News and Media

Dominic and Abby Maryk Safely Returned Home

May 28, 2012: The Canadian Centre for Child Protection (Canadian Centre) would like to thank the Winnipeg Police Service and Mexican authorities for their outstanding efforts in locating and safely returning Dominic (age 11) and Abby Maryk (age 9) to their mom, Emily Cablek. The hard work and dedication of many over the years has resulted in this case coming to a positive conclusion.

These two children had been missing since August 2008, when their father failed to return them from a court-ordered visitation. The Canadian Centre, through its national missing children resource and response centre (MissingKids.ca) has been working closely with Emily (mom) and law enforcement on the case since that time.

Our heartfelt thanks also goes out to the individual who, after recognizing the children, submitted a tip that ultimately led to the recovery of Dominic and Abby. We know that 1 in 6 missing children is located as a direct result of someone recognizing them from a photo. Please visit MissingKidsALERT.ca today to sign up to receive alerts when a child goes missing in your community. Together, we can help bring our missing children home.

Statement from Emily Cablek, mom of Dominic and Abby:

“I cannot put into words how grateful I am for all the wonderful support I received from the community over the past 3 years. I want to thank the Winnipeg police missing persons unit for their amazing persistence and to the Canadian Centre for Child Protection for standing by me and guiding me through the worst 45 months of my life. You all helped me stay strong for the most important moment of my life, for that you will always be in my heart and a part of my family. I am the happiest mommy in the world right now, and am asking PLEASE give my family some privacy so that we can begin to heal. We still have a long road ahead and I want my children to feel completely safe through it all... they deserve nothing less.”

Click here to read the Winnipeg Police Service News Release.

Actualités et communiqués

Dominic et Abby Maryk ramenés à leur mère sains et saufs

28 mai 2012: Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance tient à remercier le Service de police de Winnipeg et les autorités mexicaines pour les efforts exceptionnels qu’ils ont déployés pour retrouver Dominic (11 ans) et Abby Maryk (9 ans) et les ramener sains et saufs à leur mère, Emily Cablek. Les efforts et la détermination de nombreuses personnes au fil des ans ont permis de mener cette affaire à un dénouement heureux.

Ces deux enfants furent portés disparus en août 2008, après que leur père eût omis de les ramener au foyer après une visite autorisée. Depuis lors, le Centre canadien travaillait étroitement avec leur mère Emily et la police dans ce dossier, par l’entremise de son centre national de ressources et d’intervention sur les enfants disparus (EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca).

Nous remercions du fond du cœur la personne qui a reconnu Dominic et Abby sur des photos et a fourni aux autorités l’information qui a mené à leur découverte. Un enfant disparu sur six est retrouvé après avoir été reconnu sur une photo. Inscrivez-vous tout de suite sur le site AlerteEnfantsDisparus.ca pour recevoir des alertes en cas de disparition d’enfants dans votre région. Unissons nos efforts pour ramener nos enfants disparus à la maison.

Déclaration d’Emily Cablek, mère de Dominic et d’Abby :

“« Les mots me manquent pour vous témoigner toute ma reconnaissance pour l’extraordinaire soutien que vous m’avez donné au cours des trois dernières années. Je tiens à remercier la Police de Winnipeg et son escouade des personnes disparues pour leur formidable acharnement. Je remercie également le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance, qui m’a soutenue et accompagnée durant les 45 pires mois de ma vie. Vous m’avez tous aidée à rester forte pour le plus important moment de ma vie, et pour cela vous aurez toujours une place dans mon cœur et dans ma famille. Je suis la maman la plus heureuse du monde en ce moment, et je vous IMPLORE de respecter notre intimité pour nous permettre de panser nos plaies. Nous avons encore beaucoup de chemin à faire et je tiens à ce que mes enfants se sentent en parfaite sécurité durant ce processus… ils ne méritent rien de moins. »