Abducted then Murdered Children: a Canadian Study
Preliminary Results

May 25th, 2016, marks the 30th anniversary of Canada’s participation in International Missing Children’s Day. The Canadian Centre for Child Protection is recognizing this important day by releasing preliminary findings from its report titled Abducted then Murdered Children: A Canadian Study. The purpose of the study is to better understand the demographics of these children and gain insights into the techniques and histories of the offenders – all in an effort to help identify additional prevention and intervention strategies in the area of abducted and murdered children.

While cases of abducted then murdered children are extremely rare, the impacts of such events on communities and the general public are significant. The apparent randomness and heinous nature of such crimes creates an atmosphere of fear and vulnerability, undermining the public’s sense of security.

The study, which is the first of its kind in Canada, examined 155 child victims and 93 offenders. It involved an environmental scan and examination of instances involving the abduction and subsequent murder of a child by someone other than the child’s parent or relative. Some key findings include:

  • The average age of the victims was 11.6 years old, with a significant proportion of victims between the ages of 14 and 16 years old
  • The average offender was 25.9 years old, and 22% were under the age of 18
  • In 68% of the instances where an approximate abduction location could be established, the abduction occurred within the child’s own neighbourhood
  • 36% of instances involved prior contact between the offender and the victim
  • Children appeared to have been taken by force in 18% of the instances
  • In 77% of cases, the offender’s motivation for abducting a child was sexual or presumed sexual
  • In 60% of the cases where time could be determined, 70% of the victims were murdered within 3 hours of abduction
Province Number of Children
British Columbia 46
Ontario 40
Quebec 34
Manitoba 10
Alberta 10
Saskatchewan 8
New Brunswick 3
Nova Scotia 2
Newfoundland 1
Nunavut 1
Total 155

The information gleaned from this study underscores the importance of resources aimed at increasing the personal safety of children. To this end, the Canadian Centre has created a tip sheet for parents, Keeping Children Safe from Abduction.

The Canadian Centre for Child Protection has operated a missing children’s program for the last 30 years (formerly operating as Child Find Manitoba, and now directly affiliated with Child Find Ontario). As a result, our staff had connected with a number of victim families before the study began. Over the course of the study, the Canadian Centre attempted to reach out to additional victim families through police and other contacts. If we have not made contact with you, and you believe that your child may be represented in the study, please contact us.

Les enlèvements d’enfants avec assassinat : Une étude canadienne
résultats préliminaires

Le 25 mai 2016 marque le 30e anniversaire de la participation du Canada à la Journée internationale des enfants disparus. Pour marquer cette journée importante, le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (CCPE) dévoile les résultats préliminaires de son rapport intitulé Les enlèvements d’enfants avec assassinat : Une étude canadienne. Cette étude vise à mieux comprendre les caractéristiques sociodémographiques de ces enfants et à étudier les tactiques et les antécédents des ravisseurs, dans le but de déterminer de nouvelles stratégies de prévention et d’intervention relativement aux enlèvements d’enfants avec assassinat.

Les cas d’enfant avec assassinat sont peut-être extrêmement rares, mais ils ont pour effet de bouleverser les communautés et le grand public. Ces crimes odieux, apparemment commis de façon aléatoire, créent un climat de peur et de vulnérabilité et insécurisent la population.

Cette étude – la première du genre au Canada – porte sur 155 enfants victimes et 93 ravisseurs. Elle prend la forme d’une recension et d’une analyse des cas d’enlèvement avec assassinat d’un enfant par une personne ne faisant pas partie de la famille immédiate de l’enfant. Voici quelques faits saillants :

  • L’âge moyen des victimes est de 11,6 ans, et une bonne partie d’entre elles étaient âgées de 14 à 16 ans.
  • L’âge moyen des ravisseurs est de 25,9 ans, et 22 % d’entre eux étaient âgés de moins de 18 ans.
  • Dans 68 % des cas où le lieu approximatif de l’enlèvement a pu être établi, l’enlèvement est survenu dans le quartier de l’enfant.
  • Dans 36 % des cas, le ravisseur et la victime ont eu des contacts avant l’enlèvement.
  • L’enfant semble avoir été emmené de force dans 18 % des cas.
  • Dans 77 % des cas, l’enfant a été enlevé pour des motifs sexuels ou présumément sexuels.
  • Dans 60 % des cas où il a été possible de déterminer le temps écoulé entre l’enlèvement et l’assassinat, 70 % des victimes ont été assassinées dans les trois heures suivant l’enlèvement.
Province Nombre d’enfants
Colombie-Britannique 46
Ontario 40
Québec 34
Manitoba 10
Alberta 10
Saskatchewan 8
Nouveau-Brunswick 3
Nouvelle-Écosse 2
Terre-Neuve 1
Nunavut 1
Total 155

Les données qui ressortent de cette étude soulignent l’importance de diffuser des ressources visant à mieux protéger les enfants. À cette fin, le CCPE met à la disposition des parents une fiche de conseils intitulée Protéger les enfants contre les enlèvements.

Le CCPE agit dans le dossier des disparitions d’enfants depuis 30 ans (anciennement sous le nom de Child Find Manitoba et maintenant en association directe avec Child Find Ontario). De ce fait, notre personnel avait eu des contacts avec plusieurs familles de victimes avant le début de l’étude. Durant l’étude, le CCPE a tenté de joindre d’autres familles de victimes par l’entremise de la police et d’autres contacts. Si vous n’avez pas eu de nos nouvelles et croyez que votre enfant puisse être représenté dans l’étude, nous vous prions de nous joindre.