News and Media

HELP IS NEEDED TO BRING DOMINIC AND ABBY HOME

Siblings, missing for one year, the victims of parental abduction

August 12, 2009

WINNIPEG, MB - The Canadian Centre for Child Protection, along with the Winnipeg Police Service and the National Centre for Missing and Exploited Children are requesting the public's assistance in locating two missing children from Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada - 8 year old Dominic MARYK and 6 year old Abby MARYK, who were believed to be abducted by their biological father one year ago. August 16, 2009 will mark the one year anniversary since these children were last seen by their mother Emily CABLEK.

Dominic and Abby were on a holiday with their 38-year-old father Kevin MARYK at the time of their disappearance. Investigators believe they remain in their father's custody at this time and that they may have been taken out of Canada.

Investigators also believe that Kevin MARYK may be in the company of his 20-year-old nephew, Cody MCKAY. MCKAY, who was living with his uncle, disappeared at the same time this alleged abduction occurred and is thought to be an accomplice.

Winnipeg Police Service has issued Canada wide warrants for Kevin MARYK for abduction in contravention of a court order (x 2) and conspiracy to commit an indictable offence (x 2). A Canada wide warrant has also been issued for Cody MCKAY for conspiracy to commit an indictable offence (x 2).

"There's a good chance the people who know Kevin and Cody, know something. Whether they have talked or texted, the likelihood that there has been some connection is high," said Christy Dzikowicz, Director of Missing Children Services at the Canadian Centre for Child Protection. "These individuals must put the needs and safety of the children first and come forward. They also need to realize that by not doing so, they could be held accountable by authorities. They will also have to explain their actions and inactions to Dominic and Abby someday."

Kevin MARYK is described as Caucasian, 5' 10" tall and weighing 205 lbs. He has a fair complexion and hazel eyes. At the time of the abduction he had a shaved head and goatee. Cody MCKAY is described as Caucasian, 5' 4" tall and weighing 160 lbs. He has a dark complexion and brown eyes. At the time of the abduction he was clean shaven with medium length dark hair. It is important to note, however that their appearances may have changed over the last year.

Photos and descriptions of the children and the suspects can be found by visiting http://www.protectchildren.ca/app/en/maryk.

Law enforcement investigators suspect that acquaintances, friends, or even family members may have knowledge as to the whereabouts of MARYK, MCKAY and the children. Certain people may also be enabling them to stay hidden from the authorities by providing them with shelter or financial support. These people are now being asked to come forward and provide the necessary information required to bring Dominic and Abby back home to their mother. Citizens wishing to remain anonymous are encouraged to provide information through the Crime Stoppers program or through the National Centre for Missing and Exploited Children.

Anyone with information regarding this matter may contact authorities through one of the following phone numbers:

  • National Centre for Missing and Exploited Children at 1-800-THE-LOST (1-800-843-5678)
  • Crime Stoppers at 1-800-222-8477 (callers may remain anonymous)
  • The Winnipeg Police Service - Missing Persons Unit at 204-986-6250,
  • The Winnipeg Police non-emergency line at 204-986-6222

The Canadian Centre for Child Protection, the Winnipeg Police Service and the National Centre for Missing and Exploited Children are also requesting that all media agencies forward this release to their colleagues across North America if possible.

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Phone:
204-945-8074
204-801-2979 (Cell)

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

Actualités et communiqués

APPEL À L'AIDE : RAMENONS DOMINIC ET ABBY À LA MAISON

Deux enfants disparus depuis un an, victimes d'enlèvement parental

12 août 2009

WINNIPEG (MANITOBA) -- Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance, le Service de police de Winnipeg et le National Center for Missing & Exploited Children lancent un appel à l'aide à la population pour retrouver deux enfants disparus de Winnipeg, au Manitoba (Canada). Dominic MARYK, 8 ans, et Abby MARYK, 6 ans, auraient été enlevés par leur père biologique il y a un an. Le 16 août 2009 marquera le premier anniversaire du jour où leur mère les a vus pour la dernière fois.

Au moment de leur disparition, Dominic et Abby étaient en vacances avec leur père, Kevin MARYK, âgé de 38 ans. Les enquêteurs croient qu'ils sont toujours entre les mains de leur père et qu'ils pourraient avoir quitté le Canada.

Les enquêteurs pensent aussi que Kevin MARYK pourrait être accompagné de son neveu de 20 ans, Cody MCKAY. Ce dernier, qui habitait avec son oncle, est disparu au moment de l'enlèvement présumé et est soupçonné de complicité.

Le Service de police de Winnipeg a lancé des mandats d'arrestation pancanadiens contre Kevin MARYK pour enlèvement en contravention à une ordonnance (deux chefs) et complot en vue de commettre un acte criminel (deux chefs). Un mandat pancanadien a aussi été lancé contre Cody MCKAY pour complot en vue de commettre un acte criminel (deux chefs).

« Les gens qui connaissent Kevin et Cody savent probablement quelque chose. La probabilité qu'ils aient communiqué par téléphone ou messagerie texte est élevée, affirme Christy Dzikowicz, directrice des Services pour les enfants disparus du Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance. Ces personnes doivent penser à la sécurité et au bien-être des enfants avant tout et déclarer ce qu'elles savent aux autorités. Elles doivent aussi comprendre qu'en se taisant, elles pourraient faire face à des accusations, et qu'elles pourraient un jour devoir justifier leurs gestes et leurs décisions devant Dominic et Abby. »

Kevin MARYK est un homme de race blanche mesurant 1,78 m et pesant 93 kg. Il a le teint pâle et les yeux noisette. Au moment de l'enlèvement, il avait la tête rasée et une barbichette. Cody MCKAY est aussi un homme de race blanche, il mesure 1,63 m et pèse 73 kg. Il a la peau foncée et les yeux bruns. Au moment de l'enlèvement, il était fraîchement rasé, et ses cheveux foncés étaient mi-longs. Soulignons toutefois qu'ils peuvent avoir changé d'apparence en un an.

Des photos et des descriptions des enfants et des suspects sont publiées au http://www.protectchildren.ca/app/fr/maryk.

Les enquêteurs pensent que l'entourage des deux hommes, leurs amis et même des membres de la famille pourraient savoir où sont MARYK, MCKAY et les enfants. Certains pourraient même les aider à se cacher en les hébergeant ou en les aidant financièrement. On demande maintenant à ces personnes de briser le silence et de fournir les renseignements qui permettront aux autorités policières de ramener Dominic et Abby à leur mère. Il est possible de conserver l'anonymat en donnant de l'information par l'intermédiaire du programme Échec au crime ou en communiquant avec le National Center for Missing & Exploited Children.

Toute personne qui détient des renseignements dans ce dossier est priée de communiquer avec les autorités compétentes à l'un des numéros suivants :

  • National Center for Missing & Exploited Children : 1-800-THE-LOST (1 800 843-5678)
  • Échec au crime : 1 800 222-8477 (anonymat préservé sur demande)
  • Unité des personnes disparues du Service de police de Winnipeg : 204 986-6250,
  • Ligne pour affaires non urgentes du Service de police de Winnipeg : 204 986-6222

Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance, le Service de police de Winnipeg et le National Center for Missing & Exploited Children demandent aussi à toutes les agences de presse de transmettre ce communiqué à leurs homologues de toute l'Amérique du Nord si possible.

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca