News and Media

SCHOOLS MUST GO BEYOND THE CRIMINAL RECORD CHECK

October 14, 2011
For immediate release

'Commit to Kids' program will help schools reduce students' risk of victimization

"I accept, as both teachers' unions and school boards have properly stressed, that the incidence of sexual misconduct is small relative to the large number of teachers and students in our school system. However, the incidence is certainly frequent enough and serious enough to deserve more attention than it presently receives. The harm caused by sexual misconduct can be devastating. If our schools are truly to be safe and nurturing places for children to learn and grow, the problem must be actively addressed, and every effort must be made to protect our students."

- Justice Sydney L. Robins, following the release of his April 2000 Report: 'Protecting Our Students: A Review to Identify and Prevent Sexual Misconduct in Ontario Schools'

Winnipeg, MB: A recent Toronto Star series that revealed numerous instances of sexual abuse of students highlights the need for Canada's school boards to go beyond the criminal record and child abuse registry checks and implement a comprehensive child sexual abuse prevention program in their schools.

"We know the vast majority of educators are dedicated and committed to providing a safe environment for students. However, as the recent Star series shows - more than a decade following former Justice Sydney Robins' Protecting our Students report - students are being victimized," said Lianna McDonald, Executive Director of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection. "While the Star series focused on Ontario incidents - child sexual abuse is a national problem that all schools need to be addressing."

The Star investigation revealed cases of teachers grooming and sexually abusing students, sending sexually charged emails/texts, as well as cases of teachers caught making and possessing child pornography. In one case, a teacher abused male students as young as 10 for more than a decade before he was recently stopped.

"As adults, we all have a responsibility to protect children. These incidents serve as a reminder to all schools that there is more that can and should be done to keep students safe and reduce their risk of victimization," said McDonald.

The Canadian Centre has created the Commit to Kids child sexual abuse prevention program to help schools and other child-serving organizations create safer environments for the children in their care. The program has been reviewed by many leading experts, including former justice Sydney Robins, who released a report in April 2000 called "Protecting our Students: A review to identify and prevent sexual misconduct in Ontario schools." With support from the federal government and Bell Canada, the non-profit children's charity has to-date distributed more than 11,000 copies of the program free-of-charge across Canada since its launch in 2010 - helping organizations to:

  • evaluate risks that exist;
  • teach employees/volunteers the difference between appropriate and inappropriate behaviour;
  • establish clear boundaries between employees/volunteers and children;
  • ensure that allegations of sexual abuse are handled in a sensitive, timely and effective manner;
  • understand their legal obligations to report child sexual abuse;
  • provide employees/volunteers with specific strategies on how to prevent abuse;
  • prevent child sexual abuse through increased awareness and education; and,
  • ensure the highest standard of practice when working with children.

-30-

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Phone:
204-945-8074
204-801-2979 (Cell)

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

Actualités et communiqués

LA VÉRIFICATION DES CASIERS JUDICIAIRES NE SUFFIT PAS

14 octobre 2011
Pour diffusion immédiate

Le programme Priorité Jeunesse aidera les écoles à prévenir les risques de maltraitance envers les élèves

« Je reconnais, à l'instar des syndicats d'enseignants et des conseils scolaires, que les cas d'inconduite sexuelle sont rares compte tenu du grand nombre d'enseignants et d'élèves au sein du système scolaire. Cependant, leur incidence et leur gravité m'apparaissent suffisantes pour justifier qu'on y accorde plus d'attention. L'inconduite sexuelle peut causer des torts considérables. Pour que l'école soit effectivement un lieu sûr où les enfants apprennent et s'épanouissent, il faut s'attaquer à ce problème et mettre tout en œuvre pour protéger les élèves. »

- Juge Sydney L. Robins, suite à la publication de son rapport d'avril 2000 : Protégeons nos élèves - Examen visant à identifier et à prévenir les cas d'inconduite sexuelle dans les écoles de l'Ontario

Winnipeg (Manitoba) : Une série d'articles parus récemment dans le Toronto Star met en lumière de nombreux cas d'abus sexuels sur des élèves et souligne la nécessité pour les conseils et les commissions scolaires du Canada de ne pas se limiter à la vérification des casiers judiciaires et des registres de l'enfance maltraitée et de déployer un programme complet de prévention des abus pédosexuels dans leurs écoles.

« Nous savons bien que la grande majorité des enseignantes et enseignants se soucient de la sécurité de leurs élèves, observe Lianna McDonald, directrice générale du Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance. Or, plus de dix années ont passé depuis que le juge à la retraite Sydney Robins a publié son rapport Protégeons nos élèves, et la récente série d'articles parus dans le Star montre qu'il y a encore des élèves qui subissent des abus. Même si les incidents rapportés par le Star se sont produits en Ontario, les abus pédosexuels sont un problème national auquel toutes les écoles doivent s'attaquer. »

L'enquête du Star révèle des cas d'enseignants qui ont mis des élèves en confiance pour ensuite abuser sexuellement d'eux, des cas de courriels et de textos à caractère hautement sexuel et des cas d'enseignants pris en délit de production et de possession de pornographie juvénile. Un enseignant vient même de se faire prendre après avoir abusé d'élèves masculins âgés d'à peine dix ans pendant plus de dix années.

« Comme adultes, nous avons tous le devoir de protéger les enfants. Ces incidents sont un rappel à l'intention de toutes les écoles qu'il faut faire davantage pour assurer la sécurité des élèves et prévenir les risques de maltraitance à leur endroit », ajoute Mme McDonald.

Le Centre canadien a créé Priorité Jeunesse : un programme de prévention des abus pédosexuels qui aide les écoles et les autres organismes de services à l'enfance à créer des milieux plus sûrs pour les enfants dont ils ont la charge. Ce programme a été révisé par de nombreux experts reconnus, dont le juge à la retraite Sydney Robins, auteur du rapport Protégeons nos élèves : Examen visant à identifier et à prévenir les cas d'inconduite sexuelle dans les écoles de l'Ontario, paru en avril 2000. Le soutien du gouvernement fédéral et de Bell Canada a permis au Centre canadien - un organisme de bienfaisance pour l'enfance à but non lucratif - de distribuer gratuitement plus de 11 000 exemplaires du programme à l'échelle du Canada. Ce programme lancé en 2010 aidera les organismes à :

  • évaluer les risques en présence;
  • apprendre aux employés et aux bénévoles à distinguer les comportements appropriés et inappropriés;
  • établir des limites claires en ce qui a trait aux relations des membres du personnel et des bénévoles avec les enfants;
  • veiller à ce que les allégations d'abus sexuels soient traitées avec sensibilité, diligence et efficacité;
  • à prendre conscience de leurs obligations légales en matière de signalement des sévices sexuels infligés aux enfants;
  • proposer aux employés et aux bénévoles des stratégies axées spécifiquement sur la prévention des abus;
  • prévenir les abus pédosexuels par des mesures de sensibilisation et d'éducation;
  • se doter d'un code de conduite rigoureux en matière de services à l'enfance.

-30-

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca