News and Media

Keeping Canadian Teens Safe in their Digital World

Safer Internet Day resources to help parents discuss online safety

February 9, 2016
For Immediate Release

WINNIPEG, MB: Sexting, sextortion, luring and cyberbullying – as teens’ off and online worlds are now seamlessly interwoven, many are confronted with these very complex situations.

Today, on International Safer Internet Day (#SID2016), the Canadian Centre for Child Protection is encouraging parents of tweens and teens to use our safety resources to discuss online safety with the youth in their lives.

“The online risks youth face are increasingly difficult to manage,” said Signy Arnason, Director of “For parents, the need for reliable and current educational resources to help better understand these issues and how to increase their teen’s skills and safety is crucial. We want to ensure Canadians know about our important Internet safety resources and that we are here to help keep kids safe.”

The Canadian Centre for Child Protection, through, is encouraging the public to get involved and help create a safer Internet:

  1. TALK TO YOUR TEEN using the resources at about ways to be safe online
  2. STAY INFORMED about concerning technology trends by signing up to receive ALERTS
  3. RAISE AWARENESS on social media by tweeting and posting about Safer Internet Day using the hashtags #SID2016 and #PlayMyPart or by sharing the Canadian Centre’s tweets and posts
  4. REPORT concerns about youth being sexually exploited online to

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

204-801-2979 (Cell)



About the Canadian Centre for Child Protection: The Canadian Centre for Child Protection is a national charity dedicated to the personal safety of all children. The Centre’s goal is to reduce child victimization by providing programs and services to the Canadian public.

About Safer Internet Day (#SID2016): Every February on Safer Internet Day, people around the world join forces to teach children and youth about using online technology and their smartphones in a safe and responsible way. The Canadian Centre for Child protection, through, is responsible for SID activities in Canada and in 2016 is offering schools across Canada the opportunity to order internet safety resources free of charge.

Actualités et communiqués

Protéger nos ados dans leur monde numérique

Journée pour un Internet plus sûr : des ressources pour les parents

9 février 2016
Pour diffusion immédiate

WINNIPEG (MANITOBA) : Sextage, sextorsion, leurre, cyberintimidation : des situations très complexes auxquelles font face de nombreux ados à l'heure où leur monde réel et leur monde virtuel ne font plus qu'un.

En cette Journée mondiale pour un Internet plus sûr (#SID2016), le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance (CCPE) encourage les parents de préados et d'ados à se servir de ses ressources pour discuter de sécurité en ligne avec leurs jeunes.

« Les jeunes sont confrontés à des dangers de plus en plus complexes sur Internet, explique Signy Arnason, directrice de Cyberaide.ca. Il est essentiel que les parents aient accès à des ressources fiables et à jour pour mieux comprendre les risques et mieux outiller leur ado pour se protéger. Nous voulons que les Canadiens connaissent nos importantes ressources de sécurité en ligne et sachent que nous agissons pour la protection des enfants. »

Le CCPE, par l'entremise de Cyberaide.ca, invite les parents à agir pour créer un Internet plus sûr :

  1. SENSIBILISEZ VOTRE VOTRE ADO aux moyens de se protéger sur Internet (servez-vous des ressources offertes à JourneePourUnInternetPlusSur.ca).
  2. TENEZ-VOUS AU COURANT des dangers d'Internet en vous abonnant aux Alertes Cyberaide.ca.
  3. SENSIBILISEZ LES GENS à travers les médias sociaux en faisant la promotion de la Journée pour un Internet plus sûr. Utilisez les mots-clics #SID2016 et #fairemapart ou partagez les tweets et les publications Facebook du CCPE.
  4. SIGNALEZ vos inquiétudes relativement à l'exploitation sexuelle des jeunes sur Internet à Cyberaide.ca.

-30-

Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance (CCPE) : Le CCPE est un organisme caritatif national qui se consacre à la protection personnelle de tous les enfants. Il offre des programmes et services à la population canadienne dans le but de réduire la violence faite aux enfants.

La Journée pour un Internet plus sûr (#SID2016) : Chaque année, en février, des gens de partout dans le monde s'unissent pour apprendre aux enfants et aux ados à se servir du numérique et de leur téléphone intelligent de façon prudente et responsable. Le CCPE, par l'entremise de Cyberaide.ca, coordonne les activités entourant la Journée pour un Internet plus sûr au Canada et offre cette année aux écoles de tout le pays la possibilité de commander gratuitement des ressources sur la sécurité en ligne.