News and Media

Statement: Canadian Centre for Child Protection hosts a roundtable discussion with Prime Minister Stephen Harper and top experts to discuss a digital agenda for protecting Canada’s youngest and most vulnerable children

Gathering focuses on tackling child sexual abuse images and material involving children under 12 years of age

October 10, 2014
For Immediate Release

WINNIPEG, MB: Today, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection is proud to have held a roundtable discussion with the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, Prime Minister of Canada; law enforcement officials; industry and fellow advocates to strengthen our national resolve, commitment and coordination in our efforts to fight online child sexual exploitation.

It is through the Canadian Centre’s work in operating Cybertip.ca, Canada’s tipline for reporting online child sexual exploitation, that we have witnessed the growing proliferation of child sexual abuse images and material. The misuse of technology has accelerated the availability and circulation of child pornography, contributed to normalizing the sexualization of children, and made it abundantly easier for offenders to actively participate in this illegal behaviour. In the past year alone, child exploitation officers observed a total of 38,000 IP addresses sharing known child pornography images/videos in Canada.

“With the increased focus on privacy related issues in Canada, we must not lose sight of its direct impact on the protection and well-being of children. The evolving advantages of technology, combined with the shield of anonymity, have created an unbalanced scorecard between offenders and our ability to keep children safe,” says Lianna McDonald, Executive Director, Canadian Centre for Child Protection.

In 2014/15, Cybertip.ca is expected to receive nearly 45,000 reports, the mass majority of which pertain to concerns about child sexual abuse images and material. 79% of the images assessed by Cybertip.ca as child pornography appeared to be produced in home settings and of those, 71% captured sex acts. The majority of victims in the images and videos assessed by the tipline are children under the age of 12.

The roundtable event involved promising discussions about ways to reduce the availability of child sexual abuse material, identifying more victims, increasing reports from Canadians, prevention and education efforts, and enhancing resources and training to stop offenders.

About the Canadian Centre for Child Protection: The goal of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection (www.protectchildren.ca) is to reduce child victimization by providing programs and services to the Canadian public. The Canadian Centre operates Cybertip.ca (www.cybertip.ca), Canada’s tipline to report the online sexual exploitation of children; MissingKids.ca (www.missingkids.ca), a national missing children resource and response centre; Kids in the Know (www.kidsintheknow.ca), an interactive child personal safety program for children in Kindergarten to Grade 9; and Commit to Kids (www.commit2kids.ca), a program to help child-serving organizations create safer environments for the children in their care and reduce their risk of sexual abuse.

-30-

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Phone:
204-945-8074
204-801-2979 (Cell)

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

Actualités et communiqués

Déclaration : Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance organise une table ronde avec le premier ministre Stephen Harper et des experts de renom pour discuter d’une stratégie numérique visant à protéger les enfants les plus jeunes et les plus vulnérables du Canada

Au cœur des discussions : le matériel pédopornographique impliquant des enfants de moins de 12 ans.

10 octobre 2014
Pour diffusion immédiate

WINNIPEG (MANITOBA) : Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (CCPE) est fier d’avoir réuni à la même table aujourd’hui le très honorable Stephen Harper, premier ministre du Canada, les autorités policières et d’autres acteurs stratégiques dans le but renforcer notre détermination et notre engagement collectif à lutter de façon coordonnée contre l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants sur Internet.

C’est grâce aux efforts du CCPE et de son programme Cyberaide.ca – la centrale canadienne de signalement des cas d’exploitation sexuelle d’enfants – que nous constatons la prolifération du matériel pédopornographique. L'utilisation malveillante du numérique augmente l’offre et la diffusion des images d’abus pédosexuels sur Internet, contribue à banaliser la sexualisation des enfants et permet aux délinquants de se livrer beaucoup plus facilement à ces activités illégales. Depuis un an seulement, les escouades de lutte contre l’exploitation des enfants ont relevé 38 000 adresses IP canadiennes impliquées dans la diffusion d'images connues de pornographie juvénile.

« On se soucie beaucoup de la protection de la vie privée au Canada, mais il ne faut pas oublier que cela a une incidence directe sur la protection et le bien-être des enfants. Les évolutions technologiques et le couvert de l’anonymat jouent en faveur des délinquants et au détriment de notre capacité de protéger les enfants », déclare Lianna McDonald, directrice générale du CCPE.

Pour l’année 2014-2015, Cyberaide.ca s’attend à recevoir près de 45 000 signalements dont la grande majorité portera sur du matériel pédopornographique. Soulignons que 79 % des images classées pornographie juvénile par Cyberaide.ca semblent avoir été produites dans une résidence privée et que, de ce nombre, 71 % montrent des actes sexuels. La majorité des victimes mises en scène dans ces photos et ces vidéos sont des enfants de moins de 12 ans.

La table ronde a donné lieu à des discussions prometteuses sur les mesures à prendre pour réduire l’offre d’images d’abus pédosexuels, identifier plus de victimes, encourager les Canadiens à signaler, augmenter les efforts de prévention et de sensibilisation, et investir dans les ressources et la formation pour arrêter les délinquants.

Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (www.protegeonsnosenfants.ca) offre des programmes et des services à la population canadienne dans le but de réduire la violence faite aux enfants. Le CCPE administre Cyberaide.ca (www.cyberaide.ca), la centrale canadienne de signalement des cas d’exploitation sexuelle d’enfants sur Internet; EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca (www.EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca), un centre national de ressources et d’intervention sur les enfants disparus; Enfants avertis (www.enfantsavertis.ca), un programme interactif de sécurité personnelle pour les enfants de la maternelle jusqu’à la 9e année (3e secondaire); et Priorité Jeunesse (www.prioritejeunesse.ca), un programme qui aide les organismes de services à l’enfance à offrir des milieux sûrs aux enfants dont ils ont la charge et à réduire les risques d’abus sexuel dans le cadre de leurs activités.

-30-

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca