Training Opportunities

Kids in the Know Online Training

Kids in the Know (KIK) is an interactive safety education program for increasing the personal safety of children and reducing their risk of sexual victimization both online and offline. Designed for children from kindergarten to high school, it focuses on building safety competence and confidence through teaching critical problem-solving skills. The core foundation of the program is based on 7 Root Safety Strategies and 4 Root Safety Environments.

This program has been purposefully designed to create a common language to help facilitate the way we teach kids about their own personal safety. Recognizing the various stages of child development, the program allows teachers and parents to adapt the lesson plans and activities to meet the individual needs of students.

The KIK online training is designed to assist educators with successful implementation of the KIK program. Users can view the modules in the online training at their own pace to learn about:

  • the goals of the KIK program
  • the teaching methods used in the lessons
  • the 7 Root Safety Strategies that the program is based on
  • what steps to take before starting the program
  • how to introduce the lessons to students in a fun, age-appropriate way

How does the training work?

  1. The KIK online training comes with an introductory presentation about child sexual abuse that explains the prevalence of child sexual abuse in Canada and underscores the importance of teaching child personal safety skills. This introductory presentation includes five modules, totalling 104 minutes, meant to be completed before viewing the modules in the KIK online training.
  2. The KIK online training is delivered through six modules, lasting approximately 40 minutes in total.
  3. Modules can be completed in one or multiple sittings from a computer, tablet or smartphone with access to the Internet.*

* While we use reasonable efforts to ensure the platform is compatible with common devices and operating systems, we cannot guarantee that a particular computer or device will be compatible with the platform. If your computer or device is not compatible, please let us know and we will either address the problem or issue the applicable refund.

How much does the training cost?

The KIK online training is available free of charge to educators who are employed at an educational institution that owns a copy of the KIK program. Obtaining a program is mandatory in order to undertake the online training.*

* Notwithstanding, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection (the “Canadian Centre”) reserves the right to refuse or terminate access to anyone at any time, at its sole discretion. Access to the training will not be granted until the Canadian Centre has satisfactorily confirmed that the educational institution in question owns a copy of the Kids in the Know program. If there is a dispute in this regard, the records of the Canadian Centre shall be taken as accurate and shall govern.

Click here to purchase the Kids in the Know program

How do I get started?

Educational institutions can contact us at 1-800-532-9135 for more information on how to access the online training.

Formation

Formation en ligne Enfants avertis


Enfants avertis est un programme interactif pour apprendre aux enfants à mieux se protéger et à être moins vulnérables à l’exploitation sexuelle en ligne et hors ligne. Conçu pour les enfants de la maternelle jusqu’au secondaire, ce programme développe la compétence et la confiance des enfants en matière d’autoprotection en leur apprenant de précieuses techniques de résolution de problèmes. Il repose sur sept règles essentielles de sécurité et quatre situations qui appellent à la prudence.

Il est spécialement conçu de façon à créer un langage commun qui permet d’apprendre plus facilement aux enfants à prendre leur sécurité en main. Adapté aux différents stades de développement de l’enfant, ce programme permet aux enseignants et aux parents d’adapter les plans de leçon et les activités aux besoins particuliers de chaque enfant.

La formation en ligne Enfants avertis vise à faciliter la tâche des enseignants dans la mise en œuvre du programme Enfants avertis. Les utilisateurs peuvent suivre les modules à leur propre rythme pour se renseigner sur :

  • les objectifs du programme Enfants avertis;
  • les méthodes d’enseignement utilisées dans les leçons;
  • les 7 règles essentielles de sécurité qui forment l’assise du programme;
  • les mesures à prendre avant de commencer le programme;
  • comment présenter les leçons aux élèves d’une manière amusante et adaptée à leur âge.

Fonctionnement de la formation

  1. La formation en ligne Enfants avertis s’accompagne d’une présentation d’introduction sur les abus pédosexuels qui brosse un portrait de la prévalence des abus pédosexuels au Canada et souligne l’importance d’apprendre des techniques d’autoprotection aux enfants. Cette présentation d’introduction compte cinq modules d’une durée totale de 127 minutes; elle précède la formation en ligne Enfants avertis.
  2. La formation en ligne Enfants avertis compte six modules d’une durée totale d’environ 43 minutes.
  3. L’utilisateur peut faire les modules d’un seul coup ou en plusieurs séances, au moyen d’un ordinateur, d’une tablette ou d’un téléphone intelligent muni d’une connexion internet*.

* Même si nous prenons des mesures raisonnables pour que notre plateforme soit compatible avec les appareils et les systèmes d’exploitation usuels, nous ne pouvons garantir sa compatibilité avec tous les ordinateurs ou appareils. Si votre ordinateur ou appareil n’est pas compatible, communiquez avec nous et nous trouverons une solution ou vous rembourserons.

Coût de la formation

La formation en ligne Enfants avertis est offerte gratuitement aux enseignants des écoles qui possèdent un exemplaire programme Enfants avertis. Il est obligatoire de se procurer un exemplaire du programme pour suivre la formation en ligne*.

*Nonobstant ce qui précède, le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (CCPE) se réserve le droit de refuser ou de retirer l’accès à quiconque à tout moment et à sa seule discrétion. L’accès à la formation ne sera accordé que lorsque le CCPE aura pu vérifier que l’établissement d’enseignement en question possède un exemplaire du programme Enfants avertis. En cas de différend à cet égard, les dossiers du CCPE seront considérés comme exacts et auront préséance.

Cliquez ici pour acheter le programme Enfants avertis

Par où commencer?

Les établissements d’enseignement sont priés de nous contacter au 1 800 532-9135 pour se renseigner sur les modalités d’accès à la formation en ligne.