News and Media

STATEMENT: Canadian Centre applauds City of Winnipeg for taking lead role to enhance child protection in facilities

July 19, 2016
For Immediate Release

The Canadian Centre for Child Protection (Canadian Centre) is thrilled to see the City of Winnipeg take proactive steps to create protective environments for children. Today, with the roll out of the first phase of a new child protection initiative in City aquatic centres, the City of Winnipeg becomes the first jurisdiction in Canada with an increased focus on preventing child sexual victimization in public facilities.

Through the operation of – Canada’s national tipline for reporting the online sexual abuse and exploitation of children – the Canadian Centre intersects on a daily basis with the reality that as technology evolves; new tactics continue to emerge for the purpose of sexually exploiting children.

With support from the Canadian Centre, the City of Winnipeg’s Community Services Department has been developing a multi-phased plan, with the first phase focused on enhancing aquatic protocols and procedures and tailored Commit to Kids training for front-line staff.

We look forward to supporting the City of Winnipeg as they move through the next phases of this important initiative.

For more information or to arrange an interview contact:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

204-801-2979 (Cell)



About the Canadian Centre for Child Protection: The Canadian Centre for Child Protection is a national charity dedicated to the personal safety and protection of children. Our goal is to reduce the sexual abuse and exploitation of children, assist in the location of missing children and to prevent child victimization. The Centre operates – Canada’s national tipline to report child sexual abuse and exploitation on the Internet, as well as other prevention and intervention services to the Canadian public.

Actualités et communiqués

COMMUNIQUÉ : Le CCPE félicite la Ville de Winnipeg de prendre les devants pour mieux protéger les enfants à ses installations

Le 19 juillet 2016
Pour diffusion immédiate

Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (CCPE) se réjouit de voir la Ville de Winnipeg agir en amont pour créer des environnements protecteurs pour les enfants. La Ville amorce aujourd'hui la première phase d'une nouvelle initiative visant à protéger les enfants à ses centres aquatiques, devenant ainsi la première ville au Canada à mettre l'accent sur la prévention de l'exploitation sexuelle des enfants dans ses installations publiques.

En tant que gestionnaire de Cyberaide.ca (la centrale canadienne de signalement des cas d'exploitation et d'abus sexuels d'enfants sur Internet), le CCPE constate tous les jours que les évolutions numériques ouvrent sans cesse la voie à de nouvelles tactiques pour exploiter sexuellement les enfants.

Avec l'aide du CCPE, le Département des services communautaires de la Ville de Winnipeg travaille à la mise en place d'un plan par étapes, dont la première phase consistait à améliorer les protocoles et les procédures des centres aquatiques et à offrir au personnel de première ligne une formation sur mesure basée sur le programme Priorité Jeunesse.

Nous serons ravis d'accompagner la Ville de Winnipeg dans le déploiement des prochaines phases de cette initiative cruciale.

Pour toute demande de renseignements ou d'entrevue, contacter :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca

-30-

Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance : Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance est un organisme caritatif national voué à la sécurité personnelle et à la protection des enfants. Il a pour objectif de réduire l'exploitation et les abus sexuels d'enfants, d'aider à retrouver les enfants disparus et de prévenir la violence faite aux enfants. Le Centre gère Cyberaide.ca (la centrale canadienne de signalement des cas d'abus pédosexuels et d'exploitation sexuelle d'enfants sur Internet) ainsi que d'autres services de prévention et d'intervention destinés à la population canadienne.