Get Involved!

Are you a victim or concerned about someone in your life?

If you have had a sexual abuse experience or are concerned about someone in your life, it can be difficult to talk about. Concerns about how others may react, who might find out, being wrong or interfering, etc. can sometimes stop us from speaking up. It’s important to recognize that if you have been victimized, it is never your fault. It is also important to know that if you have concerns that a child in your life might have been abused or be at risk of abuse, you are responsible for reporting those concerns (not proving them). It is often only through the reporting of concerns that abuse can be uncovered and children protected from harm.

If you are a victim of child sexual abuse and would like to speak with a representative from the Canadian Centre for Child Protection, or if you are uncertain of what steps you should or can take, please contact us.

If you are concerned about a child being sexually exploited on the Internet, report to Cybertip.ca. Owned and operated by the Canadian Centre, Cybertip.ca is Canada’s tipline for reporting online child sexual exploitation. Reports to Cybertip.ca may be submitted anonymously.

  • What is child sexual abuse?

    Child sexual abuse includes a range of behaviours from obvious contact offences such as touching or fondling a child’s genitalia, to less obvious non-contact offences which include exposing a child to sexually explicit material. Children can experience trauma from both contact and non-contact sexual offences. Read Child Sexual Abuse: It is your business for more information.


  • Who sexually abuses children?

    Individuals who sexually abuse and exploit children come from all walks of life and cannot be easily identified. To keep children safe, pay attention to behaviours and situations that present risk. Don’t just focus on an individual’s appearance, character and/or marital status/relationship history. A well-liked individual that contributes to her/his community is not exempt from having the capacity to sexually exploit or harm a child.

    If you witness an inappropriate interaction between an adult and a child, regardless of the adult’s position within the community, you need to address the behaviour. For more information about how you can do that and what steps you can take, contact us.


  • What do I do if I have concerns about child sexual abuse?

    Every province and territory in Canada has laws that stipulate the circumstances under which individuals are legally obligated to report information about a child who is being abused or is at risk of abuse. In general, if you have any information that a child is, or might be, in need of protection from a parent/caregiver or other person, you must report it to a child welfare agency.

    Individuals are responsible for reporting concerns (not proving abuse) and allowing the appropriate authorities to determine how to proceed. Legislation that requires people to report removes any personal or professional dilemma in reporting.

    It is common to minimize or deny what appears to be a disclosure. You might be concerned about interfering, being wrong and causing problems for the family or the accused. Remember, child sexual abuse can be reduced through the action of protective adults, and you have a legal obligation to report your suspicions.


  • What do I do if I have had a sexual abuse experience?

    Reporting your own sexual abuse experience takes a great deal of emotional strength.

    There can be many benefits to reporting your experience. Making a report and allowing the criminal justice system to respond to the situation can be an empowering process that can assist in healing. Your concern about an individual’s continued access to children might also influence your decision to report. Filing a report could eliminate this individual’s access to other children and the potential harm that could come their way.

    Some people find dealing with the criminal justice system and opening up about what occurred a very difficult and painful process. Ultimately, making a report is a decision that only you can make. For more information, contact us.

Agissez!

Vous êtes victime d’abus sexuel? Vous vous faites du souci pour une personne proche?

Quand on a subi un abus sexuel ou que l’on se fait du souci pour une personne proche, on n’a pas toujours envie d’en parler. On peut craindre les réactions d’autrui, craindre d’ébruiter l’affaire, craindre d’avoir tort, craindre de ne pas se mêler de ses affaires... Autant de raisons qui nous empêchent parfois de parler. Sachez que si vous êtes victime d’abus sexuel, vous n’avez rien à vous reprocher. Sachez aussi que si vous craignez qu’un enfant de votre entourage puisse être en situation ou à risque d’abus, vous avez l’obligation de signaler vos inquiétudes (et non de prouver qu’il y a eu abus). Signaler ses inquiétudes est souvent la seule façon de mettre au jour un abus et de protéger les enfants.

Si vous êtes victime d’abus pédosexuel et souhaitez parler à un représentant du Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance, ou si vous ne savez pas ce que vous devriez ou pouvez faire, n’hésitez pas à nous joindre.

Si vous craignez qu’un enfant soit victime d’exploitation sexuelle sur Internet, faites un signalement à Cyberaide.ca. Cyberaide.ca est la centrale canadienne de signalement des cas d’exploitation sexuelle d’enfants sur Internet; elle relève du CCPE. Cyberaide.ca accepte les signalements anonymes.

  • Qu’est-ce qu’un abus pédosexuel?

    De nombreux comportements peuvent constituer un abus pédosexuel. On pense tout de suite aux infractions avec contact, comme les attouchements et les caresses sur les organes génitaux, mais plus subtilement, il y a aussi les infractions sans contact, comme le fait d’exposer un enfant à du matériel sexuellement explicite. Toute infraction sexuelle, avec ou sans contact, peut traumatiser un enfant. Pour en savoir davantage, consultez notre brochure Les abus pédosexuels : ça vous concerne.


  • Qui sont les abuseurs d’enfants?

    Les abuseurs et les exploiteurs d’enfants viennent de tous les milieux et ne sont pas faciles à repérer. Pour protéger les enfants, il faut être à l’affût des comportements et des situations qui comportent des risques. Ne jugez pas seulement une personne à son apparence, à sa personnalité ou à son état matrimonial ou ses antécédents amoureux. Ce n’est pas parce qu’une personne est bien vue pour son engagement social qu’elle serait incapable pour autant d’exploiter sexuellement un enfant ou de lui faire du mal.

    Si vous observez une interaction inappropriée entre un adulte et un enfant, vous devez agir, quel que soit le statut social de l’adulte. Pour vous renseigner sur la marche à suivre et les mesures à prendre, communiquez avec nous.


  • Que dois-je faire si j’ai des suspicions d’abus pédosexuels?

    Dans chaque province et territoire du Canada, il y a des lois qui précisent les circonstances dans lesquelles une personne est légalement tenue de signaler les informations dont elle dispose au sujet d’un enfant en situation ou à risque d’abus. En règle générale, si vous savez qu’un enfant a ou pourrait avoir besoin d’être protégé contre un adulte, un tuteur ou une autre personne, vous devez communiquer ces informations à une agence de protection de l’enfance.

    Tout le monde a l’obligation de signaler ses inquiétudes (et non de prouver qu’il y a eu abus). Les autorités compétentes se chargeront de déterminer la suite des choses. En milieu professionnel, l’obligation légale de signaler lève toute incertitude.

    La banalisation et l’incrédulité sont des réactions courantes face à ce qui semble être un dévoilement d’abus. Vous pourriez craindre de vous mêler de ce qui ne vous regarde pas, d’avoir tort ou de causer des problèmes à la famille ou à la personne accusée. Rappelez-vous que l’intervention d’adultes protecteurs peut permettre de contrer des abus pédosexuels et que vous avez l’obligation légale de signaler vos suspicions.


  • Que dois-je faire si j’ai subi un abus sexuel?

    Il faut beaucoup de courage pour signaler un abus dont on a été victime.

    Mais il y a plusieurs avantages. Faire un signalement et laisser le système de justice pénale prendre les choses en main aide à se ressaisir et à surmonter l’épreuve. L’idée que l’auteur de l’abus soit encore en contact avec des enfants vous incitera peut-être aussi à parler. Votre signalement pourrait faire en sorte d’empêcher cette personne d’avoir accès à d’autres enfants et éventuellement de leur faire du mal.

    Pour certaines personnes, passer par le système de justice pénale et parler de ce qu’elles ont vécu est une expérience très difficile et douloureuse. Au bout du compte, la décision de faire un signalement n’appartient qu’à vous. Contactez-nous pour plus de détails.