News and Media

STATEMENT: The Canadian Centre for Child Protection welcomes the Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, the Honourable Steven Blaney to its facility to discuss measures to protect children against sexual abuse and exploitation.

March 11, 2014

WINNIPEG, MB: Today, the Canadian Centre welcomed Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Minister Steven Blaney to tour its facility and discuss measures to better protect children against sexual abuse and exploitation. In addition to touring Cybertip.ca, Minister Blaney was provided with an overview of the Canadian Centre’s other key national programs that include Missingkids.ca, Kids in the Know and Commit to Kids.

“Child sexual exploitation of any kind is a horrifying crime,” said Minister Blaney. “I commend the valuable work of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection for their numerous initiatives dedicated to the personal safety of all children.”

“We were thrilled to have the opportunity to welcome Minister Blaney to the Canadian Centre for Child Protection. Our shared commitment to the safety of children resulted in encouraging discussions about ways to further protect Canada’s children”, said Lianna McDonald, Executive Director

Cybertip.ca, Canada’s national tipline to report the online sexual exploitation of children which is part of the Government of Canada’s National Strategy for the Protection of Children from Sexual Exploitation on the Internet. The tipline has received over 100,000 reports from Canadians resulted in at least 433 arrests and 454 children removed from abusive environments. Over 10 million educational resources have also been distributed to Canadians to increase the personal safety of children. Funding for the operations of tipline are provided, in part, from Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness Canada.

If you are a member of the media and would like to arrange an interview with one of our spokespeople please contact our communications team:

Communications, Canadian Centre for Child Protection

Phone:
204-945-8074
204-801-2979 (Cell)

Email:
communications@protectchildren.ca

Actualités et communiqués

DÉCLARATION : Le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance reçoit le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, l’honorable Steven Blaney afin de discuter de mesures pour protéger les enfants contre l’exploitation et les abus sexuels.

11 mars 2014

WINNIPEG (MANITOBA) : Le Centre canadien a reçu aujourd’hui le ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, Steven Blaney, pour lui faire visiter ses locaux et discuter de mesures pour mieux protéger les enfants contre l’exploitation et les abus sexuels. En plus de visiter Cyberaide.ca, le ministre Blaney a eu droit à une présentation générale des autres grands programmes nationaux du Centre canadien, à savoir EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca, Enfants avertis et Priorité Jeunesse.

« L’exploitation sexuelle des enfants, quelle que soit la forme, est un acte criminel effroyable, a affirmé le ministre Blaney. Je salue l’excellent travail qu’accomplit le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance dans le cadre de ses nombreuses initiatives vouées à la protection personnelle de tous les enfants. »

« Nous sommes ravis d’avoir eu la chance de recevoir le ministre Blaney au Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance. Notre détermination commune à protéger les enfants nous a permis d’avoir des discussions encourageantes sur les moyens de renforcer la protection des enfants au Canada », constate Lianna McDonald, directrice générale.

Cyberaide.ca, la centrale canadienne de signalement des cas d’exploitation sexuelle d’enfants sur Internet, fait partie de la Stratégie nationale du Canada pour la protection des enfants contre l’exploitation sexuelle sur Internet. Les Canadiens ont transmis plus de 100 000 signalements à Cyberaide.ca depuis sa mise en place, et ces signalements ont mené à au moins 433 arrestations et à la prise en charge de 454 enfants en situation d’abus. Plus de 10 millions d’exemplaires de ressources pédagogiques ont aussi été distribués aux Canadiens pour renforcer la protection personnelle des enfants. Les activités de la centrale de signalement sont financées en partie par Sécurité publique et Protection civile Canada.

Pour une demande d’entrevue avec l’un de nos porte-parole, les médias sont priés de contacter notre équipe des communications :

Communications, Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance

Téléphone :
204 945-8074
204 801-2979 (Cellulaire)

Courriel :
communications@protegeonsnosenfants.ca