News and Media

NeedHelpNow.ca –Youth can #ChangeTheStory

Helping Canadian teens in crisis take back their pictures and their lives

September 29, 2015
For Immediate Release

Canadian teens are being negatively and seriously impacted by the spread of sexual pictures and the social fallout that often occurs afterwards. These situations can result in youth being alienated, cyberbullied and often feeling alone and powerless in their ability to control their own lives.

Today, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection has joined with Mrs. Laureen Harper, families, police and educators to launch a new campaign called #ChangeTheStory to complement the revised NeedHelpNow.ca (NHN) site for youth. NeedHelpNow.ca is a national resource to help youth navigate the challenges with removing sexual pictures from the Internet, dealing with peers and providing information on the supports needed to help them manage such a crisis.

“We don’t want another family to face the devastating loss of a child due to a self/peer exploitation incident or cyberbullying,” says Lianna McDonald, Executive Director of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection. “We are optimistic that by raising awareness of NeedHelpNow.ca and by engaging teens in spreading messages of support and hope that we can better help those youth who are in crisis.”

The #ChangeTheStory campaign, developed by Cossette, is about empowering teens to take control of their own narrative and how their story is being told. Whether it is the story of a teen who has lost control of a sexual picture, a safe adult trying to help a youth in crisis, an acting out youth that regrets the actions taken – we all have the power to change the story.

“Canada is a country that embraces every young person’s individuality, worth and importance,” said Mrs. Harper. “Through this new campaign, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection will convey this message of empowerment and remind youth that they are not alone.”

To spread the word among Canadian youth, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection is hosting kick-off events at several high schools across the country to launch the #ChangeTheStory campaign. The digital and online advertising will promote the NeedHelpNow.ca resources through positive and provocative messaging to engage youth within social media. Several families who have experienced the loss of a child will also participate in these school events to promote the #ChangeTheStory campaign.

“The most powerful realization that we can all have is that no one can define who we are,” said Leah Parsons, mother of Rehtaeh Parsons. “Only we can define what we are and who we will become in this life. Always remember that you have the power to change your story and help others change theirs by allowing your worth to shine through.”

The NeedHelpNow.ca site has been reworked to make it easier for teens in crisis to access the information they need as quickly as possible to remove sexual images from sites. The revised website also includes information to support youth who have been impacted by cyberbullying and critical information for adults dealing with a youth in crisis.

-30-

About the Canadian Centre for Child Protection: The goal of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection (www.protectchildren.ca) is to reduce child victimization by providing programs and services to the Canadian public. The Canadian Centre operates Cybertip.ca (www.cybertip.ca), Canada’s tipline to report the online sexual exploitation of children; MissingKids.ca (www.missingkids.ca), a national missing children resource and response centre; Kids in the Know (www.kidsintheknow.ca), an interactive child personal safety program for children in Kindergarten to high school; and Commit to Kids (www.commit2kids.ca), a program to help child-serving organizations create safer environments for the children in their care and reduce their risk of sexual abuse.

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Phone:
204-945-8074
204-801-2979 (Cell)

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

Actualités et communiqués

AidezMoiSVP.ca – Les jeunes peuvent #changerlhistoire

Pour que les ados en détresse au Canada reprennent le contrôle de leur image et de leur vie

29 septembre 2015
Pour diffusion immédiate

Les ados canadiens sont durement touchés par la propagation de photos à caractère sexuel et la disqualification sociale qui s’ensuit souvent. Ces situations peuvent amener des jeunes à se faire rejeter, à subir de la cyberintimidation et à se sentir souvent seuls et incapables de reprendre leur destinée en mains.

Aujourd’hui, le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (CCPE) s’est entouré de Mme Laureen Harper, de familles, de policiers et d’enseignants pour lancer une campagne intitulée #changerlhistoire afin de promouvoir la nouvelle version du site AidezMoiSVP.ca qui s’adresse aux jeunes. Ce site à portée nationale aide les jeunes à entreprendre des démarches pour faire retirer des photos à caractère sexuel d’Internet, leur propose des façons d’agir vis-à-vis de leurs pairs et explique comment trouver le soutien nécessaire pour surmonter une telle crise.

« Nous voulons faire en sorte qu’aucune autre famille ne soit déchirée par la perte d’un enfant à cause d’un incident d’autoexploitation juvénile ou de la cyberintimidation, déclare Lianna McDonald, directrice générale du CCPE. Nous avons bon espoir qu’en faisant connaître le site AidezMoiSVP.ca et en mobilisant les ados pour diffuser des messages de soutien et d’espoir, nous pourrons mieux aider les jeunes en détresse. »

La campagne #changerlhistoire, conçue par Cossette, vise à outiller les ados pour prendre le contrôle de leur propre histoire et de la façon dont elle est racontée. Qu’il s’agisse de l’histoire d’un ado qui a perdu le contrôle d’une photo à caractère sexuel, de celle d’un adulte de confiance qui veut aider un jeune en détresse ou de celle d’un jeune instigateur qui regrette ses actes, nous avons tous le pouvoir de changer cette histoire.

« Le Canada est un pays qui reconnaît l’individualité, la valeur et l’importance de tous les jeunes, souligne Mme Harper. Par cette nouvelle campagne, le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance communiquera ce message d’autodétermination et rappellera aux jeunes qu’ils ne sont jamais seuls. »

Pour rejoindre les jeunes canadiens, le CCPE tient des activités dans plusieurs écoles secondaires à travers le Canada autour du lancement de la campagne #changerlhistoire. Des publicités numériques et en ligne attireront l’attention sur les ressources d’AidezMoiSVP.ca par des messages encourageants et provocants qui mobiliseront les jeunes sur les médias sociaux. Plusieurs familles éprouvées par la perte d’un enfant participeront aussi à ces activités scolaires pour promouvoir la campagne #changerlhistoire.

« Rien n’est plus fort que de prendre conscience que personne ne peut vous définir à votre place, souligne Leah Parsons, mère de Rehtaeh Parsons. C’est à chacun de se définir et de décider de ce qu’il fera de sa vie. N’oubliez jamais que vous avez le pouvoir de changer votre histoire et d’aider les autres à changer la leur en faisant ressortir ce qu’il y a d’extraordinaire en vous. »

Le site AidezMoiSVP.ca a été revampé pour aider les ados en détresse à trouver le plus vite possible les renseignements dont ils ont besoin pour faire retirer des images à caractère sexuel publiées sur un site internet. La nouvelle version du site AidezMoiSVP.ca contient aussi de l’information destinée aux jeunes touchés par la cyberintimidation ainsi que des renseignements essentiels pour les adultes aux prises avec un jeune en détresse.

-30-

Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (www.protegeonsnosenfants.ca) offre des programmes et des services à la population canadienne dans le but de réduire la violence faite aux enfants. Le CCPE administre Cyberaide.ca (www.cyberaide.ca), la centrale canadienne de signalement des cas d’exploitation sexuelle d’enfants sur Internet; EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca (www.EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca), un centre national de ressources et d’intervention sur les enfants disparus; Enfants avertis (www.enfantsavertis.ca), un programme interactif de sécurité personnelle pour les enfants de la maternelle jusqu’à la 9e année (3e secondaire); et Priorité Jeunesse (www.prioritejeunesse.ca), un programme qui aide les organismes de services à l’enfance à offrir des milieux sûrs aux enfants dont ils ont la charge et à réduire les risques d’abus sexuel dans le cadre de leurs activités.

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca