About Us

The future of child protection depends on
forward-thinking organizations, ready to solve
the world’s most challenging problems.

This requires urgent action, innovation and determination. In 2016-17, the Canadian Centre
for Child Protection (Canadian Centre) challenged the status quo through first-of-its-kind
research and reports, ground-breaking technology and key partnerships, making
a global impact on the protection of children and support of survivors of abuse.

The Canadian Centre Unleashes Project Arachnid

The beginning of 2017 marked a milestone in the Canadian Centre’s fight against child exploitation with the official launch of Project Arachnid, an innovative tool to combat the growing proliferation of child sexual abuse imagery on the internet and break the cycle of abuse. Known to be the first of its kind in the world, Project Arachnid’s web crawlers utilize photo DNA to detect child sexual abuse images and videos at a speed exponentially faster than current methods. All the technology was created in house by the Canadian Centre’s technical team.

International Survivors’ Survey and Summit

The Canadian Centre conducted the first-of-its-kind International Survivors’ Survey, a firsthand account from survivors of recorded and distributed child sexual abuse from around the world. The Canadian Centre hosted a two-day Survivors’ Survey Summit in Ottawa with an incredible international working group of experts. Canadian leaders from legal, medical, therapy, law enforcement and child advocacy fields were also invited to broaden insight into what was heard from survivors.

For more information on the survey and its results visit protectchildren.ca/survivors_survey.

Working to Protect Children at Winnipeg Civic Facilities

After a year of collaboration, the Canadian Centre and the City of Winnipeg launched a joint initiative to better protect children from sexual abuse and exploitation in civic run facilities, such as pools, libraries and recreation centres. The City of Winnipeg has become the first jurisdiction in Canada with an increased focus on preventing child sexual victimization in public facilities.

Preliminary Findings from Abducted then Murdered Children: A Canadian Study

May 2016 marked the 30th anniversary of Canada participating in International Missing Children’s Day with the release of the preliminary results of Abducted then Murdered Children: A Canadian Study. The purpose of the study, which is the first of its kind in Canada, was to better understand the demographics of children who were abducted and subsequently murdered and to gain insights into the techniques and histories of the offenders. The objective is to help identify additional prevention and intervention strategies in the area of abducted and murdered children.

Social Value Reports

For more detailed information about Canadian Centre initiatives from previous fiscal years, click the Social Value Report links below.

Le Centre

L’avenir de la protection de l’enfance est entre
les mains d’organisations avant-gardistes,
prêtes à résoudre les problématiques
les plus complexes du monde.

Pour réussir, il est nécessaire d’agir rapidement, d’innover et de faire preuve de détermination. En 2016-2017, le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (CCPE) a défié le statu quo en présentant des études inédites, des technologies novatrices et des partenariats stratégiques qui changent la donne au niveau mondial en matière de protection des enfants et d’aide aux survivants d’abus.

Dévoilement de Projet Arachnid

Le début de l’année 2017 marque un jalon important dans le combat du CCPE contre l’exploitation des enfants avec le lancement officiel de Projet Arachnid : un outil novateur pour lutter contre la prolifération grandissante des images d’abus pédosexuels sur Internet et rompre le cycle des abus. Reconnu comme le premier système du genre au monde, Projet Arachnid utilise la technologie PhotoDNA pour détecter les images d’abus pédosexuels à une vitesse exponentiellement plus rapide que les méthodes actuelles. Tout le développement a été effectué en interne par l’équipe informatique du CCPE.

Enquête internationale, sommet international

Le CCPE a réalisé une enquête internationale inédite auprès de survivantes et survivants d’abus pédosexuels avec prise d’images et diffusion sur Internet. Nous avons réuni à Ottawa pour un sommet de deux jours les membres de notre formidable groupe international d’experts et invité des spécialistes de plusieurs domaines (droit, médecine, thérapie, police, défense des enfants) pour approfondir notre réflexion suite aux témoignages des survivantes et survivants.

Pour en savoir davantage sur l’enquête et ses résultats ou pour y participer, cliquez protegeonsnosenfants.ca/enquete_survivants.

Protection des enfants dans les établissements municipaux de Winnipeg

Au terme d’une année de travail, le CCPE et la Ville de Winnipeg ont lancé une initiative conjointe visant à mieux protéger les enfants contre l’exploitation et les abus sexuels dans les établissements municipaux (piscines, bibliothèques et centres de loisirs). Cette initiative fait de Winnipeg la première ville au Canada à insister sur la prévention des abus pédosexuels dans les établissements publics.

Les enlèvements d’enfants avec assassinat : Une étude canadienne – Résultats préliminaires

En mai 2016, nous avons marqué le 30e anniversaire de la participation canadienne à la Journée internationale des enfants disparus en dévoilant les résultats préliminaires de notre étude intitulée Les enlèvements d’enfants avec assassinat : Une étude canadienne. Cette étude, la première du genre au Canada, visait à mieux comprendre les caractéristiques démographiques des enfants victimes d’enlèvement avec assassinat ainsi que les techniques et les antécédents des ravisseurs, dans le but d’établir de nouvelles stratégies de prévention et d’intervention.

Rapport de valeur sociale

Pour plus d'information au sujet des initiatives du Centre canadien dans les années précédentes, cliquer les liens pour les rapports de valeur sociale ci-dessous.