News and Media

CANADIAN CENTRE FOR CHILD PROTECTION APPLAUDS NEW INCOME SUPPORT PROGRAM FOR FAMILIES OF MURDERED & MISSING CHILDREN

April 20, 2012
For Immediate Release

New statistics underscore the importance of providing financial support to parents

Winnipeg, MB: The federal government’s new income support program for parents of murdered or missing children is a positive development that rightfully acknowledges that victims of crime need both time to grieve and financial support. This will assist them during what is perhaps the most unbearably painful time of their lives, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection said today.

“We have been conducting preliminary research into Canadian cases of child abduction where the child was murdered, and while the information is difficult to hear, it sheds light on why providing such support to families of is so crucial,” said Lianna McDonald, Executive Director of the Canadian Centre.

The Canadian Centre’s research to date is based on almost 80 child stranger abductions that have taken place in Canada since 1961 that resulted in a murder. Of those cases, 35 per cent of families were searching for more than a month before their child’s body was recovered. This statistic doesn’t account for the hundreds of Canadian families still searching for their missing child.

“What this information tells us is that many families of missing children are dealing with the unknown for a substantially long period of time – and our statistics don’t account for time needed for the grieving process,” noted McDonald. “The new federal support program could result in much-needed assistance for families, and we applaud the government for making support for victims of crime a priority.”

The Canadian Centre for Child Protection operates MissingKids.ca – Canada’s national missing children resource and response centre. It offers families support in finding their missing child and provides educational materials to help prevent children from going missing. The Canadian Centre’s full Abducted and Murdered Children’s Research Report is expected to be released in 2013.

-30-

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Phone:
204-945-8074
204-801-2979 (Cell)

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

Actualités et communiqués

LE CENTRE CANADIEN DE PROTECTION DE L’ENFANCE APPLAUDIT L’ANNONCE D’UN PROGRAMME DE SOUTIEN AU REVENU POUR LES PARENTS D’ENFANTS DISPARUS OU ASSASSINÉS

20 avril 2012
Pour diffusion immédiate

De nouvelles statistiques soulignent l’importance d’aider financièrement les parents

Winnipeg (Manitoba) : Le programme de soutien au revenu pour les parents d’enfants disparus ou assassinés que le gouvernement fédéral vient d’annoncer est une bonne mesure qui reconnaît à juste titre que les victimes ont besoin de temps pour surmonter le deuil et aussi d’aide financière. Pour le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance, cette mesure aidera les parents alors même qu’ils traversent ce qui sera peut-être l’épreuve la plus difficile de toute leur vie.

« Nous avons mené des recherches préliminaires sur les cas d’enlèvement d’enfant qui sont survenus au Canada et qui ont connu une fin tragique pour l’enfant, explique Lianna McDonald, directrice générale du Centre canadien. Les informations que nous avons recueillies donnent froid dans le dos, mais elles illustrent bien pourquoi il est si important de venir au secours des familles. »

Les recherches effectuées par le Centre canadien à ce jour sont basées sur près de 80 cas d’enlèvement par des étrangers qui sont survenus au Canada depuis 1961 et qui se sont soldés par un meurtre. De ce nombre, 35 pour cent des familles ont cherché leur enfant pendant plus d’un mois avant que son corps ne soit découvert. Cette statistique ne tient pas compte des centaines de familles canadiennes qui cherchent toujours à retrouver leur enfant disparu.

« Ce que nous avons appris, c’est que les familles éprouvées par la disparition d’un enfant restent souvent dans l’incertitude pendant une période assez longue, et nos statistiques ne prennent pas en compte le temps dont elles ont besoin pour faire leur travail de deuil, ajoute Mme McDonald. Le programme de soutien annoncé par le fédéral pourrait bien permettre aux familles d’obtenir l’aide dont elles ont tant besoin, et nous félicitons le gouvernement de faire de l’aide aux victimes d’actes criminels une priorité. »

Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance administre EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca : le centre canadien de ressources et d’intervention sur les disparitions d’enfants. Ce programme aide les familles à la recherche d’un enfant disparu et diffuse du matériel de sensibilisation sur la prévention des disparitions d’enfants. Le Centre canadien compte dévoiler son Rapport de recherche sur les enfants enlevés et assassinés en 2013.

-30-

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca