozos, Director of the University of Winnipeg Students' Association daycare. "In keeping with the traditions of prevention, we think Commit to Kids is an invaluable resource for organizations such as ours in helping keep children safe."

www.commit2kids.ca

-30-

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Phone:
204-945-8074
204-801-2979 (Cell)

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

Actualités et communiqués

PROTÉGER LES ENFANTS, UN ORGANISME À LA FOIS

Le 20 mai 2010
Pour diffusion immédiate

Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance lance un nouveau programme de prévention des abus sexuels pour les organismes de services à l'enfance de tout le Canada

Winnipeg (Manitoba) -- Les organismes de services à l'enfance de tout le Canada sont désormais plus sûrs grâce à un nouveau programme destiné à prévenir les abus pédosexuels. Premier du genre au Canada, le programme Priorité Jeunesse aide les organismes à créer des milieux sûrs pour les enfants. Plus de 10 000 organismes de services à l'enfance recevront un exemplaire gratuit de ce programme de prévention des abus pédosexuels offert par le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance, en partenariat avec le gouvernement du Canada et la Province du Manitoba.

« Les organismes de services à l'enfance veulent offrir des milieux sûrs et enrichissants, observe Lianna McDonald, directrice générale du Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance. Toutefois, comme ils desservent une clientèle formée d'enfants, ils sont susceptibles d'attirer des employés et des bénévoles qui pourraient avoir un intérêt sexuel pour les enfants ou qui ne savent peut-être pas s'en tenir à des limites acceptables dans leurs rapports avec les enfants. Les organismes doivent donc être vigilants et se doter de règles et de protocoles pour protéger les enfants dont ils ont la charge. »

Le programme Priorité Jeunesse propose des stratégies, des politiques et une approche méthodique pour aider les organismes à réduire les risques d'abus pédosexuels et les encourager à jouer un rôle actif dans la protection des enfants dont ils ont la charge.

« Priorité Jeunesse aidera les organismes à réduire les risques qu'un délinquant en vienne à côtoyer un enfant et à abuser sexuellement de lui, explique Mme McDonald. Ce programme aidera aussi les organismes à déceler rapidement les abus et, le cas échéant, à y mettre fin et à agir en conséquence. »

« La sécurité des enfants doit demeurer une priorité, et le gouvernement du gouvernement reste déterminé à protéger nos enfants, affirme le ministre de la Sécurité publique, Vic Toews. Notre gouvernement continuera d'appuyer les programmes comme Priorité Jeunesse, qui apporte aux organismes de services à l'enfance du Canada toutes les solutions et toute l'information nécessaires pour protéger les enfants dont ils ont la charge contre la maltraitance. »

Dans le cadre de la Stratégie nationale pour la protection des enfants contre l'exploitation sexuelle sur Internet, Sécurité publique Canada s'associe au Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance et octroie 250 000 $ à ce nouveau programme destiné aux organismes de services à l'enfance.

L'an dernier, le gouvernement fédéral a renouvelé son engagement à travailler avec des partenaires dans le cadre de la Stratégie nationale pour la protection des enfants contre l'exploitation sexuelle sur Internet. Le gouvernement du Canada investit 71 millions de dollars sur cinq ans dans le but de maintenir l'efficacité de la Stratégie nationale.

Priorité Jeunesse est un programme facile à utiliser et à mettre en œuvre par des organismes de toute taille. Le programme aide les organismes à créer un manuel de protection de l'enfance et s'accompagne d'un CD contenant des modèles de politiques, de plans et des formulaires que les organismes peuvent facilement adapter à leurs besoins.

« La protection de nos enfants doit être notre priorité à tous. En améliorant les pratiques de recrutement et de gestion des organismes de services à l'enfance, nous contribuerons grandement à en faire des milieux sûrs, déclare Gord Mackintosh, ministre des Services à la famille et de la Consommation du Manitoba. On ne peut plus s'en tenir qu'à la vérification du casier judiciaire. ».

Le programme a la particularité d'aider aussi les organismes à déceler les comportements inappropriés et à agir en conséquence. Si la plupart des organismes ont des politiques en cas d'abus pédosexuels, beaucoup ne savent trop comment gérer les cas limites comme les inconduites et le conditionnement d'enfants. Priorité Jeunesse traite de ces questions dans une logique de prévention des abus.

« Le programme Priorité Jeunesse témoigne de l'importance d'éduquer les enfants à la sécurité dans leur milieu, souligne Bruce MacDonald, président-directeur général de Grands Frères Grandes Soeurs du Canada. Notre organisme national appuie tous les organismes qui, comme nous, placent la sécurité des enfants au premier rang des priorités dans leur matériel de formation, leurs programmes d'éducation communautaire et leurs activités de sensibilisation. »

« Nous prenons au sérieux la sécurité des enfants qui sont inscrits à nos programmes, note Diana Rozos, directrice de la garderie de l'association étudiante de l'Université de Winnipeg. Dans une logique de prévention, nous estimons que Priorité Jeunesse est une ressource inestimable pour les organismes qui, comme nous, sont soucieux de la sécurité des enfants. »

www.prioritejeunesse.ca

- 30 -

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca