News and Media


October 21st, 2010
For Immediate Release

The most important thing children can bring with them this Halloween is a Buddy

WINNIPEG, MB: Soon ghosts, goblins and ghouls will be roaming a street near you, and the Canadian Centre for Child Protection would like to remind parents and children this Halloween that two is better than one. More important than finding that perfect costume, teaching children to pair up with a buddy is a very necessary part of the Halloween ritual that goes a long way in helping keep kids safe.

To help parents teach their kids the importance of always having another individual accompany them when they're out trick-or-treating, the Canadian Centre has created the Billy Brings his Buddies Halloween Game. Designed to help teach kids about the buddy system safety habit, the online game lets children first select a costume for Billy and then find an appropriate buddy for him to bring along through a Haunted House Matching Game. (Parents can access the game at

"Children who travel alone are at a greater risk of being harmed. On a night like Halloween, when kids may be walking to unfamiliar areas in the dark, it's important they take steps to reduce their risk of victimization," said Lianna McDonald, Executive Director of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection. "Learning the Buddy System through the interactive online Billy game is a fun way for kids to be taught about this important safety habit and an important step towards increasing their safety this Halloween."

"It's important that kids have both a fun and safe Halloween, and what better way to achieve this goal with today's generation than by using an online game to help teach them about the Buddy System," said Tom Buckmaster, President, Honeywell Hometown Solutions. "Honeywell is proud to partner with the Canadian Centre for Child Protection on this very important program that is helping parents across Canada teach their children a valuable personal safety strategy."

The Billy Brings his Buddies Halloween Game is part of the Billy Brings his Buddies program. This program was designed to be used with children at the Grade 1 level and includes a teacher kit with a lesson plan and in-class safety poster, an online storybook and activities, and take-home activities for children to complete with their parents. For the fifth consecutive year, the Canadian Centre - with support from Honeywell - is distributing Billy Brings his Buddies Grade 1 teacher kits free-of-charge to nearly 11,000 Canadian schools this fall.


If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

204-801-2979 (Cell)

Actualités et communiqués

COSTUME? OUI. BONBONS? OUI. AMI? OUI!

21 octobre 2010
Pour diffusion immédiate

Rien n'est plus indispensable qu'un ami-accompagnateur à l'Halloween

WINNIPEG (MANITOBA) : Des fantômes, des créatures maléfiques et des vampires déambuleront bientôt dans votre quartier, et le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance profite de l'occasion pour rappeler aux parents et aux enfants qu'à l'Halloween, deux, c'est mieux. Trouver le parfait costume est une chose, mais il est encore plus important d'apprendre aux enfants à passer l'Halloween à deux : c'est là un élément essentiel du rituel de l'Halloween et une mesure efficace pour la sécurité des enfants.

Pour aider les parents à apprendre à leurs enfants l'importance de toujours avoir un ami-accompagnateur à leurs côtés pour passer l'Halloween, le Centre canadien a créé le jeu Martin ne sort pas seul à l'Halloween. Dans ce jeu de maison hantée, les enfants choisissent d'abord un costume pour Martin et lui trouvent un ami convenable pour passer l'Halloween. (Les parents trouveront ce jeu sur martinetsonami.ca.)

« Les enfants qui se déplacent seuls sont plus vulnérables. Le soir de l'Halloween, par exemple, les enfants circulent en pleine obscurité dans des rues qu'ils n'ont pas toujours l'habitude de fréquenter; il est donc important de prendre des mesures pour assurer leur sécurité, souligne Lianna McDonald, directrice générale du Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance. Martin ne sort pas seul à l'Halloween est un jeu en ligne interactif et amusant qui apprend aux enfants un principe de sécurité important que l'on appelle le principe de la compagnie des amis et qui s'avère une mesure efficace pour la sécurité des enfants à l'Halloween. »

« Nous voulons que les enfants s'amusent en toute sécurité à l'Halloween, et pour ce faire, il n'y a pas meilleur moyen que le jeu en ligne pour apprendre aux enfants d'aujourd'hui le principe de la compagnie des amis, observe Tom Buckmaster, président d'Honeywell Hometown Solutions. Honeywell est fière de s'associer au Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance dans le cadre de ce très important programme qui aide les parents de tout le Canada à apprendre à leurs enfants une règle efficace de sécurité personnelle. »

Martin ne sort pas seul à l'Halloween fait partie du programme Martin ne sort pas seul. Destiné aux enfants de 1re année, ce programme comporte une trousse de l'enseignant et un plan de leçon, une affiche murale pour la classe, un livre d'histoire et des activités en ligne ainsi que des activités parents-enfants à faire à la maison. Grâce au soutien de Honeywell, le Centre canadien distribuera gratuitement des trousses Martin ne sort pas seul au personnel enseignant de 1re année dans près de 11 000 écoles canadiennes cet automne.

-30-

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca