About Us

Advocacy

ADVOCACY EFFORTS (2015-2016)

  • Presentation to the Senate Standing Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs on Bill C-26

    On May 28, 2015 the Canadian Centre for Child Protection addressed the Senate Standing Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs in respect of its deliberations regarding Bill C-26, Tougher Penalties for Child Predators Act. Under the proposed Bill, mandatory minimum sentences are being raised or implemented in respect of child sexual offences, the regime related to consecutive/concurrent sentencing is being clarified to help ensure the harm done to each individual victim is recognized, changes are being made to the reporting requirements for sex offenders, and a high-risk, publicly accessible sex offender registry is being created. Bill C-26 passed and received royal assent on June 18, 2015.

  • Roundtable Discussion with the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, Prime Minister of Canada

    On April 24, 2015 the Canadian Centre for Child Protection participated in a roundtable discussion regarding the Government of Canada’s intention to provide new funding for Child Advocacy Centres (CACs) to help support young victims of crime. In attendance were the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, Prime Minister of Canada, Mrs. Laureen Harper as well as the Honourable Shelly Glover, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages and Joy Smith, M.P.

    The Right Honourable Stephen Harper (centre right) and Mrs. Laureen Harper (centre left) attended a roundtable discussion to help support young victims of crime

ADVOCACY EFFORTS (2014-2015)

  • Presentation to the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights on Bill C-26

    On February 4, 2015, the Canadian Centre presented before the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights on Bill C-26, Tougher Penalties for Child Predators Act. Under the proposed Bill, mandatory minimum sentences are being raised or implemented in respect of child sexual offences, the regime related to consecutive/concurrent sentencing is being clarified to help ensure the harm done to each individual victim is recognized, changes are being made to the reporting requirements for sex offenders, and a high-risk, publicly accessible sex offender registry is being created. Bill C-26 passed and received royal assent on June 18, 2015.

  • The Canadian Centre and Beyond Borders intervene in a case before the Supreme Court of Canada

    The Canadian Centre joined forces with Beyond Borders to intervene in a case before the Supreme Court of Canada. This was the first time the Centre had ever participated in such an application. The case involved interpretation and application of the “private use exception,” which is a limited exception created by the Supreme Court in 2001 for making and possession of child pornography. A written factum was filed in December 2014, and an oral presentation was delivered on January 16, 2015.

    On May 22, 2015 The Supreme Court agreed with the Crown that the trial judge had made a legal error in the way in which he applied the defence to the facts of the case, and it referred the matter back for a new trial. See R. v. Barabash, 2015 SCC 29 (CanLII) http://canlii.ca/t/gj33j

  • Roundtable Discussion with the Honourable Rona Ambrose, Minister of Health

    On December 15, 2014, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection co-hosted a roundtable discussion with the Honourable Rona Ambrose, Minister of Health, and leading health professionals about solutions for responding to family violence and child sexual abuse.

    Honourable Rona Ambrose (centre) attended a roundtable focused on family violence and child sexual abuse
  • Presentation to the Senate Standing Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs on Bill C-13

    On November 19, 2014, the Canadian Centre presented before the Senate Standing Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs with regard to Bill C-13, Protecting Canadians from Online Crime Act. Bill C-13 would amend the Criminal Code to make non-consensual distribution of intimate images a crime, modernize existing offence to account for the use of technology, and amend the Criminal Code to enhance the ability of police to investigate online crime. The Centre's presentation focused on the impact of self/peer exploitation on youth – providing insight gleaned from running the Cybertip.ca and NeedHelpNow.ca programs. Bill C-13 passed and received royal assent on December 9, 2014.

  • Presentation to the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights on Bill C-32

    On November 6, 2014 the Canadian Centre addressed the Parliamentary Standing Committee of Justice and Human Rights regarding Bill C-32, Victims Bill of Rights Act. The legislation proposed to create a federal bill of rights for victims, and to amend the Criminal Code and other Acts to support the principles within the Bill of Rights. The Centre's presentation focused on the importance of ensuring that every victim has a voice, and that all victims are able to participate in the justice system in a way that is meaningful and respects their dignity. Bill C-32 passed and received royal assent on April 23, 2015.

  • Roundtable Discussion with the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, Prime Minister of Canada regarding Online Child Sexual Exploitation

    On October 10, 2014, the Canadian Centre held a roundtable discussion with the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, Prime Minister of Canada; law enforcement officials; industry and fellow advocates to strengthen our national resolve, commitment and coordination in our efforts to fight online child sexual exploitation. The roundtable event involved promising discussions about ways to reduce the availability of child sexual abuse material, identifying more victims, increasing reports from Canadians, prevention and education efforts, and enhancing resources and training to stop offenders.

  • Presentation to the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights on Bill C-13

    On May 29, 2014, the Canadian Centre addressed the Parliamentary Committee on Justice and Human Right on Bill C-13, Protecting Canadians from Online Crime Act. Bill C-13 would amend the Criminal Code to make non-consensual distribution of intimate images a crime, modernize existing offence to account for the use of technology, and amend the Criminal Code to enhance the ability of police to investigate online crime. Bill C-13 passed and received royal assent on December 9, 2014.


ADVOCACY EFFORTS (2013-2014)

  • Address at the Introduction of Bill C-13 legislation

    On November 20, 2013, the Canadian Centre spoke at a televised press conference held in Ottawa where the Honourable Peter MacKay, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, introduced legislation to address criminal behaviour associated with cyberbullying. The press conference was also attended by the Honourable Steven Blaney, Minister of Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness.

  • Presentation to the Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs on Bill C-299

    On May 21, 2013, the Canadian Centre presented before the Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs on Bill C-299, An Act to amend the Criminal Code (kidnapping of a young person. This enactment amends the Criminal Code to prescribe a minimum punishment of five years when a kidnap victim is under sixteen years of age. The Canadian Centre expressed its support for the Bill, and provided specific examples of the types of scenarios that attract a kidnapping charge. Bill C-299 passed and received royal assent on June 26, 2013.

  • Cyberbullying Roundtable Discussion with the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, Prime Minister of Canada

    On May 10, 2013, the Canadian Centre held a roundtable discussion to address the crisis of cyberbullying. In attendance were the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, Prime Minister of Canada, the Honourable Vic Toews, Minister of Public Safety; Joyce Bateman, M.P.; leading experts in the field of cyberbullying and the online sexual exploitation of children and teens; and families who have lost a child in connection to a cyberbullying incident.

    The Right Honourable Stephen Harper, the Honourable Vic Toews and families who have lost a child in connection to cyberbullying attended the Cyberbullying Roundtable

ADVOCACY EFFORTS (2010-2013)

  • Presentation at a Crime Prevention Roundtable

    On January 17, 2012, the Canadian Centre presented at a roundtable on crime prevention attended by the Honourable Vic Toews, Minister of Justice and the Honourable Rob Nicholson, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada.

    Crime Prevention Roundtable, from left to right: Joy Smith, M.P., Joyce Bateman, M.P., the Honourable Rob Nicholson, Signy Arnason and Lianna McDonald
  • Announcement of Bill C-22, An Act Respecting the Mandatory Reporting of Internet Child Pornography by Persons who provide an Internet Service

    On December 8, 2011, the Canadian Centre participated in an announcement on the coming into force of Bill C-22 attended by the Honourable Rob Nicholson, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada. Cybertip.ca was named in the regulations as a designated reporting entity to receive reports made pursuant to section 2 of the Act. This federal legislation requires all persons who provide an Internet service to report any incident of Internet child pornography.

    Bill C-22 Announcement, from left to right: Scott Naylor, Robert Goguen, the Honourable Rob Nicholson, Lianna McDonald and Signy Arnason.
  • Announcement of the Safe Streets and Communities Act

    On September 20, 2011, the Canadian Centre participated in an announcement of Bill C-10, Safe Streets and Communities Act attended by the Honourable Vic Toews, Minister of Public Safety and Senator Pierre-Hugues Boisvenu. Two of the new provisions of the Bill related to child protection: increasing mandatory minimums for sexual offences against children, including child pornography and new offences of providing sexually explicit material to a child and agreeing/making arrangements with another person, via telecommunication, to commit a sexual offence against a child. Bill C-10 passed and received royal assent in March 2012.

  • Presentation to the Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs on Bill C-22

    On February 16, 2011, the Canadian Centre presented to the Standing Senate Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs regarding Bill C-22, An Act Respecting the Mandatory Reporting of Internet Child Pornography by Persons who provide an Internet Service. Bill C-22 passed and received royal assent in March 2011.

  • Presentation to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Bill C-54:

    On February 7, 2011, the Canadian Centre presented to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights with regard to Bill C-54, Protecting Children from Sexual Predators Act. The Bill would amend the Criminal Code to increase or impose mandatory minimum penalties for certain sexual offences involving children. Bill C-54 would also create two new offenses — that of making sexually explicit material available to a child, and of agreeing or arranging to commit a sexual offence against a child. These offences were re-introduced as part of Bill C-10, Safe Streets and Communities Act.

  • Presentation to Western Ministers Responsible for Justice

    In February 2011, the Canadian Centre presented at a Winnipeg meeting of western attorney generals and solicitor generals. Held at the Manitoba legislature, the presentation focused on the Canadian Centre’s programs and services to combat the sexual exploitation of children and plans for future initiatives.

  • Roundtable Discussion on Human Trafficking

    In January 2011, the Canadian Centre hosted a roundtable discussion on human trafficking with the Honourable Vic Toews, Minister of Public Safety, and Joy Smith, M.P.

    Human Trafficking Roundtable, from left to right: Joy Smith, M.P., the Honourable Vic Toews and Lianna McDonald.
  • Presentation to Saskatchewan’s Senior Inter-Ministry Steering (SIMS) Committee

    In November 2010, the Canadian Centre presented to the Saskatchewan Senior Inter-Ministry Steering (SIMS) Committee about the Canadian Centre and its new national missing children program, MissingKids.ca.

  • Presentation to the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights

    In October 2010, the Canadian Centre presented to the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Justice and Human Rights regarding Bill C-22: An Act Respecting the Mandatory Reporting of Internet Child Pornography by Persons who Provide an Internet Service. The presentation provided an overview of online child sexual exploitation, the work of Cybertip.ca and its research findings, and why mandatory reporting will help combat the problem.

CANADIAN CENTRE RECOGNIZED FOR WORK IN PROTECTING CANADA’S CHILDREN

  • Canadian Centre to receive one of 50 Canadian flags to commemorate the 50th anniversary of National Flag

    In February 2015, the Canadian Centre for Child Protection was chosen as one of 50 individuals or organizations to receive a Canadian flag from the Government of Canada to commemorate the flag’s 50th anniversary. The Canadian flag was raised for the first time on February 15, 1965.

    The Canadian Centre for Child Protection proudly displays the Canadian flag received from the Government of Canada commemorating the flag’s 50th anniversary.
  • Canadian Centre for Child Protection Receives Award for Improving the Lives of Canadians

    In 2015 the Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association (CWTA) celebrated the 30th anniversary of cell phones in Canada with a series of events from coast-to-coast. On March 18th the CWTA held an evening honouring outstanding Manitoba organizations that use wireless technology to improve the lives of Canadians. MTS nominated the Centre for the award.

    CWTA award reception, from left to right: Signy Arnason; Jay Forbes, CEO, MTS, Lianna McDonald; Bernard Lord, President & CEO, CWTA, and Kelvin Shepherd, President, MTS.
  • Canadian Centre receives gift from Government of Canada to mark birth of Royal Baby

    On September 26, 2013, the Honourable Peter MacKay, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada, announced a $100,000 gift from the Government of Canada, to mark the birth of His Royal Highness Prince George of Cambridge. Mrs. Laureen Harper attended and spoke at the event. The donation supported the Canadian Centre’s cyberbullying initiatives, including the development of educational resources that will assist youth who are victimized through the misuse of technology. These resources were launched in October 2014.

    Press conference announcing $100,000 gift from the Government of Canada, to mark the birth of His Royal Highness Prince George of Cambridge, from left to right: Mrs. Laureen Harper, Lianna McDonald, and the Honourable Peter MacKay, Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada
  • CWTA’s Connected to the Community Award: Recognition for exceptional prevention work in the area of mobile safety

    In April 2010, the Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association’s (CWTA) “Connected to the Community” awards ceremony paid tribute to outstanding organizations that have partnered with Canada’s wireless industry to improve the lives of Canadians. The Canadian Centre was one of the award recipients – recognized for our prevention work in the area of mobile safety, with special tribute to the creation of the mobility.protectchildren.ca and textED.ca sites.

    At the CWTA award reception, from left to right: CWTA President & CEO, Bernard Lord; the Right Honourable Stephen Harper, Prime Minister of Canada; Lianna McDonald, Executive Director, Canadian Centre for Child Protection; Michael Hennessy, Senior Vice President, Regulatory and Government Affairs at TELUS. Photo courtesy of the Office of the Prime Minister.
  • Francopol Award: Recognition for excellence in prevention and awareness efforts to fight cybercrime

    As part of its first conference on cybercrime, Francopol - an International Francophone network for police training - unveiled awards recognizing excellence in the fight against cybercrime in April 2010. The main objective of these awards is to recognize the innovation, development of best practices and education initiatives for the prevention, detection and fight against cybercrime. Francopol awarded the Canadian Centre with the "Prevention of Crime" award - recognizing the best efforts of prevention and awareness to fight cybercrime.

    At the Francopol awards ceremony, from left to right: Sgt. Yannick Dion, Sûreté du Québec; Emmanuel Adjovi, representative of the International Organisation of La Francophonie; and René Morin, representative of the Canadian Centre for Child Protection.

Le Centre

DÉFENSE D’INTÉRÊTS

ACTIVITÉS D’INTERVENTION (2015-2016)

  • Présentation au Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles concernant le projet de loi C-26

    Le 28 mai 2015, le Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance (CCPE) a témoigné devant le Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles concernant le projet de loi C-26, Loi sur le renforcement des peines pour les prédateurs d’enfants. Ce projet de loi proposait d’augmenter les peines minimales obligatoires ou d’imposer de telles peines en cas d’infractions sexuelles contre un enfant, de préciser les règles relatives à l’imposition de peines consécutives et concurrentes afin que les torts causés à chaque victime soient pris en compte, de modifier les règles sur l’enregistrement de renseignements sur les délinquants sexuels et de créer un registre des délinquants sexuels à haut risque accessible au public. Le projet de loi C-26 a été adopté et a reçu la sanction royale le 18 juin 2015.

  • Table ronde avec le très honorable Stephen Harper, premier ministre du Canada

    Le 24 avril 2015, le CCPE a participé à une table ronde pour discuter de la volonté du gouvernement du Canada d’augmenter le financement des centres d’appui aux enfants (CAE) pour venir en aide aux jeunes victimes d’actes criminels. Signalons la présence du très honorable Stephen Harper, premier ministre du Canada, et de Mme Laureen Harper ainsi que de l’honorable Shelly Glover, ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles et de la députée Joy Smith.

    [Le très honorable Stephen Harper (au centre, à droite) et Mme Laureen Harper (au centre, à gauche) ont participé à une table ronde sur le soutien aux jeunes victimes de crimes]

Activités d’intervention (2014-2015)

  • Présentation au Comité de la justice et des droits de la personne de la Chambre des communes concernant le projet de loi C-26

    Le 4 février 2015, le CCPE a témoigné devant le Comité de la justice et des droits de la personne de la Chambre des communes concernant le projet de loi C-26, Loi sur le renforcement des peines pour les prédateurs d’enfants. Ce projet de loi proposait d’augmenter les peines minimales obligatoires ou d’imposer de telles peines en cas d’infractions sexuelles contre un enfant, de préciser les règles relatives à l’imposition de peines consécutives et concurrentes afin que les torts causés à chaque victime soient pris en compte, de modifier les règles sur l’enregistrement de renseignements sur les délinquants sexuels et de créer un registre des délinquants sexuels à haut risque accessible au public. Le projet de loi C-26 a été adopté et a reçu la sanction royale le 18 juin 2015.

  • Le CCPE et Au-delà des frontières interviennent dans un dossier devant la Cour suprême du Canada

    Le CCPE s’est associé à l’organisme Au-delà des frontières pour intervenir dans un dossier devant la Cour suprême du Canada. C’était la première fois que le Centre participait à un tel exercice. L’affaire concernait l’interprétation et l’application de l’« exception pour usage privé », une exception limitée créée par la Cour suprême en 2001 relativement à la production et à la possession de pornographie juvénile. Un factum a été déposé en décembre 2014 et une présentation orale a été faite le 16 janvier 2015.

    Le 22 mai 2015, la Cour suprême s’est rendue aux arguments de la Couronne voulant que le juge du procès ait commis une erreur de droit dans sa façon d’appliquer la défense aux faits de l’affaire et a ordonné la tenue d’un nouveau procès. Voir R. c. Barabash, 2015 SCC 29 (CanLII) http://canlii.ca/t/gj33j

  • Table ronde avec l’honorable Rona Ambrose, ministre de la Santé

    Le 15 décembre 2014, le CCPE a été le cohôte d’une table ronde avec l’honorable Rona Ambrose, ministre de la Santé, et d’éminents professionnels de la santé dans le but de trouver des solutions aux problèmes de la violence familiale et des abus pédosexuels.

    [L’honorable Rona Ambrose (au centre) a participé à une table ronde sur la violence familiale et les abus pédosexuels]
  • Présentation au Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles concernant le projet de loi C-13

    Le 19 novembre 2014, le CCPE a témoigné devant le Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles concernant le projet de loi C-13, Loi sur la protection des Canadiens contre la cybercriminalité. Ce projet de loi proposait de modifier le Code criminel afin de criminaliser la diffusion non consensuelle d’images intimes, de moderniser certaines infractions existantes pour tenir compte de l’utilisation du numérique et de modifier le Code criminel afin d’améliorer la capacité des forces policières d’enquêter sur les cybercrimes. Dans sa présentation, le CCPE a surtout parlé des répercussions de l’autoexploitation juvénile sur les jeunes, en dégageant quelques constats issus des données compilées par ses programmes Cyberaide.ca et AidezMoiSVP.ca. Le projet de loi C-13 a été adopté et a reçu la sanction royale le 9 décembre 2014.

  • Présentation au Comité de la justice et des droits de la personne de la Chambre des communes concernant le projet de loi C-32

    Le 6 novembre 2014, le CCPE a témoigné devant le Comité de la justice et des droits de la personne de la Chambre des communes concernant le projet de loi C-32, Loi sur la Charte des droits des victimes. Ce projet de loi proposait de créer une charte fédérale des droits des victimes et de modifier le Code criminel et d’autres lois pour les aligner sur les principes de la Charte des droits des victimes. Dans sa présentation, le Centre a surtout parlé de l’importance de faire en sorte que chaque victime soit entendue et que toutes les victimes puissent intervenir dans le système judiciaire d’une façon qui soit significative et qui respecte leur dignité. Le projet de loi C-32 a été adopté et a reçu la sanction royale le 23 avril 2015.

  • Table ronde avec le très honorable Stephen Harper, premier ministre du Canada, sur l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants sur Internet

    Le 10 octobre 2014, le CCPE a organisé une table ronde réunissant le très honorable Stephen Harper, premier ministre du Canada, les autorités policières et d’autres acteurs stratégiques dans le but renforcer notre détermination et notre engagement collectif à lutter de façon coordonnée contre l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants sur Internet. Cette initiative a donné lieu à des discussions prometteuses sur les mesures à prendre pour réduire l’offre d’images d’abus pédosexuels, identifier plus de victimes, encourager les Canadiens à signaler, augmenter les efforts de prévention et de sensibilisation, et investir dans les ressources et la formation pour arrêter les délinquants.

  • Présentation au Comité de la justice et des droits de la personne de la Chambre des communes concernant le projet de loi C-13

    Le 29 mai 2014, le CCPE a témoigné devant le Comité de la justice et des droits de la personne de la Chambre des communes concernant le projet de loi C-13, Loi sur la protection des Canadiens contre la cybercriminalité. Ce projet de loi proposait de modifier le Code criminel afin de criminaliser la diffusion non consensuelle d’images intimes, de moderniser certaines infractions existantes pour tenir compte de l’utilisation du numérique et de modifier le Code criminel afin d’améliorer la capacité des forces policières d’enquêter sur les cybercrimes. Le projet de loi C-13 a été adopté et a reçu la sanction royale le 9 décembre 2014.


Activités d’intervention (2013-2014)

  • Intervention lors de la présentation du projet de loi C-13

    Le 20 novembre 2013, le CCPE a participé à une conférence de presse télévisée, à Ottawa, au cours de laquelle l’honorable Peter MacKay, ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada, a présenté un projet de loi visant les comportements criminels associés à la cyberintimidation. L’honorable Steven Blaney, ministre de la Sécurité publique et de la Protection civile, était également présent à la conférence de presse.

  • Présentation au Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles sur le projet de loi C-299

    Le 21 mai 2013, le CCPE a témoigné devant le Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles concernant le projet de loi C-299 : Loi modifiant le Code criminel (enlèvement d’une jeune personne). Ce projet de loi proposait de modifier le Code criminel en prescrivant une peine minimale de cinq ans d’emprisonnement aux personnes reconnues coupables d’enlèvement d’un enfant de moins de 16 ans. Le CCPE a exprimé son soutien au projet de loi et a donné des exemples précis de situations pouvant donner lieu à des accusations d’enlèvement. Le projet de loi C-299 a été adopté et a reçu la sanction royale le 26 juin 2013.

  • Table ronde sur la cyberintimidation avec le très honorable Stephen Harper, premier ministre du Canada

    Le 10 mai 2013, le CCPE a tenu une table ronde en réaction à la crise de la cyberintimidation. Cette table ronde a réuni le très honorable Stephen Harper, premier ministre du Canada; l’honorable Vic Toews, ministre de la Sécurité publique; Joyce Bateman, députée; d’éminents spécialistes du domaine de la cyberintimidation et de l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants et des adolescents sur Internet; ainsi que des représentants de familles éprouvées par la perte d’un enfant des suites d’une campagne de cyberintimidation.

    [La table ronde sur la cyberintimidation a réuni le très honorable Stephen Harper, l’honorable Vic Toews et des représentants de familles éprouvées par la perte d’un enfant des suites d’une campagne de cyberintimidation.]

Activités d’intervention (2010-2013)

  • Présentation à une table ronde sur la prévention du crime

    Le 17 janvier 2012, le CCPE a pris la parole lors d’une table ronde sur la prévention du crime aux côtés de l’honorable Vic Toews, ministre de la Justice, et de l’honorable Rob Nicholson, ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada.

    [Table ronde sur la prévention du crime. De gauche à droite : Joy Smith, députée; Joyce Bateman, députée; l’honorable Rob Nicholson; Signy Arnason et Lianna McDonald]
  • Annonce du projet de loi C-22, Loi concernant la déclaration obligatoire de la pornographie juvénile sur Internet par les personnes qui fournissent des services Internet

    Le 8 décembre 2011, le CCPE a participé à l’annonce de l’entrée en vigueur du projet de loi C-22 aux côtés de l’honorable Rob Nicholson, ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada. Cyberaide.ca figure dans le règlement comme entité désignée pour recevoir les signalements faits en application de l’article 2 de la loi. Cette loi fédérale oblige toutes les personnes qui fournissent des services Internet à signaler tous les incidents de pornographie juvénile sur Internet.

