News and Media

NEW WEBSITE WILL HELP TEACH TEENS TO PRACTICE SAFE TEXTING

For Immediate Release
November 19, 2010

Mrs. Laureen Harper encourages parents to become text-savvy

Toronto, ON: As a mom of two young children, Mrs. Laureen Harper knows first-hand the importance of teaching today's youth to be safe and responsible texters. Mrs. Harper was on hand at Toronto's Runnymede Junior and Senior Public School today for the Canadian Centre for Child Protection's national launch of textED.ca - an innovative website designed to help teach children safe texting practices.

"It's amazing to think that we live in a time where our children know more about today's technology than we do," said Mrs. Laureen Harper. "It's so important that we become familiar with the technologies our kids use and the risks they face so we are in the best position to help keep them safe. TextED.ca is a great resource to help familiarize parents with today's texting issues, but more importantly, one their children will enjoy and learn from as well."

Designed for students in Grade 7 and higher, the textED.ca website provides a fun, interactive platform for children to learn about the short-term costs and the long-term ramifications associated with texting. The initiative also includes lesson plans designed to help educators teach youth about safe texting and life skills that will allow them to fully benefit from what is now a very public, technological world. All lessons are tied to provincial curriculum outcomes, making them ideal for use in Canadian classrooms.

"Considering the main form of communication for much of today's generation is through text-messaging, the need for safe-texting education is imperative," said Lianna McDonald, Executive Director of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection. "Texting is having an impact at home and in the classroom, and so there is a shared responsibility to teach our kids how to use this technology safely. Like parents, many teachers are struggling with the issues that arise from this technology. It's a completely new area they didn't have to deal with before. TextEd.ca will help them address texting in a fun, interactive way."

"Law enforcement officers, dedicated to online child sexual exploitation investigations across the country, have never been as well trained and equipped as they are today. Even so, we desperately need parents and young people to be more proactive about their online safety," said Det. Sgt. Kim Scanlan, with the Toronto Police Services Child Exploitation Unit.

"Cell phones - and especially text messaging - have become one of the most important tools for Canadian families to stay connected and keep safe," said Bernard Lord, President & CEO of the Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association (CWTA). "But while wireless communications provide convenient and immediate contact, it is essential that young people be educated about the appropriate and responsible use of the technology."

In partnership with the CWTA, the Canadian Centre first launched textED.ca as a pilot project in January 2010. Based on feedback received from teachers, students and other educational professionals in the months that followed, the Canadian Centre made numerous improvements and enhancements to the textED.ca lessons and online components. Included in the changes was the creation of an innovative text-based Rock, Paper, Scissors (RPS) game that also provides users with a safe texting tip following the completion of each game. Any potential text message fees associated with playing this game have been waived by Canadian wireless service providers, so the game is free to all Canadian users. Our thanks to: Bell, Fido, Koodo, MTS, SaskTel, Solo, Rogers, TELUS, Vidéotron and Virgin Mobile for waiving fees and for their ongoing support of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection.

-30-

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Phone:
204-945-8074 (Office)
204-801-2979 (Cell)

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

 

BACKGROUNDER: TEXTED.CA

Concerns surrounding children and teens sending sexual messages, nude photos and videos via text messaging is on the rise, yet the vast majority of kids doing so are unaware of the short-term costs and the long-term ramifications associated with their actions.

Since adolescent behavior is less inhibited with the use of technology, it's important they are aware of the risks and know how to deal with the various situations new technologies present.

textED.ca: a comprehensive in-class and online program that will help educators teach youth about safe texting and life skills that will allow them to fully benefit from what is now a very public, technological world.

While some teachers have introduced safe texting education to their students, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection identified a gap in the delivery of comprehensive text education programming in Canada's schools.

To address this, the Canadian Centre developed the textED.ca program, which consists of an innovative and interactive new website and a series of associated lesson plans for teachers to use with their Grade 7 students. Importantly, all of the lessons are tied to provincial curriculum outcomes, making them ideal for use in classrooms right across the country.

From learning how to deal with textual harassers to helping teens deal with stress or a break-up, the textED.ca website incorporates games, quizzes, discussion pages, and other fun tools to help them navigate through the issues.

In partnership with the Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association, the Canadian Centre first launched textED.ca as a pilot project in January 2010. In total, more than 350 Grade 7 classes took part in the pilot between January 21, 2010 and April 30, 2010.

During that time, 1292 users signed up on the site and 441 teachers signed up for access to the lesson plans. In conjunction with the feedback received from teachers, students and other educational professionals, the Canadian Centre made numerous improvements and enhancements to the textED.ca lessons and online components.

-30-

 

BACKGROUNDER: TEXTING STATISTICS

Texting Stats:

  • In Canada, 4.6 billion peer-to-peer text messages were sent in June 2010. This represents a 10% increase over the last reported March 2010 total of 4.2 billion messages.
  • The total number of person-to-person text messages sent during the first six months of 2010 was 25.7 billion, which already represents 73% of the 2009 total of 35.3 billion.
  • In June 2010, Canadians sent an average of 154.1 million messages per day. This is up from the average 135.4 million messages per day in March 2010.

(Source: Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association, as of October 2010)

 

Teen Texting Stats:

  • The average teen sends 3,339 texts per month. That's more than six texts per waking hour.
  • For teens age 13 to 17, female teens send an average 4,050 texts per month while male teens send an average 2,539 texts per month.
  • These teens are sending eight times more texts than they were this time last year.
  • Other age groups don't come close to this level of texting. The average 18-24-year-old sends only 1,650 texts per month. The average drops further with other age groups.

(Source: The Nielsen Company study released October 2010)

-30-

Actualités et communiqués

UN NOUVEAU SITE INTERNET FACILITERA L'ENSEIGNEMENT DE LA SÉCURITÉ TEXTUELLE AUX ADOS

Pour diffusion immédiate
19 novembre 2010

Mme Laureen Harper encourage les parents à devenir textocompétents

Toronto (Ontario) -- Mère de deux jeunes enfants, Laureen Harper est pleinement consciente de l'importance d'apprendre aux jeunes d'aujourd'hui à être des texteurs prudents et responsables. Mme Harper était à l'école secondaire publique Runnymede de Toronto aujourd'hui pour le lancement national du site EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca. Réalisé par le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance, ce site internet novateur facilite l'enseignement de la sécurité textuelle.

« C'est incroyable de penser que nous vivons à une époque où nos enfants connaissent probablement mieux les technologies d'aujourd'hui que nous, observe Mme Harper. Il est très important que nous apprenions à connaître les technologies que nos enfants utilisent et les dangers qui les guettent afin d'être bien outillés pour veiller sur leur sécurité. EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca est un excellent site pour aider les parents à comprendre les enjeux actuels de la messagerie textuelle, mais aussi - et surtout - un site divertissant et instructif pour leurs enfants. »

Destiné aux élèves de 7e année et plus, EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca est un site divertissant et interactif qui sensibilise les jeunes texteurs aux conséquences à court et à long terme de leurs actes. Cette initiative propose aussi des plans de leçon qui aideront les enseignantes et enseignants à apprendre aux jeunes à texter prudemment et à acquérir des habiletés fondamentales qui leur permettront de s'épanouir pleinement dans un univers désormais très public et technologique. Toutes les leçons s'arriment avec les objectifs des programmes éducatifs provinciaux et peuvent donc être utilisées très facilement par les enseignantes et enseignants de tout le Canada.

« Puisque la messagerie texte est devenue le principal outil de communication d'une bonne partie des jeunes d'aujourd'hui, l'éducation à la sécurité textuelle s'impose comme une nécessité, souligne Lianna McDonald, directrice générale du Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance. Comme la messagerie texte s'utilise autant à l'école qu'à la maison, le personnel enseignant et les parents doivent se partager la responsabilité d'apprendre aux enfants à utiliser cette technologie prudemment. À l'instar des parents, bien des enseignants ne savent trop comment faire face aux enjeux associés à cette technologie. C'est une problématique entièrement nouvelle qu'ils n'ont jamais eue à gérer auparavant. EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca leur offre un moyen divertissant et interactif de s'acquitter de cette tâche. »

« Les agents de police qui enquêtent sur des cas d'exploitation sexuelle d'enfants sur Internet partout au pays n'ont jamais été aussi bien formés et outillés qu'ils le sont aujourd'hui. Malgré tout, il faudrait vraiment que les parents et les jeunes agissent davantage de manière préventive face aux dangers d'Internet », note la sergente-détective Kim Scanlan de la brigade de lutte contre l'exploitation des enfants de la police de Toronto.

« Les téléphones cellulaires, et notamment la messagerie texte, sont devenus des outils de communication et de sécurité très précieux pour les familles, observe Bernard Lord, président et chef de la direction de l'Association canadienne des télécommunications sans fil (ACTS). Il est vrai que le sans fil est un moyen de communication pratique et instantané, mais il est essentiel d'apprendre aux jeunes à utiliser cette technologie convenablement et de manière responsable. »

En partenariat avec l'ACTS, le Centre canadien a d'abord lancé EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca sous la forme d'un projet pilote en janvier 2010. Les commentaires reçus des enseignants, des élèves et d'autres professionnels de l'enseignement dans les mois qui ont suivi ont permis au Centre canadien d'apporter de nombreuses améliorations aux leçons et aux modules en ligne d'EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca Parmi les nouveautés, mentionnons la création d'une version modernisée du jeu Roche-Papier-Ciseaux sur messagerie instantanée qui donne aux joueurs un conseil de sécurité textuelle à la fin de chaque partie. Les opérateurs de téléphonie cellulaire canadiens accordent une exemption de frais pour les échanges de textos dans le cadre de ce jeu; le jeu est donc gratuit pour tous les utilisateurs canadiens. Merci à Bell, Fido, Koodo, MTS, SaskTel, Solo, Rogers, TELUS, Vidéotron et Virgin Mobile pour cette exemption de frais et pour leur soutien indéfectible au Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance.

-30-

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca

 

DOCUMENT D'INFORMATION : EDUCATIONTEXTUELLE.CA

Les messages sexuels et les images de nudité que les jeunes se transmettent par messagerie texte suscitent une inquiétude grandissante, et pourtant, la grande majorité des jeunes qui le font sont inconscients de conséquences immédiates de leurs actes et des risques à long terme.

Puisque les adolescents se laissent aller plus facilement avec la technologie, il est important qu'ils connaissent les risques et qu'ils sachent comment faire face aux situations auxquelles la technologie pourrait les confronter.

EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca: un vaste programme d'éducation en classe et en ligne qui aidera les enseignantes et enseignants à apprendre aux jeunes à texter prudemment et à acquérir des habiletés fondamentales qui leur permettront de s'épanouir pleinement dans un univers désormais très public et technologique.

Bien que certains enseignants sensibilisent déjà leurs élèves à la sécurité textuelle, le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance constate l'absence d'un programme complet d'éducation textuelle dans les écoles canadiennes.

C'est ce qui a amené le Centre canadien à élaborer le programme EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca, qui prend la forme d'un nouveau site internet novateur et interactif accompagné d'un ensemble de plans de leçon à l'usage des enseignants de la 7e année (1re secondaire). Il faut souligner que les leçons s'arriment avec les objectifs des programmes éducatifs provinciaux et peuvent donc être utilisées très facilement par les enseignantes et enseignants de tout le Canada.

Le site EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca explique comment contrer le harcèlement et faire face au stress ou à une rupture; il propose des jeux, des quiz, des forums, des téléchargeables et d'autres outils attrayants pour sensibiliser les jeunes.

En partenariat avec l'Association canadienne des télécommunications sans fil, le Centre canadien a d'abord lancé EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca sous la forme d'un projet pilote en janvier 2010. En tout, plus de 350 classes de 7e année ont pris part au projet pilote entre le 21 janvier et le 30 avril 2010.

Durant cette période, 1 292 utilisateurs se sont enregistrés sur le site et 441 enseignants se sont inscrits pour obtenir les plans de leçon. Les commentaires des enseignants, des élèves et d'autres professionnels de l'enseignement ont permis au Centre canadien d'apporter de nombreuses améliorations aux leçons et aux modules en ligne d'EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca.

-30-

 

DOCUMENT D'INFORMATION : LE TEXTAGE EN CHIFFRES

Statistiques sur le textage :

  • Au Canada, il s'est envoyé 4,6 milliards de textos en juin 2010. Cela représente une hausse de 10 % par rapport aux 4,2 milliards de messages envoyés en mars 2010.
  • Le nombre total de textos échangés de personne à personne durant la première moitié de l'année 2010 s'élève à 25,7 milliards, ce qui représente déjà 73 % du total de 35,3 milliards de textos pour l'année 2009.
  • En juin 2010, les Canadiens ont envoyé en moyenne 154,1 milliards de textos par jour. Ce chiffre est en hausse par rapport à la moyenne de 135,4 milliards de textos par jour enregistrée en mars 2010.

(Source : Association canadienne des télécommunications sans fil, en date d'octobre 2010)

 

Statistiques sur le textage chez les ados :

  • L'adolescent moyen envoie 3 339 textos par mois. C'est plus de six textos à l'heure du matin au soir.
  • Chez les adolescents de 13 à 17 ans, les filles envoient en moyenne 4 050 textos par mois contre 2 539 pour les garçons.
  • Les adolescents envoient huit fois plus de textos qu'à pareille date l'an dernier.
  • Chez les autres tranches d'âge, on texte beaucoup moins. Les personnes de 18-24 ans n'envoient en moyenne que 1 650 textos par mois. La moyenne est encore plus basse chez les autres tranches d'âge.

(Source : étude publiée par The Nielsen Company en octobre 2010)

-30-