Get Involved!


  • Teach your child about the 7 Root Safety Strategies.

    The Kids in the Know root safety strategies are protective factors for kids to incorporate into their daily lives to increase their safety. These strategies use rhythm, rhyme, and repetition to increase children’s ability to recall the safety information, especially when faced with a difficult situation. Click here to learn more.

  • Encourage the use of the Buddy System at all times.

    Children who go places alone are at greater risk of being harmed. The Buddy System helps children increase their safety by teaching them the important habit of staying with a buddy when going places. Click here to learn more.

  • Teach your child the difference between Keep and Speak secrets.

    Many dangerous situations for children involve some element of secrecy. Teaching your child the difference between Keep secrets and Speak secrets will increase the likelihood of your child disclosing if something inappropriate is happening. Click here to learn more.

  • Teach your child appropriate boundaries between adults and children.

    Grooming techniques used by offenders often begin by breaking boundaries to normalize sexual activity between adults and children. Children who are aware of their own personal boundaries are more likely to recognize when someone is crossing a boundary, which in turn, reduces risk of being sexually exploited or abused. Click here to learn more.

  • Teach your child about the public nature of the Internet.

    The Internet is a very public space. Once information is shared online, an individual has no control of whether copies are forwarded, downloaded or reposted. Reinforcing this message with your child increases the chances that s/he will think twice before sharing personal information on the Internet. Click here to learn more.

  • Teach your child about healthy friendships and relationships.

    In order to reduce the risk of an adolescent being sexually exploited, it is imperative that s/he learn the difference between healthy and unhealthy relationships. As teens mature and seek more intimate relationships, recognizing the difference between loving relationships versus controlling ones will increase their overall safety. Click here to learn more.

Agissez!

Éduquer

  • Apprenez à votre enfant les sept règles essentielles de sécurité

    Les sept règles essentielles de sécurité du programme Enfants avertis sont des stratégies de protection que les enfants incorporent à leur vie quotidienne pour mieux se protéger. L’intégration de rythmes, de rimes et de répétitions aide les enfants à se souvenir de ces règles, en particulier lorsqu’ils se retrouvent dans une situation difficile. Cliquez pour les détails.


  • Encouragez l’application du principe de la compagnie des amis en tout temps

    Les enfants qui se déplacent seuls courent plus de dangers que ceux qui se déplacent à plusieurs. Le principe de la sécurité des amis enseigne aux enfants la bonne habitude de rester avec un ami lorsqu’ils vont quelque part, par mesure de protection. Cliquez pour les détails.


  • Apprenez à votre enfant la différence entre un bon et un mauvais secret

    Un enfant en danger est souvent tenu au silence. En enseignant à votre enfant la différence entre un bon secret et un mauvais secret, vous l’aiderez à se confier à quelqu’un s’il lui arrivait quelque chose de mal. Cliquez pour les détails.


  • Apprenez à votre enfant les limites à respecter dans les relations adultes-enfants

    Les techniques de conditionnement qu’utilisent les pédocriminels commencent souvent par le non-respect des limites pour normaliser les activités sexuelles entre enfants et adultes. Si un enfant connaît ses limites personnelles, il le remarquera plus facilement si quelqu’un les enfreint, ce qui le protège davantage contre l’exploitation et les abus sexuels. Cliquez pour les détails.


  • Sensibilisez votre enfant au côté public d’Internet

    Internet est un « lieu » très public. Dès qu’une information est diffusée sur Internet, il est impossible de contrôler la diffusion es copies qui auront été retransmises, téléchargées ou republiées ailleurs. En répétant ce message à votre enfant, vous augmentez la possibilité qu’il y pensera à deux fois avant de partager ses renseignements personnels sur Internet. Cliquez pour les détails.


  • Expliquez à votre enfant ce qu’est une amitié ou une relation saine

    Pour réduire les risques d’exploitation sexuelle chez les adolescents, il est important qu’ils apprennent la différence entre des relations saines et des relations malsaines. À mesure qu’ils grandiront et auront des relations intimes plus fréquentes, les adolescents auront intérêt à distinguer une relation amoureuse d’une relation dominant-dominé pour assurer leur sécurité. Cliquez pour les détails.