    Annonce du projet de loi C-22. De gauche à droite : Scott Naylor, Robert Goguen, l’honorable Rob Nicholson, Lianna McDonald et Signy Arnason.
  • Annonce du projet de Loi sur la sécurité des rues et des communautés

    Le 20 septembre 2011, le CCPE a participé à l’annonce du projet de loi C-10, Loi sur la sécurité des rues et des communautés, aux côtés de l’honorable Vic Toews, ministre de la Sécurité publique, et du sénateur Pierre-Hugues Boisvenu. Deux des modifications proposées touchaient à la protection de l’enfance, à savoir l’augmentation des peines minimales obligatoires pour des infractions sexuelles contre des enfants (dont la pornographie juvénile) et la création de deux infractions consistant à rendre accessible à un enfant du matériel sexuellement explicite et à s’entendre ou à prendre des arrangements avec autrui, à l’aide d’un moyen de télécommunication, pour perpétrer une infraction d’ordre sexuel à l’égard d’un enfant). Le projet de loi C-10 a été adopté et a reçu la sanction royale en mars 2012.

  • Présentation au Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles concernant le projet de loi C-22

    Le 16 février 2011, le CCPE a témoigné devant le Comité sénatorial permanent des affaires juridiques et constitutionnelles concernant le projet de loi C-22, Loi concernant la déclaration obligatoire de la pornographie juvénile sur Internet par les personnes qui fournissent des services Internet. Le projet de loi C-22 a été adopté et a reçu la sanction royale en mars 2011.

  • Présentation au Comité permanent de la Chambre des communes concernant le projet de loi C-54

    Le 7 février 2011, le CCPE a témoigné devant le Comité permanent de la Chambre des communes sur la justice et les droits de la personne concernant le projet de loi C-54, Loi sur la protection des enfants contre les prédateurs sexuels. Ce projet de loi proposait de modifier le Code criminel afin d’augmenter les peines minimales obligatoires pour certaines infractions d’ordre sexuel à l’égard d’enfants ou d’imposer de telles peines. Le projet de loi C-54 proposait aussi de créer deux nouvelles infractions, soit celle de rendre accessible à un enfant du matériel sexuellement explicite et de s’entendre ou de faire un arrangement avec quiconque pour perpétrer une infraction d’ordre sexuel à l’égard d’un enfant. Ces infractions ont été réintroduites dans le projet de loi C-10, Loi sur la sécurité des rues et des communautés.

  • Présentation aux ministres de l’Ouest responsables de la Justice

    En février 2011, le CCPE s’est adressé aux procureurs et aux solliciteurs généraux de l’Ouest, réunis à l’Assemblée législative du Manitoba, à Winnipeg. Il a présenté ses programmes et services pour combattre l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants et ses projets d’initiatives.

  • Table ronde sur le trafic de personnes

    En janvier 2011, le CCPE a organisé une table ronde sur le trafic de personnes à laquelle ont participé l’honorable Vic Toews, ministre de la Sécurité publique, et la députée Joy Smith.

    Table ronde sur le trafic de personnes. De gauche à droite : Joy Smith, députée; l’honorable Vic Toews; et Lianna McDonald.
  • Présentation au Comité directeur interministériel de la Saskatchewan

    En novembre 2010, le CCPE s’est présenté au Comité directeur interministériel de la Saskatchewan et lui a fait connaître son nouveau programme national de services en cas de disparition d’enfant, EnfantsPortesDisparus.ca.

  • Présentation au Comité permanent de la justice et des droits de la personne de la Chambre des communes

    En octobre 2010, le CCPE a témoigné devant le Comité permanent de la justice et des droits de la personne de la Chambre des communes concernant le projet de loi C-22 : Loi concernant la déclaration obligatoire de la pornographie juvénile sur Internet par les personnes qui fournissent des services Internet. Il a présenté un état des lieux de l’exploitation sexuelle des enfants sur Internet, décrit le programme Cyberaide.ca et les conclusions de ses études, et expliqué en quoi la déclaration obligatoire aidera à lutter contre le problème.

LE CCPE RÉCOMPENSÉ POUR SES EFFORTS EN MATIÈRE DE PROTECTION DES ENFANTS DU CANADA

  • Le CCPE reçoit l’un des 50 drapeaux canadiens remis en l’honneur du 50e anniversaire du drapeau national

    En février 2015, le CCPE a été choisi pour faire partie des 50 personnalités et organismes à qui le gouvernement du Canada a remis un drapeau d’honneur pour commémorer le 50e anniversaire du drapeau canadien. Le drapeau canadien a été hissé pour la première fois le 15 février 1965.

    Le CCPE s’affiche fièrement avec le drapeau canadien reçu du gouvernement du Canada à l’occasion du 50e anniversaire du drapeau.
  • Le CCPE reçoit un prix pour sa contribution à l’amélioration de la vie des Canadiens

    En 2015, l’Association canadienne des télécommunications sans fil (ACTS) a organisé divers événements d’un bout à l’autre du Canada pour souligner le 30e anniversaire de la téléphonie cellulaire au Canada. Le 18 mars, l’ACTS a organisé une soirée en l’honneur d’organismes exceptionnels du Manitoba qui utilisent les technologies sans fil pour améliorer la vie des Canadiens. MTS a désigné le CCPE pour ce prix.

    Réception de remise des prix de l’ACTS. De gauche à droite : Signy Arnason; Jay Forbes, PDG de MTS; Lianna McDonald; Bernard Lord, président et chef de la direction de l’ACTS; et Kelvin Shepherd, président de MTS.
  • Le CCPE reçoit un cadeau du gouvernement du Canada pour souligner la naissance du bébé royal

    Le 26 septembre 2013, l’honorable Peter MacKay, ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada, a annoncé un cadeau de 100 000 $ de la part du gouvernement du Canada pour souligner la naissance de Son Altesse Royale le prince George de Cambridge. Mme Laureen Harper a pris la parole à cette occasion. Ce don a permis de soutenir le CCPE dans ses initiatives de lutte contre la cyberintimidation, dont la création de ressources éducatives qui aideront les jeunes en proie à l’utilisation malveillante des technologies. Ces ressources ont été lancées en octobre 2014.

    Conférence de presse pour annoncer le cadeau de 100 000 $ de la part du gouvernement du Canada pour souligner la naissance de Son Altesse Royale le prince George de Cambridge. De gauche à droite, Mme Laureen Harper, Lianna McDonald et l’honorable Peter MacKay, ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada.
  • Le prix « La collectivité branchée » de l’ACTS récompense un travail de prévention exceptionnel dans le domaine de la sécurité mobile

    En avril 2010, l’Association canadienne des télécommunications sans fil (ACTS) a remis ses prix « La collectivité branchée » pour rendre hommage à des organismes exceptionnels qui ont collaboré avec l’industrie canadienne des télécommunications sans fil dans le but d’améliorer la vie des Canadiens. Le CCPE a ainsi été récompensé pour son travail de prévention en matière de sécurité mobile, et en particulier pour la création des sites mobilite.protegeonsnosenfants.ca et EDUCATIONtextuelle.ca.

    Réception de remise des prix de l’ACTS. De gauche à droite: Bernard Lord, président et chef de la direction de l’ACTS; l’honorable Stephen Harper, premier ministre du Canada; Lianna McDonald, directrice générale du Centre canadien de protection de l’enfance; Michael Hennessy, premier vice-président aux Affaires réglementaires et gouvernementales chez TELUS. Photo offerte par le Cabinet du premier ministre.
  • Prix Francopol : Pour l’excellence en matière de prévention et de sensibilisation dans la lutte contre la cybercriminalité

    À l’occasion de son colloque sur la cybercriminalité en avril 2010, Francopol – un réseau international francophone de formation policière – a décerné des prix pour l’excellence en matière de lutte contre la cybercriminalité. Par ces prix, l’organisme veut récompenser l’innovation et la création de pratiques exemplaires et de projets éducatifs en prévention et en détection de la cybercriminalité et de lutte à la cybercriminalité. Francopol a accordé au Centre canadien son prix sur la lutte contre la cybercriminalité dans la catégorie « Prévention » pour son excellent travail de sensibilisation et de prévention de la criminalité.

    Cérémonie de remise des prix. De gauche à droite : Sgt Yannick Dion, Sûreté du Québec; Emmanuel Adjovi, représentant de l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie; et René Morin, représentant du CCPE.