News and Media


September 28, 2011
For Immediate Release

Parents urged to have ongoing safety conversations with their children

Winnipeg, MB: - In light of recent child abduction attempts in Gatineau, Quebec, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection is encouraging parents and guardians to have important safety conversations with their children to ensure they know how to react if faced with such a situation.

"While stranger abduction is very rare, what is happening right now in Gatineau shows that it is still a very real risk our kids face," said Noni Classen, Director of Education for the Canadian Centre for Child Protection. "We need to empower children and build their competency in using safety strategies. It's essential that parents set time aside to have important conversations with their kids so they in turn know what to do if faced with such a situation."

Classen urged parents to visit the Canadian Centre's Kids in the Know website ( for information on current, research-based child personal safety strategies, such as: "If asked to go and your parents don't know - shout NO" and "Shout NO! Run - tell someone."

"Children should be taught that they must always have their parents' permission before going anywhere. Like the Gatineau situation shows, some adults will try to trick kids and lure them into going with them," said Classen.

She also urged educators at every grade level to use the Kids in the Know safety education program, which uses effective and current research-based safety strategies to provide kids with the tools and skills they need to reduce their risk of victimization. This program is the only one of its kind in Canada that spans kindergarten to high school that address both personal safety and sexual exploitation in real world and online environments.

"If we want to reduce our children's risk of victimization, then safety education must become an integrated part of their life," said Classen. "No community is free from individuals who want to abuse and exploit our children. As parents, educators and community leaders - we all have to step up, do more and start making safety education an ongoing dialogue in our homes, our schools and in our communities."


If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

204-801-2979 (Cell)

Actualités et communiqués

LE CENTRE CANADIEN DE PROTECTION DE L'ENFANCE RÉAGIT À DES TENTATIVES D'ENLÈVEMENT À GATINEAU

28 septembre 2011
Pour diffusion immédiate

On implore les parents de rappeler constamment les mesures de sécurité à leurs enfants

Winnipeg (Manitoba) : Suite aux récentes tentatives d'enlèvement d'enfant survenues à Gatineau, au Québec, le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance recommande aux parents de rappeler les mesures de sécurité importantes à leurs enfants pour qu'ils sachent comment réagir dans de telles situations.

« Les cas d'enlèvement par des étrangers sont très rares, mais ce qui se passe à Gatineau en ce moment montre que les risques pour nos enfants sont quand même bien réels, explique Noni Classen, directrice de l'éducation au Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance. Il faut outiller les enfants et développer leur habileté à appliquer les mesures de sécurité. Il est essentiel que les parents prennent le temps d'expliquer les mesures de sécurité importantes à leurs enfants pour qu'ils sachent quoi faire s'ils sont confrontés à ce genre de situation. »

Mme Classen conseille vivement aux parents de visiter le site internet du programme Enfants avertis (enfantsavertis.ca) du Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance pour obtenir de l'information sur des règles de sécurité fondées sur des études récentes, comme « Partir sans le dire, c'est NON! L'enfant prudent prévient ses parents » et « Dis NON! Et cours avertir quelqu'un ».

« Il faut apprendre aux enfants à toujours demande la permission à leurs parents avec d'aller où que ce soit. Comme on l'a vu à Gatineau, il arrive que des adultes essaient d'amadouer des enfants dans le but de les emmener avec eux », observe Mme Classen.

Elle demande aussi aux enseignantes et aux enseignants de tous les niveaux de se servir du programme d'éducation à la sécurité Enfants avertis pour présenter des mesures de sécurité efficaces et fondées sur des études récentes qui procureront aux élèves les outils est les compétences dont ils ont besoin pour se protéger contre la maltraitance. Ce programme est le seul du genre au Canada qui commence à la maternelle et se poursuit jusqu'au secondaire, et qui porte à la fois sur la sécurité personnelle et l'exploitation sexuelle dans la vraie vie et sur Internet.

« Pour protéger nos enfants contre la maltraitance, il faut intégrer l'éducation à la sécurité à leur quotidien, explique Mme Classen. Aucune localité n'est à l'abri d'individus qui veulent maltraiter ou exploiter les enfants. En tant que parents, enseignantes et responsables locaux, nous avons tous le devoir de réagir, d'en faire plus et de parler d'éducation à la sécurité au quotidien dans nos foyers, nos écoles et nos communautés. »

-30-

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca