News and Media

Canadian Centre for Child Protection reminds parents about 5 Safety Habits for summer

June 25, 2015
For Immediate Release

Children and teens across Canada are getting ready to leave school behind for the adventures of summer holidays. The Canadian Centre for Child Protection reminds parents to practice safety strategies with their children. To help parents teach children to use safety habits every day the Canadian Centre for Child Protection has created a new resource. Safety Habits for Life is for children of all ages and will help build their safety competence and confidence.

“In order to truly be effective, safety habits need to be discussed on an ongoing basis and practiced regularly,” says Noni Classen, Director of Education at the Canadian Centre. “That’s why we created the Safety Habits for Life guide, these strategies will help parents teach their child safety skills without using fear-based tactics.”

The Safety Habits for Life guide includes five core safety strategies that are important for children to use throughout their lifetime. Strategies like the buddy system teach kids of all ages that there is safety in numbers. Teaching children to make a habit of walking places with others rather than alone will increase their safety.

It’s never too early to start talking about important safety habits with children. For additional information safety strategies and other resources visit For fun and interactive activities to help children learn the buddy system visit, sponsored by Honeywell Hometown Solutions.


For more information please contact:
Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection
Office: (204) 945-8074 Cell: (204) 801-2979

About the Canadian Centre for Child Protection: The goal of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection ( is to reduce child victimization by providing programs and services to the Canadian public. The Canadian Centre operates (, Canada’s tipline to report the online sexual exploitation of children; (, a national missing children resource and response centre; Kids in the Know (, an interactive child personal safety program for children in Kindergarten to high school; and Commit to Kids (, a program to help child-serving organizations create safer environments for the children in their care and reduce their risk of sexual abuse.

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

204-801-2979 (Cell)

Actualités et communiqués

Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance rappelle aux parents cinq règles de sécurité pour l’été

25 juin 2015
Pour diffusion immédiate

Partout au Canada, les enfants et les ados se préparent à mettre leur vie scolaire de côté pour profiter pleinement des vacances estivales. Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (CCPE) rappelle aux parents de mettre des stratégies de sécurité en pratique avec leurs enfants. Pour les aider à habituer leurs enfants à appliquer des règles de sécurité dans la vie de tous les jours, le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance leur propose un nouveau guide. Intitulé Règles de sécurité pour la vie, ce guide aide à développer le sens de la prudence et la confiance en soi chez les enfants de tout âge.

« Pour que ces règles soient vraiment efficaces, il faut les rappeler constamment et les mettre en pratique régulièrement, explique Noni Classen, directrice des programmes éducatifs au CCPE. Nous avons donc créé le guide Règles de sécurité pour la vie, qui aidera les parents à inculquer à leurs enfants des techniques de prévention qui ne sont pas basées sur la peur. »

Le guide Règles de sécurité pour la vie présente cinq stratégies de base que les enfants ont intérêt à appliquer tout au long de leur vie. Le principe du compagnon, par exemple, apprend aux enfants de tout âge que plus on est, mieux c'est. Habituer les enfants à se déplacer à plusieurs plutôt que seuls permet de les rendre moins vulnérables.

Il n'est jamais trop tôt pour commencer à inculquer d'importantes règles de sécurité aux enfants. Consultez le site enfantsavertis.ca pour connaître d'autres stratégies de sécurité et trouver des ressources supplémentaires. Pour des activités amusantes et interactives qui permettront aux enfants d'apprendre le principe du compagnon, visitez le site martinnesortpasseul.ca, parrainé par Honeywell Hometown Solutions.

-30-

Renseignements :
Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance
Courriel : communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca
Bureau : 204 945-8074 Cellulaire : 204 801-2979

Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (CCPE) : Le CCPE (www.protegeonsnosenfants.ca) offre des programmes et des services à la population canadienne dans le but de réduire la violence faite aux enfants. Le CCPE administre Cyberaide.ca (www.cyberaide.ca), la centrale canadienne de signalement des cas d’exploitation sexuelle d’enfants sur Internet; EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca (www.EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca), un centre national de ressources et d’intervention sur les enfants disparus; Enfants avertis (www.enfantsavertis.ca), un programme interactif d’autoprotection pour les enfants de la maternelle jusqu’au secondaire; et Priorité Jeunesse (www.prioritejeunesse.ca), un programme qui aide les organismes de services à l’enfance à offrir des milieux sûrs aux enfants dont ils ont la charge et à réduire les risques d’abus sexuel dans le cadre de leurs activités.

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca