News and Media

TEACHING KIDS HOW TO BE SAFE MUST BECOME A NATIONAL PRIORITY:

September 22, 2011
For Immediate Release

In our homes, our schools and our communities

WINNIPEG, MB: While recent news coverage - from stories on the Sparwood abduction to federal crime legislation - have made child personal safety a top-of-mind subject of late, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection is calling on all Canadians to use this as a catalyst to make the education of child personal safety a national priority.

"The safety and protection of our children deserves to be more than a week of headlines and tweets," said Lianna McDonald, Executive Director of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection. "It is not enough to merely talk about the issue or just criticize. Every single one of us has a role to play in the protection of Canada's children and it's time to step up and make the safety of our kids a national priority."

Noni Classen, Director of Education at the Canadian Centre, urged parents to regularly set time aside to talk to their kids and to teach them how to be safe. She urged educators at every grade level to use the Canadian Centre's Kids in the Know safety education program to empower students and build their competency in using safety strategies.

"This program uses effective and current research-based safety strategies to provide kids with the tools and skills they need to reduce their risk of victimization," said Classen. "It's the only one of its kind in Canada that spans kindergarten to high school that address both personal safety and sexual exploitation in real world and online environments. If we want to reduce our children's risk of victimization, then safety education must become an integrated part of their life."

Pointing to the more than 53,000 child sexual exploitation reports that have been received by Cybertip.ca, Classen said it is alarmingly clear that more must be done to increase the safety of Canada's children.

"Kids of all ages are at risk, and they face different risks at different ages - particularly as they explore the online world and new technologies," said Classen. "No community is free from individuals who want to abuse and exploit our children - the online world has made sure of that. We have to step up, do more and start making safety education an ongoing dialogue in our homes, our schools and in our communities."

The Kids in the Know program is used in numerous schools across Canada, and has recently been distributed by the Nova Scotia government to every school in that province. Each year the Canadian Centre for Child Protection also mails out more than a million pieces of educational safety materials free-of-charge to parents, schools, law enforcement and other stakeholders. Parents and teachers can access numerous free educational resources, safety strategies, interactive games and other age-specific safety activities by visiting the Canadian Centre's website (protectchildren.ca) or its Kids in the Know education program website (kidsintheknow.ca).

-30-

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Phone:
204-945-8074
204-801-2979 (Cell)

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

Actualités et communiqués

APPRENDRE LA SÉCURITÉ AUX ENFANTS DOIT DEVENIR UNE PRIORITÉ NATIONALE :

22 septembre 2011
Pour diffusion immédiate

Dans nos foyers, nos écoles et nos communautés

WINNIPEG (MANITOBA) : La couverture médiatique engendrée récemment par l'enlèvement d'un enfant à Sparwood et la législation fédérale en matière de criminalité, entre autres, a fait de la sécurité personnelle des enfants un thème dominant, et le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance appelle la population canadienne à profiter de l'occasion pour élever l'éducation à la sécurité personnelle des enfants au rang de priorité nationale.

« La sécurité et la protection de nos enfants méritent qu'on y consacre plus qu'une semaine d'attention médiatique, affirme Lianna McDonald, directrice générale du Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance. On peut bien en parler ou se contenter de critiquer, mais cela ne suffit pas. Nous avons tous et toutes un rôle à jouer dans la protection des enfants du Canada, et il est temps d'intensifier nos efforts et d'élever la sécurité de nos enfants au rang de priorité nationale. »

Noni Classen, directrice de l'éducation au Centre canadien, presse les parents de prendre régulièrement du temps avec leurs enfants pour leur apprendre à se comporter prudemment. Elle encourage vivement les enseignantes et enseignants de tous les niveaux à utiliser le programme d'éducation à la sécurité Enfants avertis du Centre canadien pour amener leurs élèves à se prendre en charge et développer leur habileté à appliquer des stratégies de prévention.

« Ce programme utilise des stratégies de prévention efficaces et en phase avec la recherche pour outiller les enfants contre la maltraitance, explique Mme Classen. C'est le seul programme du genre au Canada qui commence à la maternelle et se poursuit jusqu'au secondaire et qui traite à la fois de sécurité personnelle et de prévention de l'exploitation sexuelle dans la vraie et vie et sur Internet. Si l'on veut réduire les risques de maltraitance chez nos enfants, il faut que l'éducation à la sécurité fasse partie de leur quotidien. »

Mme Classen fait remarquer que Cyberaide.ca a reçu plus de 53 000 signalements de cas d'exploitation sexuelle d'enfants et que ces statistiques alarmantes montrent clairement qu'il faut faire davantage pour renforcer la sécurité des enfants du Canada.

« Des risques pèsent sur les enfants de tout âge, et ces risques varient selon l'âge des enfants, notamment en ce qui a trait à Internet et aux nouvelles technologies, observe Mme Classen. À l'heure d'Internet, aucune communauté n'est à l'abri d'individus qui veulent abuser de nos enfants et les exploiter. Nous devons intensifier nos efforts, en faire davantage et commencer à parler régulièrement de sécurité dans nos foyers, nos écoles et nos communautés. »

Le programme Enfants avertis s'utilise dans de nombreuses écoles au Canada, et le gouvernement de la Nouvelle-Écosse vient de le distribuer à toutes les écoles de la province. De plus, le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance distribue gratuitement chaque année aux parents, aux écoles, aux corps policiers et à d'autres organismes plus d'un million de documents de sensibilisation à la sécurité. Les sites internet du Centre canadien (protegeonsnosenfants.ca) et de son programme éducatif Enfants avertis (enfantsavertis.ca) mettent gratuitement à la disposition des parents et du personnel enseignant une foule de ressources pédagogiques, de stratégies de prévention, de jeux interactifs et d'activités d'éducation à la sécurité pour tous les âges.

-30-

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca