News and Media

THREE-YEAR SEARCH FOR MISSING GIRL COMES TO AN END THANKS TO CRITICAL 9-1-1 CALL

Press Release
For immediate distribution

Pearl Rose Gavaghan Da Massa
Missing Since 2008 is Reunited With Her Father!


Da Massa Montreal, September 27, 2011 - Thanks to the observant eye of a stranger in Montreal, a 7 year old girl from Manchester, England has been reunited with her father. The Missing Children's Network and the Canadian Centre for Child Protection made the announcement today, following Mr. Henry Da Massa and daughter Pearl's safe return home yesterday morning.

Pearl Rose and her mother were last seen back on December 8, 2008 when the mom picked up her daughter from her Manchester (England) nursery school and fled the country in defiance of a court order that granted both parents shared custody. On September 16th, a very relieved but ecstatic father received the wonderful news that Montreal Police discovered Pearl when the mother was arrested following suspicious behavior reported by a concerned citizen. The police check confirmed that they were living in Montreal under assumed names. A more in-depth investigation by police and Immigration Canada officials revealed that the mother was the object of an international child abduction hunt.

The Canadian Centre for Child Protection (MissingKids.ca) had been working closely with Henry for almost 2 years, supporting him and assisting in the search for Pearl. "I would like to extend my thanks to the dedicated team at MissingKids.ca who provided ongoing support to me throughout this ordeal", said Da Massa. Christy Dzikowicz, Director of MissingKids.ca would like to thank all those who assisted in the search for Pearl. "It is critical that Canadians keep missing children's stories in the public eye. We are grateful to all of our partners for all their efforts in ensuring that the search for Pearl stayed strong. MissingKids.ca is so proud of our partnership with the Missing Children's Network, who immediately stepped in and provided this family with the support necessary for a successful reunification."

Upon arrival in Montreal, Mr. Da Massa immediately began working with the Missing Children's Network and the reunification process with his daughter began. On Wednesday, September 21, the moment that Henry Da Massa had been dreaming of was finally here ... he saw his little girl for the first time in nearly three years! On Sunday night, Mr. Da Massa and his daughter Pearl boarded a flight and returned home to England.

"I would like to thank the Missing Children's Network for their invaluable assistance in the delicate matter of ensuring Pearl's safe-keeping and ensuring excellent communication between the countless departments and agencies involved in returning Pearl to England in the most sensitive way possible under the circumstances. The Missing Children's Network provided immeasurable support to both Pearl and I during an incredibly complex series of events and were ultimately the hinge around which the entire matter turned." said Da Massa.

"The Missing Children's Network would like to thank the gentleman who placed the 9-1-1- call to authorities," said Pina Arcamone, Director General. "This person was sitting next to the mother and daughter and observed rather unusual behavior between them. When they stepped off the subway, he decided to follow them and as his concerns grew, he placed that one important call. Thanks to his vigilance, Henry's nightmare is finally over!"

The Missing Children's Network and the Canadian Centre for Child Protection wish to extend their thanks and appreciation to the following partners who worked so diligently to make this reunification possible: The Montreal Police Service, Immigration Canada, Central Authority in Quebec and the UK, Batshaw Social Services, Me Sonia Heyeur, Dr. Luc Morin, Manchester Police and the RCMP.


About the Missing Children's Network:

Founded in 1985, the Missing Children's Network is the only non-profit organization in Quebec that provides front-line services to families who are searching for their missing child. Our staff accompanies, supports and counsels these families by working collaboratively with law enforcement agencies, other child search organizations, as well as the media. In addition, the Missing Children's Network offers comprehensive educational and prevention programs designed especially for children, parents and professionals.

The Missing Children's Network works in collaboration with law enforcement agencies in the province, is a recognized partner of the Our Missing Children's program, and is also a member of the Association of Missing and Exploited Children's Organizations (AMECO). As well, the Missing Children's Network is proud to work in collaboration with Missingkids.ca to provide case management support to Francophone parents/guardians searching for their missing child.


About the Canadian Centre for Child Protection:

The Canadian Centre for Child Protection is a charitable organization dedicated to the personal safety of all children. Our goal is to reduce child victimization by providing programs and services to Canadians. We do this through public awareness activities, our personal safety education program (kidsintheknow.ca), our national tipline to report online sexual abuse of children (Cybertip.ca), our program to help organizations prevent child sexual abuse (commit2kids.ca), and our national missing children resource centre (MissingKids.ca).


MissingKids.ca offers:

  • A central place for families to register their missing child to request support from a trained caseworker in the search for their child
  • Educational materials to help prevent children from going missing
  • Innovative online and offline search tools
  • Access to a community response plan to help guide communities on how best to assist in the search for a missing child
  • The option to receive missing child alerts so individuals may become a part of the search for our missing children

-30-

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Phone:
204-945-8074
204-801-2979 (Cell)

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

Actualités et communiqués

Enlevée par sa mère en 2008, Pearl Rose est de retour avec son père grâce à un appel logé au 9-1-1!

Communiqué
Pour diffusion immédiate

Da Massa Montréal, le 27 septembre 2011 - Grâce à la vigilance d'un Montréalais, une jeune fille âgée de 7 ans de Manchester en Angleterre a pu retrouver son père. Enfant-Retour Québec et le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance ont annoncé la nouvelle ce matin suite au retour à la maison de Monsieur Henry Da Massa et de sa fille Pearl.

Pearl Rose et sa mère avaient été vues pour la dernière fois le 8 décembre 2008, alors que cette dernière était allée chercher sa fille à la garderie (située à Manchester en Angleterre) et avait quitté le pays avec elle, malgré une ordonnance de cour mentionnant une garde partagée. Le 16 septembre dernier, le père de la jeune fille a été informé que, suite à des informations reçus d'un citoyen, la police de Montréal avait retrouvé Pearl et que sa mère avait été arrêtée. Les vérifications effectuées par les policiers ont confirmé que la mère et la fille vivaient à Montréal sous de fausses identités. Une enquête plus approfondie effectuée conjointement par la police de Montréal et Immigration Canada a révélé que la mère était recherchée pour enlèvement d'enfant international.

Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance (EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca) a travaillé étroitement avec le père pendant près de 2 ans, supportant ce dernier dans ses recherches. « Je désire remercier sincèrement toute l'équipe d'EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca pour leur support pendant toute cette période », a affirmé monsieur Da Massa. Christy Dzikowicz, directrice d'EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca aimerait remercier toutes les personnes qui ont participé aux recherches. « Il est essentiel de garder l' œil ouvert en matière de disparitions d'enfants. Nous sommes reconnaissants envers tous nos partenaires pour les efforts déployés pour retrouver Pearl ». EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca est fier de sa collaboration avec Enfant-Retour Québec qui s'est immédiatement impliqué dans le processus de réunification.

Dès son arrivée à Montréal, monsieur Da Massa était assis dans les bureaux d'Enfant-Retour Québec où le processus de réunification avec sa fille a débuté. Mercredi le 21 septembre, le moment tant attendu par ce papa est enfin arrivé : il a pu revoir sa petite fille pour la première fois en près de 3 ans! Dimanche soir, monsieur Da Massa et sa fille Pearl se sont envolés vers l'Angleterre.

« J'aimerais remercier Enfant-Retour Québec pour le travail extraordinaire qu'ils ont effectué afin d'assurer le bien-être de Pearl et les communications constantes entre les différentes agences gouvernementales impliquées dans la gestion de notre retour en Angleterre. Enfant-Retour Québec nous a offert un support constant pendant toute la durée du processus, en plus d'assurer la liaison entre tous les intervenants », a mentionné monsieur Da Massa.

« Enfant-Retour Québec aimerait remercier l'homme qui a logé l'appel au 9-1-1 », a souligné Pina Arcamone, directrice générale de l'organisme. « Cet homme était assis près de la mère et de la fille dans le métro lorsqu'il a observé un comportement étrange de leur part. Lorsqu'elles sont sorties du wagon, il les a suivies, et voyant que les comportements étranges se poursuivaient, il a placé l'appel qui a fait la différence. Grâce à la vigilance de cet homme, le cauchemar de ce père est maintenant terminé! »

Enfant-Retour Québec et le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance désirent également remercier les partenaires suivants: le SPVM, Immigration Canada, les autorités centrales du Québec et de la Grande-Bretagne, les services sociaux Batshaw, Maître Sonia Heyeur, le Dr Luc Morin, la police de Manchester ainsi que la Gendarmerie royale du Canada.


À propos d'Enfant-Retour Québec

Fondé en 1985, Enfant-Retour Québec est le seul organisme québécois qui s'est donné pour mission d'assister les familles dans la recherche de leur enfant porté disparu et de contribuer, par l'éducation du public, à la diminution des disparitions d'enfants. Au fil des années, l'organisme a développé une expertise unique en matière d'éducation populaire visant la prévention des enlèvements et des agressions et l'exploitation des enfants.

Enfant-Retour Québec travaille en collaboration avec les agences d'application de la loi du Québec, est fier partenaire du programme Nos enfants disparus et est aussi membre de l'AMECO (Association of Missing and Exploited Children's Organizations). De plus, Enfant-Retour Québec est fier de travailler en collaboration avec enfantsportesdisparus.ca en offrant des services aux familles francophones de l'extérieur du Québec qui sont à la recherche d'un enfant porté disparu.


À propos du Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance

Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance est un organisme caritatif voué à la sécurité personnelle des enfants. Notre but est de réduire la violence faite aux enfants par l'entremise de programmes et de services destinés à la population canadienne. Notre action se manifeste par nos activités de sensibilisation, notre programme d'éducation à la sécurité personnelle (enfantsavertis.ca), notre centrale nationale de signalement des cas d'exploitation sexuelle d'enfants sur Internet (Cyberaide.ca), notre programme de prévention des abus pédosexuels destiné aux organismes (prioritejeunesse.ca) et notre nouveau centre de ressources national sur les disparitions d'enfants (EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca).


EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca offre:

  • Un endroit centralisé permettant aux familles d'inscrire leur enfant porté disparu dans le but de recevoir du soutien de professionnels qualifiés dans la recherche de leur enfant
  • Du matériel éducatif sur la prévention des disparitions d'enfants
  • Des outils innovateurs en ligne et hors ligne
  • L'accès à un plan d'intervention conçu pour guider les communautés à mieux aider lors de la recherche d'un enfant disparu
  • L'option de recevoir les alertes de disparition d'enfants pour permettre aux individus de participer à la recherche de nos enfants disparus.

-30-

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca