News and Media


For Immediate Release
November 19, 2008

Commit to Kids helps child-serving organizations identify possible threats

WINNIPEG — Children are especially vulnerable to sexual abuse by adults who are well-known to them. This is particularly concerning when we consider that sex offenders often intentionally target child-serving organizations for work or volunteer opportunities. Today, with the launch of Commit to Kids, those organizations will have the tools and know-how to prevent that from happening.

Commit to Kids, a program of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection, will help organizations create safe environments for children. It provides strategies, policies and a step-by-step plan for reducing the risk of child sexual abuse. The program encourages organizations to take an active, participatory role in protecting children in their care.

“We know that criminal record checks are not enough to keep predators out of organizations,” said the Honourable Gord Mackintosh, Minister of Family Services and Housing. “Manitoba has always been a leader in the fight to protect children, and Commit to Kids is just another example of how collaborative projects can make a huge difference. We look forward to partnering with ten child care centres in Manitoba to pilot and evaluate the program.”

The cutting-edge program will help organizations to prevent child sexual abuse through increased awareness and education. It will teach employees and volunteers the difference between appropriate and inappropriate behaviour, and provide them with specific strategies on how to prevent abuse. Additionally, those using the program will learn about their legal obligation to report child sexual abuse and ensure that allegations of abuse and misconduct are handled in a sensitive, timely and effective manner.

“We are thrilled to be announcing another tool in our circle of child protection,” said Lianna McDonald, Executive Director at the Canadian Centre for Child Protection. “This program is designed to be comprehensive, easy-to-use, and adaptable to organizations of all sizes. I have no doubt that it will improve child safety in organizations.”

Over the next year, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection will be evaluating the program's usability and effectiveness with a number of child care centres in the province.

“We are proud to be a part of this pro-active plan to create safe environments for children,” said Cathy Gardiner, Executive Director of Learning & Growing Daycare Inc. “In an industry where the safety and well-being of children is a primary focus, Commit to Kids offers us the tools to provide our employees and volunteers with specific strategies on how to prevent and detect abuse.”

Commit to Kids includes:

  • A training kit for organizations, including information on: child sexual abuse; risk assessment and management; creating and enforcing a code of conduct for employees/volunteers; reporting disclosures of sexual abuse and addressing inappropriate behaviour; and policies on hiring, supervising, and training
  • A 30-minute training video and presentations for employees, volunteers, and parents
  • A sample child protection manual, complete with draft policies and procedures, that can easily be amended to suit the needs of individual organizations
  • A guide for parents that teaches them about the issue of child sexual abuse and helps them choose safe programs for their children
  • Supplemental tools such as reporting cards, website information, checklists and worksheets, and statistics

More information about the program can be found online at
Commit to Kids.

- 30 -

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

204-801-2979 (Cell)

Actualités et communiqués

LANCEMENT D'UN PROGRAMME DE PRÉVENTION DE LA MALTRAITANCE SEXUELLE DES ENFANTS

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
Pour diffusion immédiate
Le 19 novembre 2008

Priorité jeunesse aide les organismes de services à l'enfance à identifier les risques

WINNIPEG — Les enfants sont particulièrement exposés à subir des actes de maltraitance sexuelle commis par des adultes qu'ils connaissent bien. La situation devient particulièrement inquiétante quand on sait que les délinquants sexuels se tournent souvent vers des organismes de services à l'enfance pour trouver du travail ou faire du bénévolat. Aujourd'hui, avec le lancement du programme Priorité jeunesse, ces organismes auront désormais les outils et les compétences nécessaires pour prévenir de telles situations.

Priorité jeunesse est un programme du Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance qui aidera les organismes à créer des milieux sûrs pour les enfants. Il propose des stratégies, des politiques et un plan méthodique pour prévenir la maltraitance sexuelle des enfants. Le programme encourage les organismes à veiller activement sur la sécurité des enfants qui leur sont confiés.

« Nous reconnaissons que la vérification du casier judiciaire ne suffira pas à tenir les prédateurs à l'écart des organisations, déclare l'honorable Gord Mackintosh, ministre des Services à la famille et du Logement. Le Manitoba a toujours été à l'avant-garde en matière de protection de l'enfance, et Priorité Jeunesse vient démontrer une fois de plus que la coopération peut influer considérablement sur le cours des choses. Nous sommes heureux de nous associer à dix garderies du Manitoba pour mettre ce programme à l'essai et l'évaluer. »

Priorité Jeunesse est un programme avant-gardiste qui aidera les organisations à appliquer des mesures de sensibilisation et d'éducation pour prévenir la maltraitance sexuelle des enfants. Le personnel et les bénévoles apprendront ainsi à distinguer les comportements acceptables et inacceptables et disposeront de stratégies axées spécifiquement sur la prévention de la maltraitance. Le programme explique en outre les dispositions relatives au signalement obligatoire des cas de maltraitance sexuelle d'enfants et fournit des moyens de répondre d'une manière sensible, rapide et efficace aux allégations de maltraitance et d'inconduite.

Lianna McDonald est directrice générale du Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance. « Nous sommes ravis d'élargir la gamme de nos programmes de protection de l'enfance, souligne-t-elle. Priorité Jeunesse est un programme complet qui s'applique facilement et qui s'adapte aux besoins particuliers des organisations de toute taille. Il ne fait aucun doute que ce programme renforcera la sécurité des enfants au sein des organisations. »

Au cours de la prochaine année, le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance évaluera la facilité d'application et l'efficacité du programme dans diverses garderies de la province.

« Nous sommes fiers de participer à cette démarche préventive qui créera des milieux sûrs pour les enfants, souligne Cathy Gardiner, directrice générale de Learning & Growing Daycare Inc. Dans un secteur où la sécurité et le bien-être des enfants sont au premier rang des priorités, le programme Priorité jeunesse procure à notre personnel et à nos bénévoles des stratégies de prévention et de détection de la maltraitance. »

Priorité jeunesse, c'est :

    Une trousse de formation pour les organisations comprenant de l'information sur : la maltraitance sexuelle des enfants; l'évaluation et la gestion des risques; l'élaboration et l'application d'un code de conduite pour le personnel et les bénévoles; le signalement des révélations de maltraitance sexuelle; la marche à suivre face aux comportements inappropriés; les politiques de recrutement, d'encadrement et de formation.
  • Un vidéo de formation de 30 minutes et des présentations pour le personnel, les bénévoles et les parents.
  • Un modèle complet de manuel de protection de l'enfance avec des exemples de politiques et de procédures facilement adaptables aux besoins de chaque organisation.
  • Un guide qui renseignera les parents sur le dossier de la maltraitance sexuelle des enfants et qui les aidera à choisir des programmes sûrs pour leurs enfants.
  • Des ressources complémentaires : fiches de signalement, site internet, listes de vérification, fiches d'activité et statistiques.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le programme, cliquez
Priorité Jeunesse.

- 30 -

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca