News and Media

Alert for Parents of Teenagers: New Tactic Being Used to Extort Sexual Images/Videos and Money

May 27, 2015
For Immediate Release

WINNIPEG, MB: The Canadian Centre for Child Protection, through its program, is warning parents of teenagers about a new tactic being used by those extorting youth online for sexual images/videos and money. has received numerous reports over the last year relating to sextortion, which involves offenders secretly recording teenagers exposing themselves on platforms that allow for live-streaming video and then using the recording to threaten distribution unless the teen pays money. Sextortionists have now advanced their approach to include other teenagers within the same social peer group.

Within social media platforms (e.g. Facebook, Skype), friends are being shown the sexual image/video of their peer and then told that if they don’t share a sexual image of themselves, the offender will distribute the already recorded sexual image/video of their friend. If the youth complies with the request and shares a sexual image/video, they are then extorted for money, with financial demands ranging from $200 - $1,000, to allegedly prevent the content from being shared publicly.

“We are imploring parents of teenage children to be proactive and discuss the growing issue of young people and their peers being extorted for sexual pictures/videos and money,” says Signy Arnason, Director of “The best ways to counter the ever-evolving tactics used by offenders is to proactively educate teens about emerging issues and stress the importance of never complying with threats.”

“We see many instances where the teenager feels responsible for having sexually exposed themselves online and being manipulated and tricked by the offender,” says Sergeant Caroline Girard, Sûreté du Québec. “This can result in less kids coming forward which we don’t want to see happen. Rarely do these individuals have only one victim so parents need to be vigilant in talking with their teens and always encourage youth to come forward and report what has happened.”

The Canadian Centre for Child Protection is strongly recommending that parents discuss this issue with their teens. It is imperative to stress the importance of never complying with threats, as this only makes the situation worse. It is also vital to discuss the risks associated with sexually exposing oneself or engaging in sexual activity over livestreaming video. Parents should remind their teens about the importance of coming forward if they or their peers are facing concerning online situations.

Visit for more information and sign up for Alerts at to stay informed about emerging trends impacting the online safety of youth.


If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

204-801-2979 (Cell)


About the Canadian Centre for Child Protection: the Canadian Centre for Child Protection is a registered charitable organization dedicated to the personal safety of all children. Our goal is to reduce child victimization by providing national programs and services to the Canadian public. Learn more by visiting

Actualités et communiqués

Alerte aux parents d'adolescents : Nouvelle tactique d'extorsion d'images à caractère sexuel et d'argent

27 mai 2015
Pour diffusion immédiate

WINNIPEG (Manitoba) : Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance, à travers son programme Cyberaide.ca, met les parents et les ados en garde contre une nouvelle tactique employée par des individus qui cherchent à extorquer des images à caractère sexuel et de l’argent aux jeunes internautes. Cyberaide.ca a reçu de nombreux signalements dans la dernière année relativement à des cas de sextorsion, où des individus enregistrent secrètement des ados pendant qu'ils s'exhibent sur des plateformes de vidéo en direct et utilisent ensuite les images pour leur extorquer de l'argent en les menaçant de les diffuser. Ces sextorqueurs poussent désormais leur stratagème encore plus loin en impliquant le réseau social de leurs victimes.

Ils communiquent avec les amis de leurs victimes par l'entremise des médias sociaux (Facebook, Skype, etc.), leur montrent la photo ou la vidéo de celui ou celle qu'ils ont piégé et leur demandent de leur envoyer à leur tour des images à caractère sexuel d'eux-mêmes, sans quoi ils diffuseront les images de leur ami ou amie. Les ados qui cèdent et qui envoient la photo ou la vidéo demandée se font ensuite extorquer des sommes allant de 200 $ à 1 000 $, supposément pour éviter que ces images soient dévoilées publiquement.

« Nous implorons les parents d'adolescents de prendre les devants et de discuter avec eux des cas de plus en plus nombreux de jeunes qui se font extorquer des images à caractère sexuel et de l'argent, insiste Signy Arnason, directrice de Cyberaide.ca. La meilleure façon de déjouer les stratagèmes que les abuseurs d'enfants ne cessent d'inventer, c'est d'expliquer les nouveaux dangers aux jeunes et d'insister sur l'importance de ne jamais céder à des menaces. »

« Les adolescents qui se font prendre au piège de la manipulation et qui s'exhibent en ligne se sentent souvent responsables de ce qui s'est passé après coup, explique la sergente Caroline Girard de la Sûreté du Québec. Cela peut les amener à s'enfermer dans le silence, et ce n'est pas ce que l'on souhaite. Les gens à qui on a affaire ne font rarement qu'une seule victime; les parents doivent donc être vigilants dans leurs conversations avec leurs enfants et les encourager sans cesse à briser le silence et à rapporter ce qui s'est passé. »

Le Centre canadien de protection de l'enfance recommande fortement aux parents de discuter de ce stratagème avec leurs ados. Ne manquez surtout pas d’insister sur l’importance de ne jamais céder à des menaces, car cela ne pourrait qu'empirer les choses. Il est aussi important de leur expliquer les risques auxquels ils s’exposent lorsqu’ils acceptent de se livrer à des actes sexuels sur une plateforme de vidéo en direct. Rappelez à vos ados qu'il est important de briser le silence s'ils sont confrontés à une situation inquiétante sur Internet ou si leurs amis se retrouvent dans pareille situation.

Pour plus de détails, rendez-vous à l'adresse https://www.cyberaide.ca/app/fr/internet_safety-for_youth et abonnez-vous aux Alertes Cyberaide.ca à l'adresse https://cyberaide.ca/alertes pour vous tenir au courant des nouveaux dangers qui guettent les jeunes internautes.

-30-

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca

Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (CCPE) : Le CCPE est un organisme de bienfaisance enregistré voué à la protection personnelle des enfants. Il offre à la population canadienne des programmes et services nationaux dans le but de réduire la violence faite aux enfants. Pour plus de détails, cliquez protegeonsnosenfants.ca.