News and Media

GETTING KIDS WHERE THEY'RE GOING SAFELY

Canadian Centre for Child Protection announces new public awareness campaign with support from CIBC

WINNIPEG, 24 June 2009: Get your kids where they're going. That's the message the Canadian Centre for Child Protection is sending to parents in a provocative new campaign released today. The advertising prompts parents to ask themselves important questions about their own children's personal safety. The goal of the campaign is to remind parents of the major role they play in ensuring children reach their full potential - growing up smart, strong and safe.

The pan-Canadian campaign, developed with the support of CIBC, will include billboards and television and radio advertisements and is being released this week to coincide with the start of summer holidays - a time when children spend more time participating in unstructured activities and go on trips outside of their normal environments.

"Summer is an exciting time for children, but it also brings with it risks. Families travel to unfamiliar places, older children are often left on their own during the days and younger children spend more time outdoors, often unsupervised," said Lianna McDonald, Executive Director. "While these are healthy experiences for children, parents need to realize there can be dangers, so that they can, in turn, educate their children."

Recent Canadian cases also underscore the need for parents to be vigilant and involved in talking to their children about personal safety. Being mindful of situations and behaviour that seem odd and trusting those instincts can greatly assist in the protection of children.

"The protection of children is such an important issue and this campaign will help to raise awareness of the Centre and their critical work in safeguarding our children all across Canada," said Christina Kramer, Executive Vice-President, CIBC Retail Markets. "Helping youth achieve their full potential is a pillar of our community investment program and CIBC has long been committed to the well-being of children. We are especially proud to support the Canadian Centre for Child Protection in their efforts to keep children safe. "

Parents are encouraged to visit www.protectchildren.ca to gather more information on keeping kids safe. The public can view tips from the Centre's Kids in the Know program for increasing the personal safety of children and reducing their risk of sexual exploitation. Safety strategies at www.kidsintheknow.ca are age specific and developmentally appropriate.

For more information or to access prevention materials and educational programs parents/guardians can call the Canadian Centre toll-free at 1-800-532-9135 or visit the Centre's website at www.protectchildren.ca.

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Phone:
204-945-8074
204-801-2979 (Cell)

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

Actualités et communiqués

MENEZ VOS ENFANTS AU BOUT DE LEURS RÊVES EN TOUTE SÉCURITÉ

Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance lance une nouvelle campagne de sensibilisation avec le soutien de la CIBC

WINNIPEG, le 24 juin 2009 - Menez vos enfants au bout de leurs rêves : c'est le message que le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance envoie aux parents à travers une nouvelle campagne-choc dévoilée aujourd'hui. Cette campagne appelle les parents à se poser d'importantes questions sur la sécurité personnelle de leurs enfants. Elle a pour objectif de rappeler aux parents qu'ils ont un grand rôle à jouer pour amener leurs enfants à réaliser leur plein potentiel et à faire preuve d'intelligence, d'assurance et de prudence.

Cette campagne pancanadienne, préparée avec le soutien de la CIBC, sera véhiculée sur des panneaux publicitaires et par des annonces à la télévision et à la radio. Son lancement cette semaine coïncide avec le début des vacances d'été : période où les enfants s'adonnent plus souvent à des activités non structurées et sortent de leurs milieux habituels.

« L'été est une période magnifique pour les enfants, mais il faut aussi penser aux risques. Les familles se rendent à des endroits inhabituels, les grands enfants sont souvent laissés à eux-mêmes le jour, et les plus jeunes passent plus de temps dehors, souvent sans supervision, observe Lianna McDonald, directrice générale. Cela permet aux enfants de vivre des expériences enrichissantes, mais les parents doivent prendre conscience des dangers pour ensuite alerter leurs enfants. »

Des incidents récents survenus au Canada soulignent en outre qu'il est important que les parents exercent une vigilance et prennent le temps d'expliquer les règles de sécurité personnelle à leurs enfants. Être alerte aux situations et aux comportements qui semblent anormaux et savoir écouter son instinct contribuent grandement à protéger les enfants.

« La protection de l'enfance est une question primordiale. Cette campagne aidera à faire connaître le Centre et sa contribution fondamentale à la sécurité des enfants partout au Canada, affirme Christina Kramer, vice-présidente à la direction, Marchés de détail CIBC. Aider les jeunes à réaliser leur plein potentiel fait partie des priorités de notre programme d'investissement communautaire, et la Banque CIBC se soucie depuis longtemps du bien-être des enfants. Nous sommes particulièrement fiers d'appuyer le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance dans ses efforts pour assurer la sécurité des enfants. »

Les parents sont invités à visiter le www.protegeonsnosenfants.ca pour se renseigner davantage sur la sécurité des enfants. Le programme Enfants avertis dispense des conseils pour renforcer la sécurité personnelle des enfants et réduire leur vulnérabilité à l'exploitation sexuelle. Le site www.enfantsavertis.ca donne des consignes de sécurité adaptées à l'âge et au stade de développement des enfants.

Pour des compléments d'information ou pour profiter du matériel de prévention et des programmes du Centre, les parents et les responsables d'enfants sont invités à composer sans frais le 1 800 532-9135 ou à consulter le www.protegeonsnosenfants.ca.

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca